We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, as always”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Caribbean
Ranked #37 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
earth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great, as always”
Reviewed April 23, 2010

Just ending our yearly 2 week stay at the Royal Caribbean and it was as great as always. Tthey have the villa wifi network up and running.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blahblahblahblah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,113
    586
    191
    66
    81
See reviews for
888
598
56
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Conway, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
401 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2010

Came here with the family for a week away from everything.... It did it all... true escape, magnificent views, well maintained, great staff and all at your fingertips.

The maintenance on the place was exceptional. You couldn't turn a corner without seeing someone cleaning something or making sure all was in order.

Make sure that if you are here that you tear yourself away for a day to go to see the Mayan ruins. They are one of the seven wonders of our modern world and worth the long drive.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ggcaiazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Agree with VacationLover43 on their review. This was our first time in Cancun or Mexico for that matter. Hubby and I are 45 and brought our twin 16 year old boys.May have been a little on the boring side for our boys if they did not have each other to hang with. Lots of families (mulit generational) and no spring break craziness. Resort was spotlessly clean in all public areas and our room. Large 2 bedroom condo with huge balcony. All rooms have ocean view as compared to nearby surroundong big name (Omnni, Hilton, etc) hotels that have rooms with road/lagoon views also. Used store for in room cooking. Dry goods/snacks were the most expensive so throw some in your suitcase: small cerea boxes, granola bars, microwave popcorn, peanut butter, etc.Fresh guacamole and salsa sold in store were yummy. Large beach/pool towels that you can swap out for clean ones were pretty good quality, don't waste space bringing your own. We used USATransfer for airport transfer and tour to Chichen Itza based on another review. Fabulous company with lower prices and more tour options than Thomas Moore. Clean, prompt, friendly tour company. You may wnat to do a rough outline of your excusions b4 you arrive as some only go on certain days. Ate at Haciendas in front of Royal sands for good Mexican food and discount with your resort card. Happy Hour at pool was great with 1/2 price drinks and free salsa. American tv for all ages - cartoons to unedited R movies so watch that a bit. DVD player in living room. Ocean was amazing and beach was clean.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spartaninco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2010

I have always checked on trip advisor for information but this is the first time I have posted a review. I just have to say this place was wonderful. We have went to Mexico the past 6 years always staying at a different location and hotel. This was the best resort yet!!
The beds were the usual Mexico "Firm" but I had no problem sleeping!! We had a suite and there was a HUGE balcony. We overlooked the pool and had a great ocean view. The beach was EXCELLENT I kept looking for the "rocky" beach but unless you consider some shells rocks there were NO ROCKS! You could walk miles down the beach, it was wonderful. I guess they just spent millions on bringing back the beach, the sand is from Cozumel....but it was wonderful!! You really don't have to leave the resort, they have a store on each site. We opted to have breakfast in the villa it was totally equipped with all you need to cook and it was nice eating on the patio looking at the ocean. We ate our other meals out. The Royal Caribbean is between two other Royal resorts (The Islander and the Mayan) so there were a total of 6 restaurants. You could get anything from taco's to lobster. The prices were not too bad, I do live in California so maybe our restaurant prices are higher than other places in the US but I didn't pay any more than I would at home. There wasn't a lot of action in the resort if you were in your 20's you might be bored, but you could always go into town for more action. They had pool volleyball which my husband loved, and I just enjoyed soaking in the sun!! I would definitely go back.....we didn't go to the timeshare spill because I had read that they get rude once you tell them "noway". Our guy called a couple of times to try and give us free breakfast and a ride to the new resort the are pushing but we just said we couldn't make it....but they were never annoying at all.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank VacationLover43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2010

It has almost been a year since our stay at the Royal Caribbean. Our family enjoyed our stay and found the resort to be rich with amenities and hospitality. Our kids enjoyed the swimming pool, daily activities and the craft center. The craft center had a nominal fee for services and goods but well worth the small investment. Our room was a two bedroom unit and we found it to be quite spacious and had a spectacular panoramic view of the ocean. It was not fancy but it was clean. My in-laws stayed in two bedroom unit at the Royal Mayan and we found the accommodations to be comparable. The food at the resort was not spectacular but it was good. The best part about the Royal Resorts is that you can enjoy all five of the resorts in Cancun and you can take a bus to their resort in Playa as well. This offers so many options for pools, food, drinks and entertainment. My only issues would be that there is not an all inclusive option and the strip of beach at the Caribbean was quite rocky due to erosion. The beach at the Royal Sands was much nicer. All in all, I would stay here again and I would recommend this resort to friends.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stoshk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laredo texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2010

After a few months searching for the best options, we found this place and we had a great experience we stayed at the Hotel booking via royalcaribbeanhotels and we got a Five Stars class hotel so we highly recommended..

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank selectiveone10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2010

Our first and last trip to Cancun-it was the most boring spot in the world. The Royal Resorts say that they are not about selling timeshares, but it was ALL about selling timeshares! The private concierge disappeared when we said no to the purchase and the resort schedule was a secret unless you went to the breakfast welcome. The accomodations were fine and the bus between the resorts was helpful, but there was no where to go unless you wanted to go to nightclubs. The is the perfect place to go if you want to do absolutely nothing!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MindyNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
4.9 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
0.1 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
0.1 mi away
The Royal Islander All Suites Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
1.0 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
5.0 mi away
The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Caribbean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Caribbean

Property: The Royal Caribbean
Address: Kukulcan Boulevard Km 17.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Cancun
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#29 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Caribbean 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Caribbean(R) Nestled between a magnificent stretch of powder-white sand and lovingly tended tropical gardens, our two resorts offer an exceptional collection of services... And twice the fun. Escape to paradise. Sink your toes into soft white sand that's always cool to the touch and listen to the murmur of the waves. Start the day with a swim in the pool, work out in the gym or sign up for tennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Caribbean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Caribbean Hotel Cancun
Royal Caribbean Hotel Cancun
Cancun Caribbean Resort Royal
Royal Caribbean Resort Cancun
Royal Carribean
Caribbean Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing