We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good but not astonishing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Caribbean

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Caribbean
Ranked #38 of 180 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
296 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Good but not astonishing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel caters mainly for elderly people and families with small children. Since we were on vacation with our 3 year old, we searched for a roomier place to stay at and this hotel was the place, since it had two bedroom-, two bathroom- and a kitchenette apartments, exactly what we needed. It's not an all-inclusive hotel either, a thing that was also imperative to us, as all- inclusive is always out of the question. If it had been a vacation for only my husband and I, I would have definitely chosen a much smaller fancy boutique hotel.
The hotel is huge, as are the majority of hotels in Cancun. Its decor isn't stylish at all, it's rather outdated, as the hotel hosts mainly aged working class and middle class people.
The staff wasn't particularly polite, they appeared to be mostly careless. The check-in was a fuss, as we arrived around 1p.m., the check-in was at 4p.m. and of course, the room wasn't ready any earlier than that. We arrived on a Sunday and stayed until second following Wednesday. But on Saturday we had to move to another room, as Saturdays were changeover days at this hotel (which turned out to be a timeshare facility, not an actual hotel). On our changeover day we had to move all our suitcases and belongings by ourselves, as we had been told that all the bellboys were unavailable, by helping other guests. Other than these downside I actually liked staying here. The rooms were bright, big and spotless clean (there's daily maid except for Sundays and holidays). There were always fresh towels, once they had a holiday but the front desk phoned to announce it and told us anything we needed just tell them. All apartments are seaview. The hotel's pool, beach, pool toilets were kept very clean, the lawn mowed, etc. Another thing that I disliked was the noise. Sometimes the housekeeping were really, really noisy and when pushing their carts through the corridors, they made this terrible sound as the floors on the corridors had no carpets, just paver tiles.
The restaurant on site was nothing but average at most. We didn't go there but twice as they served mainly hamburgers or sandwiches with fries ( I really dislike this unhealthy food). The waiters here were inattentive and always in a rush. The restaurant also had takeaway, which was actually better. I liked their Guacamoles, chocolate chips and the lemon tart, which was in fact exquisite. I also bought from here Mexican rice and mashed for my son. There are much, much better restaurants in Cancun and especially Cancun town than this one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank obsessedbytravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Caribbean, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to post about our resort.

Our resort is a mixed use resort which could lend itself to a few challenges, we appreciate your kind comments as they are very important in order to make the necessary adjustments to provide all our guests memorable experiences.

We sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you in the future,

Best Regards.

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    874
    479
    155
    51
    59
See reviews for
680
475
43
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was my first stay in Cancun, I went with three girlfriends, one of which had been going to Cancun for the past 8 years. The Royal Caribbean was great, the staff were friendly and helpful. The villa was very large and clean. The grounds are well maintained and the beach front has plenty of chairs and palapas. We had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjveggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Caribbean, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments with the world.

We really appreciate your kind words and are happy to learn you had a great time with your friends during your visit to our resort.

We're already looking forward to welcome you again during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards.

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was our first stay at a Royal resort and we fell in love. Everyone was very knowledgable and helpful. Ross did an excellent job at helping us plan our activites and showing us around the property. It was very clean and friendly right down to the gardners, lifegaurds, and housekeepers. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and recommend it to anyone heading to Cancun!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Caribbean, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind words about our resort.

We always strive to provide the best service available and is very rewarding to learn you had such a wonderful time during your stay.

We are already waiting to welcome you again.

Best Regards.

Cristóbal Galindo.
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Everyone was very courteous and helpful. Lot of fun things to do. Wonderful Shell seeking. Found a great Conch Shell. I would highly recommend this facility. No complaints at all. Lived the zip lining as well as swimming in the cenote (caverns). Not far from anything that is fun. Very safe surroundings. Florida

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gloria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Caribbean, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words.

We're so happy to learn you had such a wonderful time at our resort.

We're looking forward to welcome you again here at your home away from home.

Warm Regards

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

If youre looking for a resort where you dont have to leave it unless you want to, then the Royal Caribbean is for you. The restaurant , activities, pool, beach and grounds are perfection. The views of the ocean are all spectacular no matter where you stay. If you do like to venture out the downtown area is minutes away by cab. There you can enjoy restaurants, clubs, discos, shopping or just taking in the local sights. If youre up for sightseeing the Royal Caribbean conciererge can take care of all the details for you. The staff is super friendly and always willing to help. Im already planning to go back for my 2014 vacation

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Caribbean, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to share this kind words.

We're glad to read you enjoyed your stay in our resort. We always strive in order to provide the best service available and its rewarding to read you appreciated the Royal Experience.

Hope to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards.

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We own week two at this resort, but have stayed at many of the Royal Resorts as well. They are all wonderful! It is most definitely a five star resort. I can't imagine anyone being diappointed with a stay at this resort. I would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to Cancun.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Caribbean, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing this kind words with the world. We really hope you enjoyed your vacation and are already looking forward to welcome you again during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards.

Cristóbal Galindo.
Community Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have just returned from a week`s stay at the Royal Caribbean in Cancun. We had a 2 bedroom unit (including the lockout). The unit was certainly large enough for the 2 of us and was well maintained and the daily cleaning was very good. Of the 3 ``Royals`` (Mayan, Caribbean, Islander) I believe that the Mayan restaurants are better quality than the Caribbean. Please note that the 3 Royals are adjacent to one another and a common charge card allows one to eat at any of the Royals in Cancun (there are 5). Also note that the Mayan will be sold this year so in the future you will only have the Caribbean and the Islander to use at this location.
The beaches in front of the Caribbean is pure sand, no coral, but keep in mind that the winds, at least during our week were very strong which made swimming in the ocean somewhat risky (red flags everywhere).
The staff was very accomodating and the 2 maintenance concerns that we had (toilet, safe) were fixed within 10 minutes in each case.
The one issue that I did not appreciate was the ``do not take no for answer`` of the timeshare personnal at the Caribbean. We were on an exchange as we own a number of weeks at different locations and we were not interested in even considering purchasing additional weeks and they were very persistent even when told ``not interested`` as they are now promoting a new development (Royal Haciendas) near Playa del Carmen.
Access to downtown Cancun from the Royal is easy. Buses run every 5 minutes and fare is approximately 65 cents and if one needs a taxi, they are everywhere. From the Caribbean to Cancun International is a 15 minute ride and the Royal does provide a shutttle service for a fee.
Summary: Clean, large units, perhaps dated bathrooms (no jacuzzi) choice of restaurants in 3 adjacent Royals, nice beach, no means no (timeshare promotions)

Room Tip: Virtually all rooms face the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cassiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Caribbean, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and post about our resort.

Our resort is a mixed use resort which could lend itself to a few challenges, we appreciate your kind comments as they are very important in order to make the necessary adjustments to provide all our guests memorable experiences.

We hope to see welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards.

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.2 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
4.9 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
2.8 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Royal Islander All Suites Resort
1.0 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
2.3 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Caribbean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Caribbean

Property: The Royal Caribbean
Address: Kukulcan Boulevard Km 17.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Cancun
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#30 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Caribbean 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Caribbean(R) Nestled between a magnificent stretch of powder-white sand and lovingly tended tropical gardens, our two resorts offer an exceptional collection of services... And twice the fun. Escape to paradise. Sink your toes into soft white sand that's always cool to the touch and listen to the murmur of the waves. Start the day with a swim in the pool, work out in the gym or sign up for tennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Royal Caribbean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Caribbean Hotel Cancun
Royal Caribbean Hotel Cancun
Cancun Caribbean Resort Royal
Royal Caribbean Resort Cancun
Royal Carribean
Caribbean Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing