We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week 5 at the Royal Caribbean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Caribbean
Ranked #37 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have been owners at the Royal Caribbean since 1991 and have always enjoyed the location, the great service and the excellent maintenance at this resort. We love connecting with friends from all over the US and Canada during our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingB1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,330 - 1,336 of 2,182 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

Our first time at Cancun, Mexico. We were not sure what to expect. Tripadvisor helped us picking the Royal Resorts and we made the right choice. We had a beachfront suite on the 4th floor G423 (A side) and I believe this level is the best for beach front and we had a great stay. Suites are clean with right appliances and furniture. We loved the balcony. We have access to resturants and facilities in next door Royal resorts ...Royal Islanders and Royal Mayan. We preferred to stay within Caribbean and Islander. We are several times at Kayo Largo at the Islanders. Their breakfast buffet is excellent. Pacos Tacos above the Kayo Largo is also good for lunch. Pool area is excellent and clean. You can take a bus walking 5 minutes from the resort. Grocery store at the Royal Islander is better. ThomasMoore travel agent onsite is really a plus. Staff is excellent and speaks good English. Overall, an excellent and clean resort.

On the con side ...this is a Time Share property that goes Saturday to Saturday. If you check in on Friday, you need to change room from Saturday which we did not like. Our reservation was with Royal Islander in which we got a ground floor room initially which we did not like. Next day at checkout we were able to move to Royal Caribbean (literally, next building in the same compound) with a beach front suite on the 4th floor. I believe due to time share properties, you may not be able to get a good location in terms of room which makes a big difference in your stay. I think with the help of Veronica (Islander Manager) we good lucky to get a suite on the 4th floor overlooking the beach. I would stay the Royal reservation crew are nowhere as professional comparing to the staff at the resort. But, if you think about it the opposite problem would have been a real issue.

We think after visiting Royal Sands one afternoon that we like Royal Caribbean better than other Royal resorts.

Go for it!

Room Tip: Beachfront 4th or 5th floor, not on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LonelyTraveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

As always we had a very relaxing two weeks!!! Going to the RC is like going home!! Enjoyed seeing all of our RC friends!!! Unbelievable how the employees remember you from year to year!!! The pools are beautiful and so nice and warm. There is a need for an additional time slot for water volleyball due to so many people wanting to play at noon!!!

Room Tip: All villas are great! Depends on if you want sun or shade?? Research the location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrammaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have been timeshare owners at The Royal Caribbean for 17 years and we always look forward to going here for our week. Even after 17 years, there are still plenty of things to do that are new and different.

From the moment you check in until you leave, the staff is always making sure your stay is as good as it can be. They bend over backwards to make sure you are well taken care of. They are friendly, polite, and their English is way better than my Spanish.

The villa is cleaned every day except Sunday. The maid does a thorough job and is also friendly. There are 2 master bedrooms, each with its own bath so taking friends or family is easy. The kitchen is fully stocked with everything you need; plates, glasses, pots and pans, silverware, and small appliances. The dining room seats 6 and the living room has been improving all the time. Now there's a DVD player.

Our favorite is the veranda. We have a beachfront villa and every single evening we sit out there to watch the people on the beach, the crystal blue water, and the beautiful sunsets. It is so relaxing!

Captain's Cove is always our first dinner spot. We also go to the upscale restaurant at the Royal Mayan which is superb! And we explore to find new eating spots as well.

We always paint ceramics which is a good way to meet people and also results in souvenirs to take home. There are also excursions which are fun and interesting. Of course, the Mayan ruins are fascinating, but there's also horseback riding on the beach, snorkeling which is some of the best in the world, gorgeous beaches, and there's a new museum in front of the resort that I am looking forward to visiting.

This is one of our favorite places to go on vacation!

Room Tip: We love having a beachfront villa. There is more privacy and the views are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank icyvelvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We just stayed at the Royal Caribbean for our sixth time. We absolutely love our stay every time. We have found all of the staff to be very friendly. While the villas are dated, they are all well taken care of and very clean. We also appreciate the security that is provided and have always felt safe here. Thomas More is an added bonus when booking airport transfers and other activities. It is always a good feeling to be able to bypass all of the other transportation companies that you are bombarded by at the airport and find the Thomas More agent and know that you are in good hands. We also know that we get the best possible price when we book activities through Thomas More. They have first-hand knowledge of all of the activities that are provided and they offer great advice. We have been to Royal Caribbean enough times that we know a lot of the staff and also a lot of the time share owners. We truly do feel that it is our "home away from home."

We are very disappointed that this resort will become all-inclusive this summer for those who are not owners. The reason we have always returned to this resort is because it was NOT all-inclusive. Sadly, because of this change, we will not be returning. I truly feel that Royal Resorts are fabulous and I don't know why they feel they have to be like all the other resorts that offer all-inclusive. I have always felt that they were a cut above all of the rest of the resorts because they were not all-inclusive. We went to the Royal Sands for dinner while we were there this last time. They have already turned all-inclusive. We were very disappointed in the change in menu at La Veranda. They used to offer guacamole made at the table and also dessert items like cherries jubilee and bananas foster that were made at the table, which made the dining experience there truly remarkable. I really wish that Royal Resorts would reconsider going all-inclusive!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jhs220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Last saturday I showed up to Royal caribbean hotel without a reservation, Paulina the front desk lady was great!!! in less than 10 minutes she found me a room and she saved my trip. The hotel and staff is good. The AC work great, 24/7 bar, access to all the amenities, gym, theater, also has a disco inside the building, I had access also at Royal Solaris, this two hotels is the same property so I was able to use both of them, like the restaurants... without paying extra, I was able to eat and drink as I pleased without problem. they offer diferent restaurants + the buffets and the late night snacks. You can party all night and rest without any disruption. great family hotel. Am planing to go back soon. The only bad thing was when I had to come back home. Trip advisory was right, this is a excellent hotel and deserves the title!!!!

Room Tip: Always tip well !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuanDelValle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We visited Cancun again in less than 6 months for a second week. Again we did the Congo Bar and had fun on Sunday Night. Thursday we did the Dancer Party Boat and it was our most fun day and best value ans the fun never stopped--The staff was outstanding--The drinks kept coming and the food was great. Friday Night we discovered on the back side of the Isla Shopping Centers are great restaraunts and bars on the water all together --a great place to go if you dont like the clubs. Wish we would have found this place earlier in the week. Its our 5th trip in the past two years to Cancun and I am always refreshed by the sincerity of the people there. Also you must take the bus instead taxis- its cheaper about $2 for a couple and it give you another great local experience of Mexico.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RSizemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
4.9 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
0.1 mi away
Emporio Cancun
Emporio Cancun
#46 of 177 in Cancun
2,139 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Islander All Suites Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 177 in Cancun
4,095 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
4.9 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Caribbean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Caribbean

Address: Kukulcan Boulevard Km 17.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Cancun
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#30 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $103 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Caribbean 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Caribbean(R) Nestled between a magnificent stretch of powder-white sand and lovingly tended tropical gardens, our two resorts offer an exceptional collection of services... And twice the fun. Escape to paradise. Sink your toes into soft white sand that's always cool to the touch and listen to the murmur of the waves. Start the day with a swim in the pool, work out in the gym or sign up for tennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Royal Caribbean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Caribbean Hotel Cancun
Royal Caribbean Hotel Cancun
Cancun Caribbean Resort Royal
Royal Caribbean Resort Cancun
Royal Carribean
Caribbean Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing