We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Islander All Suites Resort
Ranked #32 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 29, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Royal Islander from May 9th - May 16th and I must say it was a great experience. We first arrived at noon time on the 9th and we were greated by our concierge Dante and he was fantastic. Check in time usually isn't until 4pm, however, we were able to check in once we arrived, which we were happy about that because we had a wedding to get ready for as our friend s were getting married that evening. We stayed in a two bedroom villa and it was very spacious and very clean. We had maid service everyday and they did a great job. Our concierge Dante called us everyday to make sure we didn't need anything.

The Royal resorts have a shuttle bus that is able to take you to between the resorts ( so the you can use the other resorts ammenities), which is very convenient and they come every 30 minutes. The pools at the Islander were very nice. There was hardly any beach because of the hurricane's however, we knew that before we arrived, therefore it was no surpirse.

We were able to take the R1 or R2 bus to many restaurants, clubs and even Walmart and they run every few minutes 24 hrs a day, which made it very convenient.

We even used the laundry facilities, which was very convenient. The resort also has a convenient store, which has just about any and everything you could want.

Staying at the Royal Islander was a great experience and my husband and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCDawnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,750 - 1,756 of 2,226 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2009

We stayed at Royal Islander and the place was great. The service was excellent and all I saw were smiling faces that wanted to help find whatever you needed or wanted. The room was excellent with a great view of the ocean. The room was serviced everyday and it was great. The location was excellent. It wasn't far from downtown and malls were close. They always had taxis outside but the city bus service was very accessible, easy, and inexpensive to use. They had a great spa and access to a gym which was great. The restaurants were great and inexpensive

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luv2TavelALot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2009

Other than the Swine Flu scare (which forced a shortened time in Cancun and at the Islander) and absolutely no beach the Royal Islander is a good value. The staff is extremely helpful and go out of their way to help. Compared to other time shares seen this gives you lots of room, especially if you take both the A and B portions of the villa.

One word of caution --- don't ask for extra towels unless you are willing to pay. For the first time in a number of years traveling I was told that to give more than one towel per person in the room would add $5 per day to the bill!!!!

Also, another downer is there is no broadband internet connection in the rooms. You have to go to a common area, i.e. restaurant or lobby, to get a connection. The upside is the connection is free.

Overall, putting all things in balance, it is a good place.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Waveman12e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2009

We stayed at the RI for the week of our honeymoon as a gift from my parents to use their timeshare. We are both international travelers and have pretty high expectations and were met with a fantastic resort upon arrival. We had a very smooth check in and when we arrived in our rooms the maid had left swans in the shape of a heart out of towels with a small veil and bowtie on the bed (HOW CUTE) ... we stayed in a one bed one bath villa (sleeps up to 4) and had a full kitchen and large balcony with ocean view. the pool was fantastic and the pool bar even better. We ate lunch at pacos tacos and the food was good and reasonably priced. TIP- happy hour is the best deal for drinks.

Yes, there is no beach due to mother nature BUT you can hop any shuttle from the resort which is every 30 mins and SUPER fast to one of the 4 sister Royal resorts (club international de cancun has the best beach) or you can go over to the royal sands and enjoy their enormous pool with special inpool chairs. The resort staff is amazing and we were not really hassled for timeshare once we said no we were not interested. We could change our money out at the front desk for a much better rate than in town BUT we recommend looking into changing you money at the airport IN THE U.S for an even better rate. a few tips-1) USE thomas moore for the shuttle. YOU WILL BE harrassed from vendors the MINUTE you step out of the customs area.. IGNORE all of them and walk straight outside and find the thomas more rep just like your voucher said that you have to print out before hand. Its easy, fair, and you WONT get ripped off..... 2) listen to the bellhops and vallets at the resort. they wont let you get ripped off by taxis and they will help you with the bus which is a lot safer,cheaper and easier than taxis. 3) dont eat the buffets at the resort, although good they are you not worth the money.....

the resort was wonderful, staff so friendly, and we will be returning soon (and hopefully to a new beach that they are working on rebuilding)

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joeandtab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2009

We own 2 weeks.... one week at the Royal Sands and one at the Royal Islander. We only went the 1 week this year...we stayed at the Royal Islander and that was a good choice considering there was no beach. We are not pool people and had to stay at the pool all week. The ocean was just too dangerous to swim in with all the exposed rocks. I know we won't go back next year if it is the same situation...I realize that you can't do anything about mother nature, but the beach was the reason we purchased a time share there.
Also, when my husband went to check out he used US dollars....why I don't know because the dollar is worth much less there right now. I think it would have been an honerable thing to do for the front desk to remind him of this fact...but they didn't. I made a purchase at the airport and was going to use US money and the cashier told me it would be cheaper to charge it because of the exchange rate. I am very disappointed in the Royal Resorts for not mentioning this.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CallieCapeCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2009

The Royal Islander is a nice resort with very comfortable accomodations and a great staff. People return here year after year. The restaurants are top notch with very reasonable prices. There are a few scheduled activities which make for a fun day. HOWEVER, the beach is not usable. I had read reviews that said that there were rocks and it could be difficult to get into the water. I had even called the resort to inquire about the situation and was lead to believe that depending on the wind conditions, some days the beach was usable. There is no way to get into the water. The beach, at this point, is totally unsafe. Most returning guests said that the beach was beautiful until all the hurricanes hit over the last few years. They tried, unsuccessfully to re-establish the beach but it eroded again. There are plans to try again, starting in April.
We were looking for a beach vacation so we were somewhat disappointed, That being said, this is still a very nice place- just don't expect to use the beach. If they are ever able to re-establish the beach, this resort would be ideal!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelingtoothdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2009

We stayed at the Royal Islander from Jan 31 - Feb 7 this year. This was our third visit to the "tri-royals" in Cancun" (I have benefited immensly from information on TA and wanted to give a little something back--this is my first review). We had an oceanfront villa-two bedroom. We love the hospitality and excellent service that we consistently get at Royal Resorts. We also enjoy the option of taking the free shuttle down to the Royal Sands and using the facilities and restaurants at the other adjoining resorts next door to The Islander. Basically you're getting the use of four resorts instead of one--actually five if you take the shuttle down to the newest- Royal Haciendas in Playa DelCarmen.

Please bear in mind that these are "timeshare" resorts, but on the surface function as if they were hotels--your room key is your pass to use all the facilities and restaurants at any of the Royal Resorts-and no, there is no pressure to purchase one.

I give The Royal Islander excellent marks for service, good food, cleanliness, value and friendliness. Enjoyed Happy Hour every day, used the gym, loved that the pools are now heated--it was cool the week we were there, high 60's low 70's. Loved the breakfast buffet at the palapa every morning.

The only negative and it's a big one, is the loss of beach due to erosion started by Hurricane Wilma in 2005. This is the first time we could not swim at the beach at all during the entire week and frankly it was a big disappointment. Obviously, you can't blame this on the resort, but it is a big factor. There was some beach restoration done in 2006 and we did use the beach during our 2007 visit, however this year was the worst we have seen it. The waves break hard and close on the shore and the shoreline-water's edge is mostly covered in boulders. Much of the sand has been washed away. This appears to be the case for many other resorts as well along "the strip." The red flags are posted daily meaning "no swimming allowed." If you were to disregard the warning you may be risking your life-seriously. I asked around the resort and was told that for the most part this is the norm here--no (beach) swimming allowed. As some consolation, you can still walk the beach or sit in loungers and order drinks and take in the beautiful view of aquamarine blue waters and white sand.

The "old" beach was probably the most beautiful beach I ever swam on and sadly, for now it's gone. There is some talk about another government restoration project in the works. This is still a beautiful resort--just don't plan on swimming in the ocean here anytime soon. If swimming in the ocean is important to you...go someplace else :(

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cliffster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
5 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
0.2 mi away
Emporio Cancun
Emporio Cancun
#45 of 177 in Cancun
2,191 reviews
4.9 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Royal Caribbean
The Royal Caribbean
#37 of 177 in Cancun
2,229 reviews
4.8 mi away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
2 mi away
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Islander All Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Islander All Suites Resort

Address: Kukulcan Boulevard Km 17.5 L-51 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cancun
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#26 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $122 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Islander All Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Islander(R)is nestled on the beach and offers enchanting views of the Caribbean and the Nichupte Lagoon. Seek a moment of solitude at sunrise and enjoy blissful hours in the warm sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelPower, Agoda, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Islander All Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Islander Hotel Cancun
Royal Islander Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing