We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holidays 2013 - great place for younger group”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Caribbean
Ranked #37 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Location was very nice - no complaints. Close to downtown, karaoke night was a blast. Younger crowd. For a quiter higher quality experience - Royal Haciendas is your place.

You can't go wrong with a Royal Resorts Vacation however. Staff is ALWAYS top shelf, pamper you and ensure a great experience.

Room Tip: Ocean view - beachfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyNicassio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,167 - 1,173 of 2,152 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

My wife, two daughters (18 & 20) and I went on our first family vacation in Cancun from 12/14 to 12/21/2013. Early in the week we had a couple days of pretty solid rain, but the temps were still around 80 so we still spent some time at the pool, some time in the workout room, and some time just relaxing on our balcony and napping. The weather then cleared up for the rest of the week and was beautiful and around 84 degrees for a high. All week we had excellent service from the staff at the Royal Caribbean. We found the food at all of the Royal resorts to be excellent, although we still chose to go offsite a few times to get some variety. We didn't do many activities during the week, but the girls did enjoy parasailing and we all went on a jungle tour which was ok (the snorkeling experience was not as pretty as others we have been on in the Caribbean). We loved our rooms and had a great view of both the ocean and the pool. I would gladly go on this trip again in a couple years and would recommend it to others, although keep in mind that it can rain for a few days this time of year.

Room Tip: We selected a room that had a view of both the pool and the ocean as high up as possible. We got a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The Bolleaux family just returned from 6 days at the Royal Caribbean and had a very enjoyable time. We are used to staying at the Marriott Vacation Club properties and the Royal Caribbean compared favorably.
The two bedroom villas have lots of room. The decor is not wonderful, but who cares, they were very well maintained, maid service every day, everything working and spotless. The bed was a little firm for me.
They have a new internet policy, each room now has its own router and for $8 per week you can have excellent internet. We had 5 or six devices and the connection was excellent, fully able to support Skype video.
You can still opt for the free internet, but you get what you pay for so be warned!
The staff on the complex were very helpful and the pool and garden areas impeccably maintained.
If you like Cancun, you will be well looked after at this property. The only negative for us was the concierge, who is really only a front to get you to attend a time share presentation, he was relentless to the point of being unpleasant. When will these time share resorts realize that people who say they don't want to purchase, really don't want to purchase.

Room Tip: A bus runs from right outside the hotel, frequency is every 3 or 4 minutes. It goes into Cancun and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bolleaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We love staying at the Royal Caribbean. Every year we get what we expect ... Friendly service, beautiful grounds, immaculately maintained suites, and a welcoming atmosphere. When we are at the Royal Caribbean, we are at home.

Room Tip: All of the rooms face the ocean and the pools. There is no bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sg-on-vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Satyed with my wife from 11th to 14th of last October and our plans were to move then to PDC (Riu P. Mx)... I have to say that this hotel is by far much better option than the one on PDC and by far much cheaper too... If you want to have everything on the same place and not to move out of the resort maybe you´ll need an all inclusive and the cost will be more than double. However, If your plans include Isla Mujeres, Chichen Itza or any place out of the resort, it would be better to think about a good, clean and beautiful hotel, pay half of the price of an All Inclusive and have lunch and dinner at the city, tourism places or still at the hotel. for this second option I think there is no better choice than Royal Caribbean.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edwin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We have stayed here for years, the facility is beautiful, the rooms are great and large, the views are great, it is clean, food is a variety and good, grounds are excellent, beach is great and kept clean and has little grass covered umbrellas with lounge chairs for your beach or sunning use. Staff is polite, everything is prideful and clean. Great place!

Room Tip: We personally love the Ocean Front Villas, but they are all great with great views of the ocean and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sis666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The Royal Caribbean started as a time-share facility, but is now also taking hotel reservations. The facility itself is very clean, with friendly & helpful personnel. The restaurant is excellent with a take-out facility if you wish to have a meal on your veranda. The breakfast buffet offers a mix of Mexican, American and European choices - try the pecan, coconut, and pineapple pancakes made fresh for you. The decor in the rooms is a bit dated, but well maintained. Activities are offered throughout the day like water aerobics, pool and beach volleyball, poolside bingo during happy hour, yoga and other health classes, as well as a children's program. There is a free shuttle between the other royal resorts in Cancun which allows you to get to the Kuklakan shopping mall.

Room Tip: Buildings A, G, and H are ocean front and offer great views and that soothing ocean sound at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank njjoaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
4.9 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
0.1 mi away
Emporio Cancun
Emporio Cancun
#46 of 177 in Cancun
2,128 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Islander All Suites Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 177 in Cancun
4,069 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun
1.9 mi away
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Caribbean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Caribbean

Address: Kukulcan Boulevard Km 17.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Cancun
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#30 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $115 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Caribbean 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Caribbean(R) Nestled between a magnificent stretch of powder-white sand and lovingly tended tropical gardens, our two resorts offer an exceptional collection of services... And twice the fun. Escape to paradise. Sink your toes into soft white sand that's always cool to the touch and listen to the murmur of the waves. Start the day with a swim in the pool, work out in the gym or sign up for tennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Royal Caribbean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Caribbean Hotel Cancun
Royal Caribbean Hotel Cancun
Cancun Caribbean Resort Royal
Royal Caribbean Resort Cancun
Royal Carribean
Caribbean Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing