We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Islander All Suites Resort
Ranked #34 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Leland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Resort”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Royal Islander last week and it was wonderful. The rooms as well as the resort, pool and grounds are immaculate. The staff are great and very accommodating. The beach has been enhanced since our previous visit and is absolutely beautiful. We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a Ocean Front Room for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roxann16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,114
    546
    177
    72
    68
See reviews for
765
667
61
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Originally booked at the Royal Cancun, but due to constructiion noise they upgraded us to a larger unit at the Islander! We had a gorgeous Ocean Front Unit, couldn't have been better! Spent 3 days there then moved to a different timeshare condo away from the Hotel Zone. It couldn't compare to the Royal Resorts. We would have much rather stayed at the Islander for our whole vacation even though the other condo was newer, the beach just can't compare! We love the Royal Resorts so much, our home away from home!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2014

If you like:

- Getting unrequested early morning calls from the front desk to pitch you activities

- Breathing sweet diesel smog from jet skis right in front of your hotel's beach (which is a BIG turn off since the beach itself is amazing)

- Having your meal brought by a waiter who is sweating profusely since he is the only one serving the whole restaurant (and it's not understaffed, 3 other waiters are around doing nothing)

- Hearing "NO" as the first answer to ANY request. Examples: Can I have some ice? "NO...wait, yes but it will be 30 pesos. Can you turn on the lights on the tennis court? "NO ... wait, yes, but I'll tell you all our internal rules before I do so." You guys had different/better tortillas yesterday? "NO, they are the same ... oh wait, yes, turns out we changed them." Can you do something about the jet skis? "NO ... wait, yes but I'll do so half heartedly and that will not change anything. After all, these are my buddies working on the beach."

...then don't think twice, this is the place for you!

To be fair the food is good (not great) and the tennis courts are in decent shape and always available.

- Did I mention they do not clean the rooms on Sunday? (not mine, not yours, not anyone's - it's hotel policy. I'm serious)

Cheers
Adrian

Room Tip: Ask for the ones with King size beds if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mocorocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tea, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

everyone was so friendly. the staff is top notch...... the beach is amazing and the pools were also kept very clean and beautiful. I would highly recommend this facility to anyone traveling with a spouse or a family. we were there during spring break and we had no problem with noise. we really enjoyed the pottery painting as well. gave us something to do in the rain. also it was nice to be able to go use the other royal resorts and eat their if we deserved.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brenda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This was our 3rd stay at the Royal Islander. I can't say enough about the fantastic staff and the services they provide. Plus you have everything you need to make your stay the best ever. If you want to stay at the beach all day, there is a bar on the beach and waiters will bring you drinks and/or food without having to leave your chair! If you want to stay at the pool, the same service is available. There are several restaurants for sit down meals, and numerous gift shops in the neighboring Royal Carribbean Resort. Overall, an excellent place to spend your vacation for relaxing in the sun.

Room Tip: Haven't stayed in a room that wasn't a "good" room so far. We've never had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We have been coming to the Royal Resorts for many years,it is a place that offers you the flexibility of either making something to eat in your unit or walking over to the restaurant on the property. When you have kids this is truly a beneficial option. I have never had any problematic encounters with the staff at the Royals they are always very pleasant and eager to assist. I did have some sadness on this trip , walking over to the Royal Mayan now Emporium and remembering the fun that was once had there.

Room Tip: The complete unit will sleep 6 people very comfortably
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henik99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Minnesota
Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

This was our second Royal Resort visit. We originally had reservations at the Royal Resort and they overbooked there rooms so they moved us to the Islander. We still would have prefered the Royal, however the Islander was beautiful, dispite the large size and heavy surf. Well off the the main road so it was difficult to use the buses, which we liked. As we expected the service was fantastic, thank you Lloyd and Freddy, you guys saved my happy week!!!

Room Tip: Confirm room availability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.2 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
5.0 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
4.9 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Royal Caribbean
The Royal Caribbean
#36 of 175 in Cancun
1,995 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Islander All Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Islander All Suites Resort

Property: The Royal Islander All Suites Resort
Address: Kukulcan Boulevard Km 17.5 L-51 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cancun
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#27 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Islander All Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Islander(R)is nestled on the beach and offers enchanting views of the Caribbean and the Nichupte Lagoon. Seek a moment of solitude at sunrise and enjoy blissful hours in the warm sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Vacatia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Islander All Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Islander Hotel Cancun
Royal Islander Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing