We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great property!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Islander All Suites Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Royal Islander All Suites Resort
Ranked #37 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chico, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great property!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Royal Islander is such a beautiful property. The beaches are gorgeous, the water is warm, the pools are clean and cool--who could ask for anything more! Food on the property and adjoinging Royals is tasty and the staff is wonderful...they go over and above to make you happy. Good choice for a relaxing week or two!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmmaChico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    952
    492
    158
    60
    53
See reviews for
651
574
52
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Always a great stay but the internet service is terrible. I have stayed here before and never had problems, but this time was the worst. I know we were on vacation but sometimes you have to get in touch with business and family.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Parkie7560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Accommodations were luxurious, spacious with a view of the Gulf of Mexico. Many activities that were included in your rental fee - sail boats, snorkel equipment, games, classes. No need to carry cash as everything was chargeable to your room by guest. Since I was staying with friends each of us could keep track of our spending and pay separately at the end.

Activities outside of the resort was also coordinated by a travel service in the hotel. You get the best value for your excursion. We went to coco loco( don't miss this if you're a music lover). We had the best location in the club and payed a reduced rate $50 which included transport to venue. We. We're seated in a upgraded location which would have cost $120 if purchased outside of the hotel.

I highly recommend the Royal Resorts.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janncameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
133 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is a timeshare I own, and it never disappoints. Something for everyone. Can be as busy and active as
you want or just hang around the resort and local environs. Staff always helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Request one close to pool, floor 4 or 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry0106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
youngstown,ohio
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

The royal Islander in my opinion is a bit smaller than the other Royals, but that's the way we like it. Very spacious villas, updated furniture in 4834, overlooking the beach was great. Willy the pool waiter is fantastic to watch, he almost runs waiting on everyone and is always smiling and joking, best employee the Islander has. I must say though if this resort changes over to all-inclusive in 2013 then so sad that we will not be back. We're hoping it doesn't work!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We just returned from our stay at the Royal Islander; my brother-in-law said he had a week at another Interval International resort that he could not use that would expire by November l. We said that could use it and would like to find someplace warm where we could scuba dive and snorkel-they found the Royal Islander and we were ready to go although that was our first time to use one of these time-shares.
Every positive that previous visitors have listed is correct; lots of variety for restaurants that are quite good and 'theme nights' add variety; staff was unfailingly attentive and responsive and our unit was well-looked after. On-site activities are limited but there is nothing wrong with 'vegging out' for a while. The on-site travel agent helped with diving and snorkel and the trips were to terrific sites where we saw good coral in shallow depths and I saw gorgeous stuff at 45'-50', some of the best I have seen among my dives around the world. (I suspect we went with a very knowledgeable operation because they also had some savvy folks from AZ on the boat with us.)
The rooms are generous, with marble floors, high ceilings, all together very comfortable and well fitted out. Only inconvenience is the resort's request to keep the AC on all the time to avoid condensation-reasonable- but then you miss the sound of the ocean.
There was modest sales pressure but low and friendly; they had an opportunity to buy a week for modest money for 10 years so we said, 'wouldn't it be nice to come here next year?' And bought.

Room Tip: All the 1 BR units are laid out the same, large, well equipped and well laid out, with the potential...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rickh02458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

The Royal Islander is very nice. All employees are extremely friendly. We have been staying at the Royal Resorts since the mid 1980's. I love all the resorts. I have never been disappointed. Can't wait until next year. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zadelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.3 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
5.0 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
4.9 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
0.1 mi away
The Royal Caribbean
The Royal Caribbean
#38 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
1.2 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Islander All Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Islander All Suites Resort

Property: The Royal Islander All Suites Resort
Address: Kukulcan Boulevard Km 17.5 L-51 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cancun
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#29 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Islander All Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Islander(R)is nestled on the beach and offers enchanting views of the Caribbean and the Nichupte Lagoon. Seek a moment of solitude at sunrise and enjoy blissful hours in the warm sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Vacatia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Royal Islander All Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Islander Hotel Cancun
Royal Islander Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing