We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Caribbean
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradisus Cancun(Cancun)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,291)
Filter reviews
2,291 results
Traveler rating
1,266
648
215
71
91
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,266
648
215
71
91
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstradewinds restauranttime sharefull kitchenliving roomthomas moore travelcaptain's covedaily maid servicetimeshare resortel conquistadorpersonal conciergewelcome homefree shuttlenice resortconvenience storeshuttle serviceroom keyhotel zone
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,677 - 1,682 of 2,291 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2010

The Royal Caribbean is centrally located within the Hotel Zone of Cancun. It is located on the beach but has adjoining property on the lagoon. I traveled with two other teachers and seven high school students on a trip to learn more about the Mayan ruins, visit an ecological park, and speak the language. We were looking for a hotel that was large enough to house our students, family friendly, and with recreation activities available for free. We ended up booking a villa (which comfortably would have housed 8 people) and a suite (could house 4 people comfortably). We spent $211/night for the villa and $159/night for the suite. Both of these two rooms had a kitchen. Our ocean view rooms were truly ocean view. We could see both the pool and the ocean.

The staff was exceptionally friendly. The staff was willing to offer suggestions for activities, restaurants, shopping.

Our room was kept very tidy. Furniture and beds were kept in good condition. The beds had average bedding and not some of the more comfortable duvet covers and high quality sheets that some of the same priced US hotels would offer.

You can exchange dollars to pesos at a rate higher than our local currency exchange office was offering at the desk. You can not change money back. The hotel did require us to have a $600 hold on credit cards for incidentals. This seemed somewhat high in our experience and we had to book hotel rooms under separate names so that meant we had $1200 worth of holds on our credit cards. You cannot purchase items from the gift store with cash, only with the hotel room key, which meant our kids couldn't go to the snack shop to purchase snacks without charging it to the room. You can pay it off at the end with cash.

We enjoyed the pool, which in comparison to some other hotels in the Hotel Zone, was not ornate but it certainly served its purpose, was clean, and well tended. We also 'rented' (at no cost) kayaks and went kayaking in the lagoon.

Overall, we would take our kids back and stay at this resort. We also would come back with our friends, significant others, or families.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank acharpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

When we arrived in Cancun we used USA tranfer for our airport transportation, they were great. We received an e-mail from them telling us exactly what to do when we arrive and where to meet their drivers, it was perfect Great start to the trip.When we arrived at the Royal Carribean we had a quick check in and then walked to our room. We were so please with the room and the view. All rooms have ocean views and are real spacious. Rooms are quite and the service is great. Although the beds were hard and the pillows were various shapes we managed a good nights sleep, (small price to pay for this set up). It seemed like everyone in Cancun we ran into was very happy to have us there. We had great weather and spent some time everyday at the pool, there we met a drink server named Ceasar,, he was great he truley loves his jobs and loves interacting with the guests. We would ask Ceasar questions about places and things to do. Without trying to sell us on doing something he would give us his views and how we could obtain the means to do them. You know most people in Cancun are looking to make money one way or another by having you use someone they recomend so they get commission. This guy Ceasar was not like that, it was like chatting with a friend. We looked forward to seeing him daily. The beaches in front of the Royal Carribean were beautiful no rocks nice soft sand and pleanty of shells to bring home. The water was warm and we swam in the ocean daily. No people on the beach trying to sell you anything. It was hassle free getting from the resort to the beach. We also did not get harrased by any time share people.
They had a welcome party on Sunday afternoon with music and free beers. This place is great for families, it is really not geared for the young loud partiers but you can still have fun at the swim up bar. Real relaxing, clean and service oriented. We would go back the the Royal Carribean in a heart beat. Too bad my heart only beats once a year.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank socialdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

Just ending our yearly 2 week stay at the Royal Caribbean and it was as great as always. Tthey have the villa wifi network up and running.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blahblahblahblah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

Came here with the family for a week away from everything.... It did it all... true escape, magnificent views, well maintained, great staff and all at your fingertips.

The maintenance on the place was exceptional. You couldn't turn a corner without seeing someone cleaning something or making sure all was in order.

Make sure that if you are here that you tear yourself away for a day to go to see the Mayan ruins. They are one of the seven wonders of our modern world and worth the long drive.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ggcaiazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Agree with VacationLover43 on their review. This was our first time in Cancun or Mexico for that matter. Hubby and I are 45 and brought our twin 16 year old boys.May have been a little on the boring side for our boys if they did not have each other to hang with. Lots of families (mulit generational) and no spring break craziness. Resort was spotlessly clean in all public areas and our room. Large 2 bedroom condo with huge balcony. All rooms have ocean view as compared to nearby surroundong big name (Omnni, Hilton, etc) hotels that have rooms with road/lagoon views also. Used store for in room cooking. Dry goods/snacks were the most expensive so throw some in your suitcase: small cerea boxes, granola bars, microwave popcorn, peanut butter, etc.Fresh guacamole and salsa sold in store were yummy. Large beach/pool towels that you can swap out for clean ones were pretty good quality, don't waste space bringing your own. We used USATransfer for airport transfer and tour to Chichen Itza based on another review. Fabulous company with lower prices and more tour options than Thomas Moore. Clean, prompt, friendly tour company. You may wnat to do a rough outline of your excusions b4 you arrive as some only go on certain days. Ate at Haciendas in front of Royal sands for good Mexican food and discount with your resort card. Happy Hour at pool was great with 1/2 price drinks and free salsa. American tv for all ages - cartoons to unedited R movies so watch that a bit. DVD player in living room. Ocean was amazing and beach was clean.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spartaninco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews