We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Caribbean
Ranked #36 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
NJ
1 review
“Truly Awesome”
Reviewed October 6, 2009

I was a bit hesitant in going because of the swine flu but there was little to no worries. This place is truly worth it (I used my time share for exchange - which i'm selling if anyone interest. Reasonable priced). The place was well maintained, the service was awesome and the staff was helpful. There is no area for swimming as you can still see the effects of past hurricane but if you stay in any of the Royal properties, you can take the shuttle down to the sands and spend the day on the beach there. One of the managers mentioned that they will be helping nature along to rebuild the area for swimming at this property. The food was nothing to brag about (in my opinion it's over priced) but you can always head to the other Royal properties to have lunch or dinner or any of the other restaurant owned by the Royal (Captian's Cove, etc). The pool was very large and spacious so you weren't cramped and bumping into others swimming. I would certainly go again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrym912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,092
    578
    187
    62
    76
See reviews for
861
587
56
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester County, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2009

We stayed in a two bedroom Villa at the Royal Caribbean for one week with our good friends. The room was amazing, one side with a king size bed and bathroom, the other
side with two full size beds and a bathroom. We also had a full kitchen, living room and a balcony big enough for 2 lounge chairs and a small kitchentte. Although I was very impressed with our facility, after seeing all 4 of the Royal hotels, I will stay at the Royal Sands going forward. The Royal Sands is the only one out of the 4 that has a nice beach you can visit and a better buffet breakfast.
Even after 4 years you can still see the impact Hurricane Wilma (I think that was it's name) made on Cancun. The beach at the Royal Caribbean is almost non existent because of the hurricane, I believe they said they would be building it up.
Depending upon the type of indivdual you are, you will or will not like the location. You have a restaurant in the hotel but the food isn't very good. You also have Captain's Cove across the street which I did not eat at but heard it was good. You can walk to other hotels that all house at least one restaurant but you are not in the most commercial area with an Outback Restaurant, and other names you would see in the states. We took at day trip to Chitchen Itza was a great trip to take. We also took the ferry to Isla Mujeres which I highly recommend. We rented a golf cart and traveled around stopping at the Turtle Sanctuary. If you get a chance to eat at Puerto Madero in Cancun, we highly recommend it. Lorenzillo's was not as good as Limoncello and La Dolce Vita was horrible for someone Italian and used to a certain quality. La Distilleria was very good for authentic Mexican.
One of the funnest things we did was go to Mercado 28. This is a flea market that had every souvenier you can think of. Although the vendors are pushy they are not as obnoxious as the vendors at the Flea Market up the road around Senior Frogs. We had fun with these guys and we got alot of great bargains. Word of caution though, somehow you have to remember where you parked your car because we were so turned around we ended up having to look for our car for at least 45 minutes. I would suggest taking a taxi, then you won't have to worry about it.
All in all it was a great trip, the pool at the Royal Caribbean was amazing. The bartenders at the pool (Fraylie was our favorite) were very gracious. I can't believe the people that would arrive and just drink so heavily they would end up fall down drunk (literally). Some having to be taken away in wheel chairs!! The combination of the hot sun, no cut-off limit on drinks and the 4 hour happy hour was lethal. They had a great shop at the hotel with good prices and a nice gym. I would go back tomorrow if I could but like I said I will stay at the Royal Sands going forward.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jxaquino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2009

Just got back from a week in Cancun. We stayed at the Royal Caribbean (three years ago we stayed at one of their sister resorts, the Royal Sands). I can't say enough about the staff at the resort--always friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Mexico is not known for having comfortable beds, and the Royal is no exception. We had a very roomy two bedroom, two bathroom villa with a kitchen. There's no better way to vacation with an 11 year old and a 15 year old! We cooked in three nights and ate breakfast on our terrace every morning. The resort grocery store has most things you need to prepare breakfast and lunch--dinner is a little trickier because they don't have much of a meat selection--and the prices are more than reasonable.

The pool area was huge. We would go down in the morning and have no trouble finding a shady (or sunny) spot. I think "rocky" is not the right word for the beach--more like boulders--but we're not beach swimmers (we only want to stick our feet in) so that was okay. The beach is shaded by the resort by about 4pm and the girls enjoyed making sand sculptures and collecting shells--a nice place to read and take a nap. The resort is built on top of a hill, so there's quite a trek down a few flights of stairs to the beach, and a little bit of a walk to the street. The laundry was a plus for us too. Although we didn't use it, the gym seemed to be first-rate. Children's activities are offered all day long.

The only negative about the hotel is the food--pretty unimpressive and kind of expensive for dinner, but that's pretty much the case at all of the hotel restaurants. We had dinner (once again) at La Distilleria--very good Mexican food and atmosphere, and the best drinks on the island, I think. Also, lunch at Jugo de Limon at La Isla mall was very, very good, but I guess restaurants are another review!

The resort also had a coffee shop with coffee, desserts, and wi-fi, which our kids loved.

I highly recommend the Royal resorts, including the Royal Caribbean.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shewhocooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2009

Great trip and Great place to stay. The villas are nice, a little dated, but clean and comfertable. No bed bugs! Great view.

The only thing that I didn't like about it was the long hike to the main road. Normally wouldn't be that big of a problem, but there are ginormous iguanas that are on the side of the road that creeped me out.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank red786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2009

Stayed in a 2 bedroom villa and had a great stay. It was right after the Swine Flu scare, so the resort was empty. We went on the Chichen Itza tour. We chose the Express tour that was less costly because it was a couple of hours shorter since it didn't include a snorkel stop. It was the best because it got to the site before the crowds. It also was in a 12 passenger van. The guide was great and stayed with us the whole time. It was a great tour to the Mayan ruins.
We checked out the Mayan and the Islander and we were surprised that some of the tours were a different cost. We did get an offer from the travel booth at the Mayan to go to Xcaret for $77 instead of the $105 if we used transportation from another company that may stop at other hotels. The tour for $105 only picked up at the Royals. It was a big savings at only $8 over the $69 admission cost.
We had fun just staying around the resort. The unit was on the beach and yes, the beach is very rocky. But, everything was beautiful. We would go back again!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank California4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2009

We had another great relaxing time at the Royal Caribbean!! We only went out once this time and spent most of the time within the resort which was very relaxing and very nice. The Royal Caribbean is between 2 other royal resorts (Royal Mayan and Royal Islander). We get to use the services from all 3 resorts. They also have the Royal Sands that you can go to and use the spa. We were there during the Flu outbreak and the resort employees were great and we didn’t get the flu. The only negative thing I could say is the beach is pretty bad. The beaches here used to be beautiful but ever since Hurricane Wilma they have been pretty bad but there's not much any of the resorts can do about it. They did try and bring sand back in after the hurricane but it just washed back out. It'll get better it's just going to take time. Book here, you'll love it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shebagirl38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, IA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2009

Great view from the balcony! I loved this hotel. The service was great. Everyone at the hotel was friendly and extremely helpful. I was so impressed by the service. The pool was great; it was never crowded although the chairs along the pool were often taken in the select spots. The beach needs improvement and disappears when there is high tide. Our personal concierge, Sophia, was great. She made us feel like we were the most important people at the resort. Staff never pressured or bothered you to buy more. The food was good in the restaurants. If you are thinking about the Royal Caribbean... DO IT... you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Go-Archie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.1 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
4.9 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
4.7 mi away
Krystal Cancun
Krystal Cancun
#69 of 175 in Cancun
4,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Royal Islander All Suites Resort
2.3 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
1.0 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Caribbean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Caribbean

Property: The Royal Caribbean
Address: Kukulcan Boulevard Km 17.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Cancun
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#28 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Caribbean 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Caribbean(R) Nestled between a magnificent stretch of powder-white sand and lovingly tended tropical gardens, our two resorts offer an exceptional collection of services... And twice the fun. Escape to paradise. Sink your toes into soft white sand that's always cool to the touch and listen to the murmur of the waves. Start the day with a swim in the pool, work out in the gym or sign up for tennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Vacatia, Hotwire, TravelUp, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Caribbean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Caribbean Hotel Cancun
Royal Caribbean Hotel Cancun
Cancun Caribbean Resort Royal
Royal Caribbean Resort Cancun
Royal Carribean
Caribbean Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing