We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Caribbean
Ranked #37 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Overall a great, quiet family-friendly resort. We've been going to the Royals in Cancun for over 20 years and although the properties are always well-maintained, the little things are slipping. Prices for food have gone up considerably and are now comparable to more moderately priced Smerican restaurants but the quality of the food isn't as great. They have also cut back on the number of kids' activities.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krakim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilo_Royal_Resorts, Community Manager at The Royal Caribbean, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking a moment of your valuable time to write your review. Your comments are very important and help us serve you better.

I'm delighted to read that you have been a part of our family for so many years! Thank you for the kind words towards our facilities.

Having said this, I'll be sure to pass a copy of your comments about food and activities to management, in order to follow up and be able to adjust our services as needed.

I do hope to see you back again soon. Until then, warm regards from Cancun!

Camilo Olea
Community Manager
Royal Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,451 - 1,457 of 2,152 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2012

Spent a week with the family over Spring Break and had a nice time. As others have said, the resort and its grounds are very nice and well mantained. The daily maid service keeps the 2 bedroom condos in great shape and the rest of the resort is always impecably clean.

The first issue to be aware of concerns the personal concierge who is instantly assigned to you at check in. The "concierge" is really a timeshare sales person and while I am used to there being such folks at all timeshares, I did not appreciate the mischaracterization. The deception extended to him telling us that they offered free transportation to their sister resort in Playa del Carmen only to find out the next day that the free transportation came with a required breakfast in town and tour of the property.

The second issue was further deception by the "concierge/marketing" team which really pushed the "in-house" excursions offered by their Thomas More tour operators. We were told the benefit of the "in-house" tours was that they would not waste time picking up passengers at other hotels but were rather exclusive to our hotel. We felt that was a good thing and booked the Tulum/Xelha tour through them. On the day of the tour we were disappointed to find out that "in-house" included all the Royal Resorts and spent 45 minutes picking up at the other Royal resorts in Cancun and took a 15 minute detour to pick up passengers at the resort in Playa del Carmen. Had we known the truth we would have booked the tour through USA Transfers and saved some money.

The last issue will not apply to most people but had a huge impact on our 8 year old son and that was that ALL the pools at the resort and the two neighboring Royal resorts are 5 feet deep except for the kiddie pool areas. As an 8 year old, my son was too old to be in the kiddie pools but could not stand in the regular pools. He still had a good time but it would have been much better if there were some 4 foot sections.

The surprising highlight of the resort was the paint your own pottery activities where the two gentlemen working there did an amazing job of adding accents to everyone's pottery and making them look amazing. We went back and did additional pieces to bring back as one of a kind souvenirs and gifts.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChicagoDolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilo_Royal_Resorts, Community Manager at The Royal Caribbean, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking a moment of your valuable time to write your review. Your comments are very important and help us serve you better.

Thank you for the kind words about our resort, we work hard to keep it clean and in top conditions for our members and guests.

Regarding your comments about concierges and tours, I will pass a copy of them to corporate management in order to follow up and adjust our service as required. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We appreciate the feedback and hope to see you back soon.

Warm regards from Cancun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We have been coming to this resort for over 20 years. First, in our 30s, enjoying the resort as a couple. Then with young kids enjoying the kids program. Now with teenagers exploring the jungle. Year after year we find the same quality. I can't say enough about the caring staff. My son needed to utilize the medical services while we were on our visit this year. We called for assistance and the MD was onsite within 15 minutes. She was fantastic. The staff checked in on us to be sure that all was well.
The Caribbean is right in the middle of a three resort complex and you will have use of triple the amenities.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwjeanneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

This was our first time here and we were so impressed. We were given the top floor villa and the view was breathtaking. This resort is SO clean and the staff was very friendly. The food is good and the Happy Hour drinks are the best. I had a great time doing ceramics and the staff there is very helpful and friendly. There is lots to do if you want to and you can use the other two "sister resorts" on either side. The beach has the finest sand and is very clean. I highly recommend this to everyone. We are planning on visiting again in 2016.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BevManilow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

All of the hotels in Hotel Zone offer great beaches, clean rooms, and wonderful pools. The big difference of staying at the Royal Caribbean is that they have several properties and you can use their shuttle or walk to them to expand your choices. The restaurants at each property had a different focus and the activities, pools, beaches, etc. were open for you to use so that it gave a wonderful feel of seeing so much more that when confined to a single hotel for a week. The shuttle takes you to the Hacienda, their newest venue, which is a 45 minute ride away but puts you on a quite different beach opposite Cozumel. Again, this hotel offers more dining choices, pools, activities and beach experiences for a wonderful day trip. The Royal Caribbean had a wonderful staff experienced in helping you gain the most out of your stay and directed us to the easy experience of riding the local buses, exploring the downtown area, and helping us to plan a fantastic day trip to Mujeres, which is a short ferry ride from downtown Cancun. If this is a first trip to Cancun, the Royal Caribbean will more than satisfy your every need and give you the perfect experience to then plan future trips.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view. Higher rooms make for great pictures but all of the rooms have some po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moondog46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Excellent location. Food is fantastic, you really don't have to taxi- you could just walk between the three Royal locations (Mayan, Carribean and Islander). For the price, Captain's Cove at the end of the street is PHENOMENAL. Cleanest rooms ever, though a tad outdated. Had a phone issue that was fixed the MOMENT we found it. Decent gym facility, everything you'd need for a good workout. The people are very friendly and willing to assist; Excellent concierge. I used the Sands (affiliated with Royal Carribean) Spa; got a swedish massage. They allow you to use the facility the whole day, and I recommend you do! Wonderful jacuzzi, showers, inhalation room, steam room and sauna. Loved the convenience stores, and a very nice shop in the resort. Couldn't be happier- will go back again next year!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aub-n-Jer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We vacationed as guests of my sister and her husband March 17-28 at their timeshare in the Royal Carribbean. We were very impressed with the friendliness, cleanliness, and convenience of the facility. Our experience rating would have been a 5, except our unit was robbed on March 24th, our 39th wedding anniversary.

When we left the unit for the beach, all of the security locks were engaged, and the maid had not yet arrived to clean the room and make the beds. When we returned, the beds were made, and our suitcases had been rifled. My husband's backpack with his computer was missing as were our two cameras that had been in our suitcases, an iPod and five chargers. All of the security locks were open. The resort's manager and security interviewed us and investigated the unit. We were re-located from the ground level to a penthouse (beautiful,by the way) because we no longer felt safe staying on ground level.

Several visits were made to speak to the manager about the robbery and a trip was made to file a report at the police station. The staff were polite, but said several times that they didn't see why the robbery was the hotel's responsibility. It is our contention that since we took advantage of the resort's security measures (passports,jewelry and cash in the safe; doors locked, including security locks) and the staff had access to our room while we were gone that it is indeed the resort's responsibility. It is worth noting that whenever we checked in at a Royal restaurant or ordered from the beach bar, the waiter would take our room number and room key for the duration of the time that we were at the restaurant or bar. Therefore the resort staff was in control of our key. This seems to us to be a security risk that the hotel manager should remedy, and further establishes the resort's responsibility for the security of the villas when the guests are absent.

The resort representative, Jose has been in communication with us since our return. The resort requested that we locate the original invoices for all the stolen items so they can submit them to their insurance company.

In the meantime, we lost almost $3,000 of electronics, security and peace of mind, and time both on our vacation and at home. We have no photos of our trip. And we have no computer, cameras, chargers or iPod to use, or money to replace them. We will update this review to let other travellers know how the resort settles the matter with us. This is an opportunity for the Royal Carribbean to demonstrate that it is worthy of its fine reputation.

Room Tip: Do not stay in a room with pool-level access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank tigger1453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
4.9 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
0.1 mi away
Emporio Cancun
Emporio Cancun
#46 of 177 in Cancun
2,124 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Islander All Suites Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 177 in Cancun
4,068 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun
1.9 mi away
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Caribbean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Caribbean

Address: Kukulcan Boulevard Km 17.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Cancun
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#30 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $109 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Caribbean 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Caribbean(R) Nestled between a magnificent stretch of powder-white sand and lovingly tended tropical gardens, our two resorts offer an exceptional collection of services... And twice the fun. Escape to paradise. Sink your toes into soft white sand that's always cool to the touch and listen to the murmur of the waves. Start the day with a swim in the pool, work out in the gym or sign up for tennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Royal Caribbean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Caribbean Hotel Cancun
Royal Caribbean Hotel Cancun
Cancun Caribbean Resort Royal
Royal Caribbean Resort Cancun
Royal Carribean
Caribbean Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing