We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Part of Our Trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Helaman Tours

Helaman Tours
Ranked #66 of 315 Tours in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Let me show you the archaeologycal sites and best places for snorkeling. allow me to guide you with my experience of over 30 years in Mayan history and do a private tours in Spanish, English, French, Germain and Italian. it will be my pleasure to share with you my knowledge about the connections of the great cultures of the world.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Dakota Dunes, South Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Best Part of Our Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

We spent the day with Helaman touring Chichen Itza and Tulum. He picked us up at our hotel promptly at 7:30 and we proceeded to Chichen Itza. The travel time was used educating us about the Mayan people and the history of the inhabitants of the area. I particularly liked how he explained things clearly and without pre-conceived notions regarding your religious and/or historical knowledge.
Once arriving at the destinations, he was incredibly knowledgable regarding just about everything we asked about. The most powerful and memorable part of the tour for me was that he would back up his statements and beliefs with the scriptures. If we had a question, he would say, "lets open the scriptures and see what is written". His insight really helped give me a perspective that I had never before considered.
The transportation was comfortable, the food was great, the company was great, and the overall experience was UNFORGETTABLE!! Thank you, Helaman!! We can't wait to return!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    6
    0
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Smoot, Wyoming
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Highlight of our vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

My wife and I recently toured Ek Balam and Chichen Itza with Helaman, and it was the highlight of our vacation (which is saying a lot because we also spent 5 days on the beach at the Ritz-Carlton in Cancun). Helaman Tours are personal, custom tours and Helaman did a wonderful job getting to know us and identifying what was of most interest to us to make our tour more meaningful. I would recommend Helaman Tours to anyone. It was worth every penny!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank ManUtdTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
1 review
“The best vacation we have ever had.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

We had a four day tour with Lemuel (three days) and Helaman (one day.) They gave us the best experience because of their knowledge of the sites, the history and the perspective. They were proimpt. Never kept us waiting. They were attentive to our needs at all times. They customized the tour to our situation and deires. We loved the LDS perspective and spiritual insights. We highly recommend them to anyone going to the Yucatan pennisula. You won't be dissapointed.!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

For 5 wonderful days, Sept. 13-17, 2011, we with 3 other senior couples were privileged to have Lemuel (4 of the days) and Helaman Petlacalco (1 day) conduct our tour through the principal archeological sites in the Yucatan: Uxmal, Kabah, Chichén Itzá, Ek Balam, Coba and Tulum. The sites themselves are spectacular, but with our guides’ researched insights, Mayan language background, and attention to our needs, we were able to enjoy these sites at a much higher level of appreciation and understanding than would have been possible otherwise. New knowledge is coming out all the time regarding these sites, and these Petlacalco brothers are keeping abreast of these discoveries. Much layering (buildings built on top of or from previous buildings) is found at many of these sites, which requires explanations regarding the antecedent builders, the evolution of their architecture, the purpose and usage of their buildings, and the obvious evolution in their concept of deity or deities. These guides show these relationships and are quick to distinguish fact from educated guesses or sheer speculation. However, the extensive and obvious parallels with Hebrew religious rites and practices give credence to claims in the Book of Mormon.

Our specialized tour was put together over the phone and through email. They did everything they said they would do, on time, and with dispatch. They even helped us shop. One of our group has some health issues, but our guides were really on top of everything, anticipating needs and ensuring our comfort. The Yucatan is hot and humid, so an ample supply of cold water and a comfortable air conditioned van were very appreciated.

These guides were not merely sources of information doing their job as contracted; they actually feel a passion for what they do and want others to understand and see and appreciate as they do what these ruins can tell us about the ancient inhabitants of America.

There is no way we can adequately express our gratitude and praise for what these guides did for us. More than just our guides, they became our brethren.

WE RECOMMEND THEM HIGHLY!!!!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Del S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey
Level Contributor
225 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A Great Book of Mormon experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

This was our fifth trip to Cancun and my sister had recommended we take a Book of Mormon tour with Helaman Tours. We contacted Nefi Petlacalco through facebook and he immediately answered. He offered me different tours that would be attractive for my 8 and 10 year old. He arrived to our hotel located an hour away from Cancun at 7:30 A.M. Nefi took us to Ek Balam and Coba, impressive ruins that are a must to any LDS member that travels to CanCun. We then had lunch in a Yucatecan restaurant, went swimming to Tam Kach Ha a beautiful underground cenote, visited Mayan village and finally to Punta Lagarto where we saw monkeys on the trees. This has been the best tour where we learned and understood important aspects of the Book of Mormon. Nefi is very patient, explained and listened to each of our questions. His van has AC and lots of Oreos, Chips Ahoy, Pringles and water!! We will definitely book another toour with Helaman Tours!!!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Zazyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Helaman Tours also viewed

 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Helaman Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing