We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Hostel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun
Ranked #12 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Cancun
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect Hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

If your looking for a friendly and helpful face Mundo Joven is the place for you. This was our first stop on a central-south America tour and wow if every hostel was like this then life would be pretty amazing. Ika was our main contact at the hostel and she was so nice and helpful it was great, the other staff, I forget names, were also fantastic.

Breakfast is served as an all you can eat buffet of fresh fruit yoghurt granola and juices teas etc. perfect. Roof top terrace had a jacuzzi and bar (also where you eat breakfast, learn spanish in the free classes, drink free tequila, eat free guacamole and meet awesome people).

For an amazing cultural explore.. (ie not the hotel zone which is tourists and people looking to get money from tourists) just nip along the street to a market called Las Palapas during the night they have bands and hundreds of street vendors selling authentic mexican food incl quesadillas and churros.. (spelling optional). Wholeheartedly recommend.

Ps also take a tour to chitchin itza. We did it just doing public transport and it was almost as expensive as the tours (tours can be bargained to about 35 US but bus and entrance is about 25 US), but the tours include buffet lunch and a cenote visist plus a guide for chitchin itza which is actually quite important. (it is the only ruins we have visited which we regret not having a guide ad we've been to alot in mexico and guate)

Room Tip: The higher the floor the closer you are to the bar (3rd floor is closest) - is noise but + is your c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingBurgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MundoJovenCancun, General Manager at Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Google Translation
Thanks amigo!

Julián (Management)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    123
    50
    17
    16
See reviews for
7
83
111
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

The staff here were probably the nicest & most accommodating I came across in my whole 8 weeks in Cancun. They were friendly, accommodating and truly wanted to go out of their way to make sure your stay in Cancun was as good as possible.

As for the hostel, I don't think I could really fault anything. It is a real traditional hostel in the sense of the word - A tall building with blocks of rooms on each floor. The dorms were spacious, had air conditioning and wi-fi in your room which was a big plus.

Breakfast was very good & they organize nightly activities as well.

As for location, well in Cancun unless you pay top dollar you are not going to be on the beach, so this is good with walking distance to the bus station and very close to the bus to the beach.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieDizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MundoJovenCancun, General Manager at Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Come back soon!

Julian (Management)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quesnel, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed at this Hostel twice during our trip because of the good location. Nice and close to the ADO bus station and some cheap eats. The first time we stayed in one of the dorms. It was fairly well kept, no bed bugs, however there were far to many people in there ( 14 person dorm). On our way back through Cancun we stayed here another night and we opted for a private room. Very nice, big room, and clean. The rates are reasonable for what you get in both the dorm and private rooms. Staff are very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: There is a club down the street that plays music until 7am every night. In the dorm room you have no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amack4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MundoJovenCancun, Gerente at Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
We have a variety of options that fit all of your budgets.

Julian Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night in March 2012 because of its convenience for the ADO bus station and value for money. We were arriving late into Cancun on a long-haul flight and taking the early morning bus to Chiquilla (for Holbox) the next day. This place was great for that - we stayed in a private room, and it was huge, very clean, modern and great value. I never expected to have a private jacuzzi in a hostel! Slight flaw with the jacuzzi was that the water pressure was very low, and the water only tepid, so it would have taken ages to fill the massive tub. Easy 5-minute walk to restaurants nearby. And another easy 5-minute walk to the ADO bus station. We did get woken up at about 3am by people returning from a late night out in Cancun, but that was the only downside of staying in this hostel.

Room Tip: Dorm rooms looked pretty basic, but the private room was like a hotel room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank GlobalNomadLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MundoJovenCancun, Gerente at Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
We hope we did!

Julian Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

Very helpful staff. Great organised events at night

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliverhample
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MundoJovenCancun, Gerente at Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
We're glad we're offering a great place to stay!

Julian Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012 via mobile

The hostel is extremely clean and the private rooms are good with ac and plasma tvs with cable.
The staff make you feel very welcome and help you whenever you need some info..
The roof terrace with jacuzzi is a place to relax during the day and a place to meet people at night. Besides, every night the hostel organise something like tequila night, Spanish class night or cooking night. You will meet people of every travel porpuse, the hostel atmosphere accepts everyone:if you want to party great but people who enjoy a quiet night can relax as well..
Breakfast is good with toast,cereals, fresh fruits...
Location close to the main bus stop and easy bus ride to the hotel zone.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lhlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MundoJovenCancun, Gerente at Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Awesome, thanks for your comments and hope to see you soon!

Julian Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht Province, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed here at the beginning of our trip through Central America. We arrived late at night and it was easy to find because it is close to the ADO busstation. The beds are fine, the breakfast is good and the staff is helpfull. We stayed here for three nights and it was a pleasant stay (the only thing is, there is some kind of disco/bar a minute or so away and although there are no people visiting the place, the music sounds like the place is pumping untill early in the morning. We did not really mind but some other people did, just so you know). Besides this, the stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MundoJovenCancun, Gerente at Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Thanks and see you soon!

Julian Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand City Hotel
Grand City Hotel
#82 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
5.6 mi away
Aloft Cancun
Aloft Cancun
#66 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
5.9 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
LQ Hotel by La Quinta Cancun
5.8 mi away
Krystal Cancun
Krystal Cancun
#69 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,580 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mezcal Hostel
Mezcal Hostel
#1 of 118 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun

Property: Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun
Address: Uxmal 25 SM 23. MZA 3LT25 | Col. Centro Municipio Benito, Juárez, Cancun 77580, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing