We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Caribbean
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradisus Cancun(Cancun)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,291)
Filter reviews
2,291 results
Traveler rating
1,266
648
215
71
91
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,266
648
215
71
91
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstradewinds restauranttime sharefull kitchenliving roomthomas moore travelcaptain's covedaily maid servicetimeshare resortel conquistadorpersonal conciergewelcome homefree shuttlenice resortconvenience storeshuttle serviceroom keyhotel zone
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,372 - 1,377 of 2,291 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is our second trip to Royal Caribbean. The rooms are a little outdated (no granite or shower stall), but they are very clean and well maintained. The beach is picture perfect and the food and service is excellent. At times, the service was extraordinary. We will definitely come back again.

Room Tip: If you want to see the ocean and the pool area, choose ocean view with an upper level. In the beachfront, your only view is the ocean and not worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CindyL32669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have been going to Cancun on and off for 12 or 13 years and this is the first time we have stayed at the Royal Caribbean. We have stayed at other Royal Resorts so our expectations were pretty high and we were not disappointed. This property is about 25 years old but has been maintained very nicely. The landscaping is beautiful with mature trees and shrubs and flowers. Daily maid service (except for Sunday) keeps the unit clean and tidy. We stayed for three weeks - a different unit each week, but they took care of everything. We would pack and they would come pick up everything and take it to the new unit, including all our clothes as well groceries from the freezer and refrigerator.
The concierge we were assigned for our stay was more than helpful with information about attractions, restaurants and reservations.
We stayed in the One Bedroom Unit which has a bedroom as well as full kitchen and living/dining area. This also gave us the full balcony. The other half of the unit is more like a hotel room with only a microwave and a dorm size frig and a very small balcony. I would always recommend staying in the "A" Unit as opposed to the "B" Unit. Whatever the cost difference is worth it.
The staff was friendly and helpful in all areas. We especially enjoyed the Pool Bartenders, Alfredo and Nacir and Waitress Alexandra. They are longtime Caribbean employees who enjoy their jobs and do everything they can to make the guests enjoy their time at the resort. We aren't owners at this resort but I wish we were because I would love to come back to this same resort every year.
The Restaurants are a little pricey at the resorts but some of them are almost world class. The El Conquistador (at the Royal Mayan next door) and the Captains Cove (at the end of the drive) are excellent. Without being all inclusive this gives you the chance to fix some meals in your room and then get to some of the other terrific restaurants in Cancun. Two that we discovered this year that we'll definitely be going back to are Puerta Madeira and La Habicuela (Ha-beach-a-whale-a) Downtown (not in the hotel zone) These are two extraordinary restaurants.
We have stayed at several timeshare properties both in Cancun and elsewhere. We own a couple of timeshares ourselves. We have sat in on a couple of presentations at the Royal Resorts and we were pleasantly surprised in that they were very low pressure. We told them we were really only interested in getting some information and probably wouldn't be doing anything. They said "Fine, we'll just show you what we have and how our program works. If you think its for you' then fine. If not then thats fine also." And thats what happened. Thats not what we experienced anywhere else - period.

Room Tip: We like East facing rooms to see the sunrise and get morning sun and then have afternoon shade on the patio/deck. We had a beachfront one week - some people prefer these, but we found it less desirable. Constant wind blowing and a limited view - our opinion only. We liked the rooms that over looked the courtyard and pools. We like to people watch and the scenery is also beautiful. All rooms have a good view of the crystal blue Caribbean Sea.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just spent a week here in a 2 bedroom villa beach front. This was our second time here. We were on the first floor beach front and could walk out straight onto the beach. Our stay was nice, but, the room is getting tired. The dishwasher didn't work right and the microwave door wasn't working right. Maybe some of the maintenance is being neglected due to their term coming to an end for this resort. Concierge was somewhat useless, lots of promises but didn't deliver on any of them. Will probably not book here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woody99114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I have been an owner at the Rotal Caribbean since 1988. It is perfect in every way and you can't go wrong if you stay here!! The location is excellent, the beach is fantastic and the pool is beautiful. If you go in June, you may be able to see the sea turtles laying their eggs in nests on the beach at night. It is an amazing experience!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

we stayed during a week when a tropical storm was right offshore, so we were rained in for 3 days, dashing out onto the beach whenever it stopped raining. The only problem was when it rained the satellite tv disconnected, but because the suite has 2 dvd players everyone could watch what they wanted.

The staff was always helpful and friendly and really tried to make it a nice stay, delivering pizza in a howling rainstorm or adjusting rooms so that we wouldn't have to move on the last night of our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeinMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews