We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“use this instead of mexico ferry to cozumel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ultramar

Ultramar
Book In Advance
More Info
$11.99*
and up
One-Way or Round-Trip Ferry between Cancun and Isla Mujeres
Ranked #9 of 142 things to do in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are always at your service
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage
philadelphia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“use this instead of mexico ferry to cozumel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

this boat had an open air deck, was cleaner and had live entertainment. very nice compared to the competition and the same price. buy a one way ticket so you aren't locked into a return time

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank buyfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,468
    873
    202
    38
    73
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Boat, but Room for Improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Our family took the ferry from El Embarcadero to Isla Mujeres. Very nice boat, comfortable seats with AC downstairs, very smooth and easy ride, floor to ceiling windows with nice views, bathroom onboard.

However, there were a few problems:

1) I got to the ticket booth at 10:10 am for the10:30 am ferry. I was told it was full, and I needed to wait for the 11:45 am one. I was almost going to delay the trip to another day, but then decided to get in line and try my luck. Well, everyone got on the 10:30 am ferry with plenty of seats to spare. Not sure why I was given the wrong information which could have disrupted my plan.

2) The 10:30 am ferry didn't come until almost 11 o'clock.

3) The ferry, already behind schedule, then made a stop at Playa Caracol before going to Isla Mujeres. I was not expecting this, since Ultramar's website states the Playa Caracol ferry would make a stop at El Embarcadero, not the other way around. This was the reason I chose El Embarcadero over Playa Caracol in the first place.

4) I was hoping to be on Isla by 11 am, but got there at almost noon. Total time between two docks: 1 hour 45 minutes. Since the last ferry back to El Embarcadero was 5:15 pm, this put a squeeze to our schedule, and we ended up skipping downtown.

In hindsight, we should get up earlier and travel to Puerto Juarez for the regular ferry (every 30 min), which also allows us to come back later than 5 pm and have more time to enjoy the Isla.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SDTrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Easy but slow!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Easy way to travel to Isla Mujeres! However, they have a bit of trouble respecting the schedule... we left about 30 minutes after our planned departure and made an unscheduled stop to another dock.... arriving almost an hour later then expected.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cmoija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“trip to isla mujares”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Took the ferry to Isla 19.00 dollars r/t. Airconditioned inside, or you can sit topside. Nice 20 min. trip.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank bobmnusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

had live music for a donation on the trip over. was the best ferry ride ive ever taken. just get through the golf cart bombardment once you get there.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank spike1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ultramar also viewed

 

Been to Ultramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing