We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Triple Threat Experience”
Review of Can Cook in Cancun

Can Cook in Cancun
Ranked #1 of 8 Food & Drink in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mexican cooking classes:A day long cooking experience in Cancun with Chef Claudia will allow you to learn about Mexican Culture in a fun, relaxing, DELICIOUS, yet professional way. Private Dinners/Events:If youor your family are not in a mood for a class, but would like to experience a great Mexican dinner in a unique atmosphere... A Mexican house! Please get in touch, we'll prepare a special dinner for groups from 4 to 20.
Lawrence, Kansas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Triple Threat Experience”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I had a great experience at the home of Claudia and Lorenzo. The information about foods in the various regions of Mexico was interesting and informative. The hands-on cooking lessons were fun and effective. And the food was delicious.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    796
    30
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Can Cook In Cancun”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had a wonderful day in the home of Lorenzo and Claudia learning to cook Mexican food.
Claudia is a Chef and her kitchen is very professional with mirrors over the cooking area so everyone can see what is happening whilst seated around the table and breakfast bar.
Claudia gave a talk about the 5 main areas of Mexico and the type of food grown and cooked there. Also gave an insight of how for instance, what influence the Spanish had on Mexican food.
Lorenzo gave a talk on Tequilla and we all tried some.
The cookery class was excellent and we learned a lot about cooking Mexican food in an informal and hands on way. Claudia and her team makes it good fun and the meal we all sat down to at the end of the course was great.
One of the good things for us was that Claudia understood that we can not get a lot of the Mexican products in the UK [ cactus leaves for example ] so she gave us alternatives and also a website to get Mexican products.
We left with recipes for all the things Claudia made.
Transport to Lorenzo and Claudias home can be arranged via Lorenzo which was great.
Will return for another next time we go to Cancun.
Thankyou Claudia and Lorenzo.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TrishLiverpoolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fabulous cooking and dining experience”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My 15 year old daughter and I had a great time. It was a fun hands on day of cooking and eating. Our chef and host was informative and taught us a lot about All the regions of Mexico. Definitely worth the price. A great day!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Catskillbaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahrump, Nv, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Not your standard tourist attraction!!!”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Claudia and Lorenzo treated us like cherished friends, and were very warm and welcoming. We had a small group of 5, and it was like helping your sister with a meal that she was teaching you. Lorenzo was generally in the background, but like a good host, was always there with whatever was needed. I am no longer afraid of habeneros, as she had suggestions to temper the heat. Ask her how to keep guacamole green - I even did it at home, and it works! Totally worth it...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janet L T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastico!”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

What a wonderful experience cooking & eating in Chef Claudia & her husband Lorenzo's home in Cancun. If you love cooking, learning & eating fabulous food, this is THE thing to do on Cancun. This was truly a WELCOME HOME experience! I will be going again next August! BRAVO CLAUDIA & LORENZO! VIVA MEXICO!

Helpful?
1 Thank CancunSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Can Cook in Cancun also viewed

 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Can Cook in Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing