We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun
Ranked #12 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Cancun
Turnhout, Belgium
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We could leave our backpacks here while travelling to Cuba, just because we would stay 1 night when we got back from Cuba. Very friendly and helpful staff. Wifi and well equiped guest kitchen available. We stayed in an airconditioned private room with shared bathroom. (there was 1 private bathroom for every 2 rooms) The place was well looked after and they organised theme evenings. The roof top terrace is beautiful, has a nice view, jacuzzi and a bar. It is located a 100 meters from the busterminal. And 20 minutes by bus from the awesome beach.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lobke_and_Inge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MundoJovenCancun, Gerente at Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
We're glad you had a nice stay here.

Julián
(Management)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    123
    50
    17
    16
See reviews for
7
83
111
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We booked Mundo Joven because it had good reviews and was fairly cheap. We booked the private room for 3 nights which turned out to be amazing! A double bed, A/C, 2 sky TVs, a lounge area, large bathroom with hot water and plenty of storage. We also got water and snacks when we arrived which was a nice touch. The dorm rooms are also spacious with a/c so great value also. The hostel is in the town close to the main ADO station. It's easy to get to the beach and hotel zone (where all the bars and clubs are) but getting on a bus for 8 and a half pesos. Takes about 15 minutes. Or a taxi shouldn't be more than 50 pesos.
On the terrace upstairs there is a communal kitchen, bar, jacuzzi, seats, showers and a TV and internet room where you can use the computers for free. Downstairs is a cafe/restaurant for good value food, and close by are several food places and a supermarket.
On our first night was a free BBQ, which some free alcohol. We ended up having a great night but not a great head the next day!
The breakfast is toast, juice, cereal which runs until half 9.
I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone. It is not too loud and has everything you could want!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bearearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MundoJovenCancun, Gerente at Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thanks for your comments, really appreciated!

Regards,

Julian (Management)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Hostel Mundo Joven is situated in downtown Cancun, 1 minute away from the ADO bus station, and only a few minutes away from a street lined with restaurants and bars. You can get an R1 bus to and from the Zona Hotelera if you want to go to the beaches. The buses leave every few minutes around the corner from ADO and take 10-20 minutes depending on the beach you wish to visit. This makes its location excellent for those who aren’t planning on simply going to and from the beach all day, or want to save considerable amounts of money on their stay in Cancun.

My girlfriend and I had the private suite with a Jacuzzi for 3 nights at £35/night. It was modern, clean, had two TVs, air conditioning and Wi-Fi, and was surprisingly quiet considering its location along a main road and the fact it’s a hostel containing shared dormitories. The breakfast (served on the rooftop) consisted of fresh fruit, cereal and toast, and was included in the price of the room. The rooftop also houses a bar, hot tub, showers, hammocks, computers with Internet, lavatories, and apparently a washing machine, which we couldn’t find but admittedly we didn’t ask about, all free of charge.

The staff members were friendly and helpful, and provided maps and help getting to the beaches and to the ferry port that can take you to Isla Mujeres (a worthwhile excursion for a day). Every evening except Sunday there would be some sort of mini-event in the hostel’s ground floor bar/restaurant. The days we were there the events were free Spanish lessons and free shisha smoking (our third night was a Sunday).

We didn’t find ourselves in the bar/restaurant or in the shared rooftop hot tub as we preferred to eat out in downtown Cancun and enjoyed our private Jacuzzi, but we imagined that these would be very much enjoyed by young travellers looking to meet people and get in to the social spirit of Cancun.

Overall, there isn’t anything really negative I can say about Hostel Mundo Joven. Sure, it lacked a bit of luxury and older visitors may feel out-of-place amongst the younger travellers, but it really was excellent value and is well-situated for those not looking to spend every day at the beach (although it is very possible with a little hassle).

Room Tip: The private rooms can probably rival the cheaper hotels' that cost a lot more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MundoJovenCancun, Gerente at Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Your feedback will be taken in consideration.

Regards,

Julian
(Management)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

I was staying in another hostel in Cancun where the staff was very unfriendly (to say the least) and I visited this one as I was going to the laundry. It is very central and very nice but more importantly I felt warmly welcomed and it feels really nice when you have been travelling for a long time...I did not think about it for a minute and moved in although I had only a few days left in Cancun. We spent all the time in the terrace where we could chill out or have fun according to the time...All the staff was really helpful. The only thing I liked less was that the girl's room is huge and ends up being a mess with so many girls not all being very clean...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raquelita2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
We do our best to keep our facilities clean please apologize us for the inconvenience.

Hope to see you soon!

Julián Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

I have been there twice last year and I can absolutely recommend it. I have to say I am not usually staying in hostels but this one is somehting else. The staff is very nice, friendly and helpful. The location is great, you are only 2 min. from the main station ADO in Cancun, you have shops and stores nearby and also some good restaurants. The building is new and safe. Upstairs you have the rooms and on the roof there is a big terrace with sunbeds, chairs and hammocks, a shower AND a jacuzzi!!!! Also on the roof you will find the kitchen you can use to prepare something to eat and also a separate room with some computers to use the internet. The atmosphere is just great. We have been once in a dorm room and the other time in a private room. The doorm room was very nice, huge and clean. We were lucky it wasn't fully booked. The private room was awesome. Big room with a big bathroom, an extra couch and another TV. The bed was comfortable, everything very clean, spacious and in general comfortable.

Room Tip: higher floors are nicer and less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sana_pdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MundoJovenCancun, Gerente at Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thanx and hope to see you soon!

Best regards,

Julián Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

We were pleased to stay here in this modern and clean hostel. The nicest shower we have had compared to other hostels/casa accommodations.

Restaurant downstairs has decent salad and daiquiri drink. Staff keen to please. Very happy with this restaurant.

Rooftop: friendly environment. Good to hangout and make new friends. We like the music not too loud so we could talk.

Breakfast is also good. We love the fresh fruits.

Room Tip: If this place is full, opp ADO there is another hotel not too bad either. Also the hotel next door t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MundoJovenCancun, Gerente at Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
We're glad you had a good time here.

Safe travels!

Julian Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

If your looking for a friendly and helpful face Mundo Joven is the place for you. This was our first stop on a central-south America tour and wow if every hostel was like this then life would be pretty amazing. Ika was our main contact at the hostel and she was so nice and helpful it was great, the other staff, I forget names, were also fantastic.

Breakfast is served as an all you can eat buffet of fresh fruit yoghurt granola and juices teas etc. perfect. Roof top terrace had a jacuzzi and bar (also where you eat breakfast, learn spanish in the free classes, drink free tequila, eat free guacamole and meet awesome people).

For an amazing cultural explore.. (ie not the hotel zone which is tourists and people looking to get money from tourists) just nip along the street to a market called Las Palapas during the night they have bands and hundreds of street vendors selling authentic mexican food incl quesadillas and churros.. (spelling optional). Wholeheartedly recommend.

Ps also take a tour to chitchin itza. We did it just doing public transport and it was almost as expensive as the tours (tours can be bargained to about 35 US but bus and entrance is about 25 US), but the tours include buffet lunch and a cenote visist plus a guide for chitchin itza which is actually quite important. (it is the only ruins we have visited which we regret not having a guide ad we've been to alot in mexico and guate)

Room Tip: The higher the floor the closer you are to the bar (3rd floor is closest) - is noise but + is your c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingBurgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MundoJovenCancun, General Manager at Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Google Translation
Thanks amigo!

Julián (Management)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand City Hotel
Grand City Hotel
#83 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
5.6 mi away
Aloft Cancun
Aloft Cancun
#65 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
5.9 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
LQ Hotel by La Quinta Cancun
5.8 mi away
Krystal Cancun
Krystal Cancun
#69 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,582 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mezcal Hostel
Mezcal Hostel
#1 of 118 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun

Property: Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun
Address: Uxmal 25 SM 23. MZA 3LT25 | Col. Centro Municipio Benito, Juárez, Cancun 77580, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing