We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A true gem”

Chef Cristian Morales
Ranked #333 of 946 Restaurants in Cancun
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A true gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

After seeing this restaurant quoted in a Herald Tribune piece on what to do in 36 hours in Cancun, we decided to try it out. The long taxi ride from the hotel zone to the city of Cancun was well worth it. We were greeted personally by Chef Morales, who lends an extremely personal touch to all his creations and has a stellar wait staff; he personally delivers the plates along with a description of each and ensured throughout that our wine glasses were filled. Not only was the food worthy of high gastronomical praise, the presentation of each plate in the 7-plate tasting menu was aesthetically perfect. The atmosphere is extremely warm - we felt as if we were house guests rather than restaurant clients. At the end of our meal, we were served three small individualized desserts including an amazing chocolate fondue with roquefort cheese. What an amazing mix of flavors!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MartaH69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    10
    6
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Christian Morales is the Culinary Artist that Cancun has sadly been lacking....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

I was very impressed with Cocina de Autor, Over the past 12 years living in Cancun I have fallen for a few “great” restaurants here, sadly it’s a love affair that doesn’t last the problem with most restaurants is they lack the high quality consistency over time. However the Chef Owned and Managed Chef Christian Morales, of Cocina de Autor is very consistent with outstanding Cuisine and Service with Each and Every Visit, you have to appreciate a Chef that come to each table to ask how everything is whom looks after each and every detail of the restaurant himself, the result is obvious a unique Gourmet Experience to remember one that doesn’t miss a beat. My husband is the chef owner of the Secret Beach Villas in Playa del Secreto and it’s not easy to find a restaurant that my husband both enjoys but is also inspirited by. This is a Foodies Sanctuary a true culinary experience I would call Christian Morales a Chef’s Chef a Culinary Artist that Cancun has sadly been lacking, the menu choices were very well rounded and inspirational, the service staff was outstanding, the restaurant makes you feel like you’re sitting in someone’s elegant home, which in fact you are! We have been to restaurants all over the world from Thailand and China to Europe and all over the USA, we both agreed that this was one of the top restaurants including dim sum in Beijing, a 100 year old restaurant in Paris and Thai food on the river in Bangkok.
I usually don’t suggest Restaurants in the “Local” Cancun Area” to my Tourist Guest, many prefer to stay closer to Puerto Morelos or the Playa area , however all my “foodies” guest will hear all about Christian Morales, and his restaurant Cocina de Autor.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Playasecreto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“the most sophisticated Mexican food in Cancun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

This is by far the best food we have had in Cancun so far. The setting is lovely- a beautiful typical house in downtown Cancun. The food is remarkable for being inspired by local ingredients but in a very sophisticated way. It is obvious that Chef Cristian takes pride in what his kitchen produces. It is a small place so call ahead and reserve but I cannot recommend any place with higher accolades. This food is definitely worth the trip downtown for anyone who really cares about what they eat and is interested in trying a whole new level of Mexican cuisine.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Eileen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Isle, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding dinner and ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

My husband and I were vacationing in Cancun and our driver mention this outstanding exclusive chef. Chef Christian cares about you,and your entree. Everything from the time we stepped foot through the door was impeccable. Christian is genuine, and cooks from his heart. We travel a lot and this is one jewel in Cancun that should be explored.
All fresh ingredients, and exotic spices like Hawaiian black salt, and Spanish oils are all shared by the Chef table side with pride.We were served excellent fresh fish dishes and Argentine Beef Filet with a Lobster Carpaccio, for a start. Try this place and you too will say "WOW" ! We will for sure be back. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Brenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Worst place in Cancun.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

We are locals and went with a group to celebrate her birthday. We were a group of 20 and the Restaraunt was so un prepared that we were laughing at the service. Well, then came the food, and if this is "gourmet" I prefer MacDinalds. The food was terrible and we were all complaining. I mean one or two dishes out of 20 but at least 12 dishes came out either wrong or the food was not edible. They ended up giving my friend a bottle of Dom Perignon to try an make up for the disaster. So beware the above reviews are probably friends.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wiljor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Cristian Morales also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Chef Cristian Morales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing