We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Royal Islander All Suites Resort
Ranked #34 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed July 12, 2011

This was a last minute timeshare exchange and we didn't regret going to The Royal.
We had a two bedroom ocean front room. It was breathtaking. The rooms were clean and spacious, with housekeeping coming everyday except sunday.

This resort is connected to The Royal Caribbean and The Royal Mayan which is nice because is a quick walk to the other restaurants, shops, cafe, pools and markets (mini grocery store). The prices at the resorts were reasonable and at the Caribbean they have take out which they will deliver to your room.

They do put a hold a your credit card for a set amount. This is so you are able to just use your key card throughout the resort without having to carry cash.

The beach was beautiful with plenty of chair and umbrella for all and a waiter available to take your drink orders. The view was like a post card. Best of all their wasn't to many vendors and the few that were around were not pushy. The pools are big and not very crowded again with many chairs and umbrella. The only thing was that the last day it rain and the pool had bugs and wasn't very clean.

We traveled with two teen girls (17 and 14) and they really didn't have activities that they were interested in. We have been to another resort in Puerto Vallarta and they had a lot of organized activities to keep the whole family entertained. We didn't have that with The Royal resorts.

Overall it was a very relaxing and beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lizard316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,095
    538
    173
    70
    65
See reviews for
749
655
60
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We rented a villa for one week at the beginning of July. Our group included adults, two teenagers, and two children under five. Everyone of us had a great time. The villa was very clean, and we were fortunate to have been placed in a beachfront location. The bedrooms were spacious, and the kitchen was adequate for a brief stay. We ordered groceries ahead of time, which was nice, but not necessary as the Royal market is not too far of a walk.
The beach area was extremely clean, well set up, the beverage service was top notch, and there were lifeguards on duty. The pool area was also well maintained. There were a couple of days that we didn't leave these two areas, other than to eat.
Overall, the employees were very friendly and helpful. The Front Desk assisted us with dinner reservations and answered any questions we had on finding things to do in Cancun. The main shopping areas are about a 10 minute cab ride away. We ate a spectacular dinner one night at a restaurant called Puerto Madero, and were pleased to learn we were entitled to a 10% discount for reserving a table through Royal Resorts.
I definitely recommend the Royal Islander to anyone going to Cancun.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AT1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

I traveled with my elderly parents (in wheel chairs) and my three adult sisters to Cancun the first week of June. We had a fabulous vacation and would stay at this hotel again. My parents did a time share exchange to this resort. We had not been there before and did not know what to expect other than what we read on the internet. From the moment we booked our trip the entire experience was wonderful. We were able to pre-arrange our transportation from the airport to the hotel. Since we had six in our group we arranged for private transportation for just our family ..which actually saved us money. We paid only $95.00 round trip for all six of us. The hotel staff was very friendly and accomadating. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. One of the best things about the Royal Resorts in Cancun is that they provide Free transportation to and from all 5 of their hotels in Cancun and their restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank One-of-Nine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

I titled my review "a resort a day" because every day we hung out at a different Royal Resorts pool. We roomed at The Islander, but had Royal Caribbean and Royal Mayan right next door, so we visited a resort a day, including Royal Sands which was only further down the strip.
Our stay at Royal Islander was nice, but when we had dinner at Cayo Largo, we were dissapointed. I had the lobster tail and it was very dry and over cooked. My 6 yr. old's hotdog didn't seem cooked thoroughly. Thank God he didn't get sick. During the day the pool food was great and so were the drinks. The service was excellent!
The next day we spent it at Royal Caribbean's pool. The Aquaerobics was soooooooo much fun, very animated and my son enjoyed the pool games at the kid's pool. His face painting at the activity center was awesome. Again service and "hamburgers" were great and plenty. Breakfast at Tradewinds was very good too. Now the service at the "spa" in the Royal Caribbean was HORRIFIC. I had a leg wax, done by a woman who definitely wasn't trained in customer service. She never looked at my face, didn't introduce herself and was extremely slow. The did a horrible job and I had to point out several areas on my left leg she missed. I couldn't show her the areas she missed in my right left because she literally walked out the room. I still gave her a generous US DOLLAR tip to show her what COURTESY was, because she obviously didn't know.
The 3rd day we spent it at Royal Sands. That's where we stayed at 3 yrs ago and that place is PERFECT. The breakfast was divine, we had a lovely day there. My husband at a massage at the spa and was very happy with it.
Our day at the Royal Mayan was good. We had dinner at El Conquistador which was just OK. And the restaurant was empty, which should have told us something, but we thought we'd give it a try.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caramia176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilo_Royal_Resorts, Royal Resorts Community Manager at The Royal Islander All Suites Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Dear Royal Resorts valued guest:

Thank you for taking a moment of your valuable time to write your review. Your comments are very important and help us serve you better.

I'm glad to read you enjoyed your stay at The Royal Islander and had the chance to enjoy a different resort every day. Thank you for the kind comments about the quality of our service.

Regarding your experience at The Roya Caribbean's SPA, rest assured it will be followed up. I've already passed your comments to SPA Management. I hope you give us the chance to make up for it in your next visit.

We appreciate the feedback and hope to see you back soon.

Warm regards,

Camilo Olea
Royal Resorts Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2011

The Royal Islander resort was the best vacation me and my wife have taken since we have been together for the last 26 years. This resort leaves nothing to spare for its guest. The staff displayed the highest professionalism and everything was cleaned daily from hand rails to elevators. The maids were timely, neat and very polite. In fact every staff member was very professional. We were most impressed with our server Hugo from Cayo Largo on the resort. He is the model for a person providing customer service. Concierge full time service was provided but enough information was given during our welcoming brief that we used this service to the very minimum. We enjoyed mingling with the locals and riding the bus for (85 pesos) less than a U.S. Dollar. We made a trip to wally world (Walmart) when we first arrived but that was not really required as we later discovered. Everyday was adventurous and we truly enjoyed the town and the resort. I would truly recommend this group of resorts to anyone visiting Cancun. We truly enjoyed our view of the ocean daily and the bright sun waking us up as it bounced off the beautiful blue ocean. The only setback was the last bus going to the resorts stopped before the last Karoake Bar at the resorts closed. Therefore you were forced to leave early or pay the over priced cab charge for a short cab ride. I wanted for years to go to Cancun and I was not disappointed. Royal Islander and your fellow resorts, keep up the good work. "See you next year." The Ruth's

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRuths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
398 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We have just returned from a week in a villa at the Royal Islander. We were very impressed. Clean and comfortable. We had the best nights sleep! I would also say the restaurants were some of the best we ate at during our whole stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CheshireLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
798 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

This is a great hotel. Yes, the rooms are a little dated, but probably the cleanest hotel I've ever stayed in (the maid cleaned it for over an hour every day).

From what we saw of the Royal resorts, the Islander is definitely the quietest (everyone seemed to be in bed by 9:30 with all the facilities closed by 10:00). It is limited in eating option but Paco's Taco's proved to be one of our best meals during our stay. Plus you can always use the facilities at the other Royal resorts.

The free shuttle service between the resorts is great and would also recommend walking up the beach to the Royal Sands (approx 45mins) and get the shuttle back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UkSil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.2 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
5.0 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
4.9 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
4.8 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
0.1 mi away
The Royal Caribbean
The Royal Caribbean
#36 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Islander All Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Islander All Suites Resort

Property: The Royal Islander All Suites Resort
Address: Kukulcan Boulevard Km 17.5 L-51 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cancun
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#27 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Islander All Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Islander(R)is nestled on the beach and offers enchanting views of the Caribbean and the Nichupte Lagoon. Seek a moment of solitude at sunrise and enjoy blissful hours in the warm sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Islander All Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Islander Hotel Cancun
Royal Islander Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing