We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT TIME, GOING BACK IN MARCH!”

Delphinus Punta Cancun
Ranked #23 of 162 things to do in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: An exclusive location in the nicest area of Punta Cancun, surrounded by the Caribbean. 30 minutes from Cancun International Airport Located in the Hotel Hyatt Ziva in Cancun Within the hotel zone in Cancun, we propose a privileged location where you can live an exclusive and incomparable experience swimming with dolphins.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

My wife and I decided to do activities last time we were in Mexico (We usually just hang out and drink) and swimming with the Dolphins was something she wanted to do as a kid so we decided it was time to cross it off the list.

Delphinus picked us up at the resort and took us to the facility, We were only allowed to use our camera OUTSIDE (This is a downside, NO Photography except their photographer is allowed).

We we were changed and ready, we got a quick presentation, met the others in our group and before you know it your in the water. With the dolphins, you get to do a "nose push", and interact with them for about 45min.

They are very concerned for the safety of the Dolphins so you are given ALOT of guidance on where you can touch them and where you can't. This was fine for me but my wife said it made her worry the Dolphin would react violently if she petted it the wrong way, so if someone in your party in nervous, explain ahead of time that they are friendly and nothing will happen.

Overall it is a great experience, I hate being forced to purchase photos for $150 and had I known ahead of time that photos were prohibited, it might have altered my decision. Other than that, I was very happy and will consider it in March when we bring our 7yr old down.

1  Thank ncsoo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelphinusPR, Public Relations Manager at Delphinus Punta Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2011

We really appreciate your review, it is very helpful to other travelers. About your comment regard to the prices of the photos, we invite you to consider the quality of it, these are much more than a simple “instantanea”. The reason to keep visitors' cameras out of the swimming area intends to keep security above all and free of distractions environment, let us explain: if we let to the visitors or its companions to take pictures at the docks or in the water, many of them would be more interested in taking their own pictures than enjoy the moment or listening to trainer's instructions, creating an adverse environment to others visitors or even for the security of trainers, dolphins and visitors.

We hope to see you in March!

Delphinus PR Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"swim with the dolphins"
in 68 reviews
"dolphin experience"
in 36 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 35 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 36 reviews
"take pictures"
in 28 reviews
"bucket list"
in 20 reviews
"hotel zone"
in 9 reviews
"video"
in 118 reviews
"photos"
in 188 reviews
"package"
in 101 reviews
"primax4"
in 8 reviews
"aquarium"
in 34 reviews
"kisses"
in 18 reviews
"mammals"
in 9 reviews
"usb"
in 13 reviews
"session"
in 19 reviews
"usd"
in 27 reviews
Filter

753 - 757 of 1,127 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2011

Since we were staying at Dreams, Cancun, it seemed silly to pass up the opportunity to swim with the dolphins. We were a group of 6 and we each got to be kissed by and kiss a dolphin, shake hands, "conduct", have a water fight with and experience the unforgettable foot push, which makes it look like you are water skiing with the dolphins. My husband and son who are both over 200 lbs, each had 2 dolphins to push them out of the water. The dolphins were clearly well trained. I only wish I had had better instruction to get the full benefit of the foot push--it was explained a bit too fast for me.
We booked through Olympus Tours and paid $159 pp, then received a coupon for $30 "cash back" which we had to refund at the tour office.
The pictures and videos of all 6 of us came to @ $250, but they were extremely well done. My only complaint was that my son who was photographing had to stand behind a roped off area and was consequently unable to get any good shots of us in the water, so we really did need to get the video and pictures.
A memorable experience! Highly recommended.

Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelphinusPR, Guest Relations Manager at Delphinus Punta Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2011

Thank you very much for write about your experience at Delphinus Dreams Cancun. About your concern for keeping companions outside from the docks and swimming area it has a security and logistical reason. As you may saw when you swam with our dolphins, our trainers need room for run along all the dock area; if we let to companions or public be at the place, it would provoque crashes between our trainers and companions, or companions distracting visitors and trainers for taking their own pictures or even worst trying to touch or feed dolphins, which would be uncomfortable and dangerous for the animals. We are not saying that every one of the companions would behave like the examples, but we need to prevent this kind of events in order to keep safe and relax environment for dolphins, trainers and visitors who actually paid for having one of the greatest moments of their vacations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2010

We just returned from a 10 day honeymoon in Cancun, Mexico back to our home, Victoria Canada. I would like to report a seemless, wonderful travel experience throughout our entire vacation. Starting with the straight forward online booking with travelocity, the air travel with Air Canada (loved the free, u-pick movie and u-pick TV shows in the planes), the "escape" from the airport past all of the "tourist sharks" (that one Mexican almost got us to a sort of official looking info booth after customs, but I saw through his ploy and got away) and found my helpful Olympus rep in the orange outfits. The ride from the airport (newer van) to our hotel at Dreams was great, and cheaper than the "you wanna taxi, senor?" pressure stuff. Dreams Hotel was awesome, their staff was over-awesome, and the Olympus office there provide service that I fully understand to be "there for the customer" Mario and his two Olympus associates ensured our shuttle services and set us up for "trainer for the day" with the Dolphin swim in Dreams. Although not our first time in Mexico nor our first time to swim with the fabulous "puppies of the sea", this experience will remain special, forever.
While most of the Hotels are registered as approximately 40% capacity, Dreams was fully booked at the end of our stay, (Dec 22nd). They really do so many things right. To the best of my knowledge, "time share" sales has been rebranded to "loyalty club" or other such lingo. It was just a tad disappointing that this upper class chain of hotels is still allowing a format ( a sales station that looked like a hotel concierge station) that makes clients think that they need to agree to a "presentation" to get some stupid discount coupons. If you want the coupons, take them and just say no. We took 200$ worth of coupons and used 20$ for wine (still had to pay extra cash with coupon) (good wine, but using the coupons was a drag,... and you get decent free house wine/champagne anyways with all-inclusive). We got a very mediocre spa fee with the honeymoon package and didn't use any spa coupons thereafter. We already had paid for the upgrade honeymoon jacuzzi suite. So the coupons didn't work for us.
While researching our trip, I saw a suggestion that said to take a stack of 1$ american bills in case you wanted to tip a service person. Tips were never expected from any single hotel staff at anytime, but knowing the hardships of the average Mexican worker and their payscale, a random tip here and there brought joy to my sole. Oh yeah, in Cancun, you never need to take pesos, or speak spanish,... i read this somewhere, and it's true.
We did every single activity and sport at the hotel. The entertainment Dream Team, (yes, we know you all my name, A,C,B,M,V, and J) made every day so fun that we could hardly stand it! oough oough (you will know what this means when you go)
Well, we will be humming from this trip from some time, but I gotta go,... my wife would like some "loyalty"!
Barry

Thank BarryAgilegrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelphinusMX, Gerente at Delphinus Punta Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelphinusMX, Gerente at Delphinus Punta Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delphinus Punta Cancun also viewed

 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Delphinus Punta Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing