We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Cancun
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8,966)
Filter reviews
8,966 results
Traveler rating
4,192
2,895
1,079
430
370
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
4,192
2,895
1,079
430
370
Show reviews that mention
All reviews maria margarita sports bar pizza bar steak asian restaurant quiet pool entertainment staff coco bongo main buffet every other day captain hook specialty restaurants fantastic holiday make reservations ocean view junior suite buffet style
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 8,966 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Cheap price does not worth the horrible room. Don't let the "kids free" fool you. There is no room for more than 2 people on default setup. Even the 2 beds room, has those beds so small, that 2 people can't fit. We had to ask for 2 additional kids beds. The bigger beds are just uncomfortable, springy and jumpy. the smaller beds have 30 years old mattresses, dirty and worn out.
Reception service horrible. I had to replace room key card every day. Asked to talk to the manager - they sent me a guy to my room that didn't talk english.
Towels - probaby 20 years old.
Beds - squeeky. I could hear my neighbours 'making love' every day, 5 minutes in the morning and 5 minutes in the evening.
People smoke in the pool area, no one cares about no smoking near children, but maybe this is country rules, or just not enforced by hotel.

Kids club = let kids watch cartoons, nothing more.

Good - people that you tip then in fact provide good service. Like waiters in the pool or restaurant or lunch area. Food is OK, depends what you like, but not bad. Alcohol same. Stay simple and you be fine.

Room tip: don't fall for "kids free" trap, those rooms should not fit more than 2 people
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank UriRav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear UriR724,

Thank you for your time,

We are sorry that in general your experience with us was not what you expected and that you left our hotel with a totally opposite impression to that which we always try to convey. In RIU we are committed to provide excellent quality products and services to our guests, so we appreciate your comments as they help us improve our services. For this reason, we will share your impressions with the Management team to take actions if needed.

We hope to host you again in one of our worldwide hotels in the future!

Greetings,

Hotel Riu Caribe
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The hotel is always one of the final stops on the transfer from the airport/trips given its position at the end of the resort. So be prepared to be the last of the coach. check in was very easy, after an ardious flight and palaver getting through an extremely busy and seemingly unorganised Cancun airport (make sure you fill out the goods declaration form, there were lots of uninformed travellers who were blocking the arrivals section due to having not filled it out). The lovely staff gave us a cocktail/beer upon arrival, and took care of our bags and delivered them to our rooms very promptly. In the welcome pack you are given your room card, a towel card ( which is exchanged for a towel by the pool, make sure you collect your card once you hand in your towel or you are fined) the wifi password and usual info regarding restaurant times etc.
The room was fine, we had interconnecting rooms as there were four of us, on the 8th floor. Lovely views, the balcony wasn't very wide, just enough for two people to sit on. the room was clean and well presented alas simple and slightly dated but nothing to worry about. Nice big walk in shower and bathroom. A well stocked complimentary mini bar is a plus. A couple of times we were running on empty, I simply phoned down to reception and they sent replenishments up immediately, great service.
The bars were great, with a good selection of drinks and attentive staff. Vincente in the sports bar was incredible! Ysrael who served us to our sunbeds around the pool was equally as fantastic and friendly.
Food was standard all inclusive in the buffet, there is a decent selection and none off it was bad. We also ate in all the select dining outlets, the Chinese 'shangrila' was 'good' the Mexican restaurant was 'excellent' and the steak restaurant was 'very average'. Simple snacks are self served in there snack bar 24/7. The outside snack bar around the pool had a good lunchtime selection. The pizzas from the pizzeria at lunch are ok, takes about 30 mins from order too collection so bare this is mind.
Most off the staff were very friendly and helpful, the only guys I wasn't impressed with were the riu reef tours and excursions staff who operate from the hut around the pool. I booked the jet ski's through them....it broke down! they pulled me in and gave me a different jetski. The waves were fairly bad and it ended up tipping me, by the time i got back on I had only about 5 min ride time. They weren't sympathetic, even though there was no que, time was up so I had wasted 1300 peso on it. they simply laughed at me and got very defensive when I asked for some money back or another go! Very rude, annoying people actually.

We did the chichen itza tour, is a must if its your thing however is a long day, 13 and a half hour so probs not suitable for young children. The island majureres snorkel/catamaran tour we booked was cancelled due to the swell of the ocean, we were promptly refunded. Our V.I.P package for coco bongo was fantastic, table service all night, and an all round brilliant night with an incredible show.

Entertainment in the hotel, I understand how hard the team work and really appreciate everything they did around the pool during the day and the great beach party but their own shows aren't great (miming to grease etc) it is standard in these sorts of hotel to have the ents team do this kind of show but it isn't really entertainment. I will reiterate they were all lovely, hardworking ladies and gentlemen though. the abba show was horrendous with the most bizzare dance troupe. the live rock band were great. live music or karaoke in the lobby most nights but after 10.30 we often found ourselves bored so would head out. You can also use the club at Riu Cancun a short bus ride away, it is a bit more lively.

Buses go from straight out the front of the hotel and service the whole hotel zone for 12 peso. very easy to get to the bars/club, shopping malls, restaurants and other hotels.

Overall it was a good hotel and a very good holiday. Traditional Mexico it is not, totally devoid of any culture, but if you want a relaxing beach holiday in a good hotel to chill, then it will be perfect. (It is of course what you make of it)

p.s just be a bit wary in the pool, I cut my knee quite deep, on the first day on a jagged tile and then again on the last day on my finger! I may have just been incredibly unlucky as no one else did. that being said I did see a chap retiling on several occasions.

Room tip: higher floors for a better room
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LATINITRAVELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear LATINITRAVELS,

Many thanks for your feedback and for trusting in RIU.

On one hand, we are very glad to know that in general you had such a great time with us!

On the other hand, we are disappointed to learn that you found a few inconveniences that brought down your final opinion about us and we would like to apologize for them. We take very seriously your review and we will share it with our Management Team for further consideration.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Hotel Riu Caribe
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Service: AMAZING!!! We did not deal with one staff member that was anything less than incredible. To name drop a few, Ysreal, Augistine, Roberto and Alfredo from the bar team were phenomenal. I travelled with a group of 10 friends, and they always made sure we had a drink in our hands, whether we were sitting pool side or at the beach.

Food: The buffet was good, but the restaurants were amazing [Mexican, Asian and Steakhouse]. They also have a pool-side pizza bar that was delicious, and bring out a taco bar every lunch hour that was also delicious! To say the least, lots of great food options.

Entertainment: Great entertainment! Always had very enthusiastic staff trying to engage everyone for games/shows. To name drop again, Luigi and Paola were above and beyond incredible. Foam party in the pool on Thursdays and beach party Tuesday nights!

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank hayliegibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear hayliegibb,

We are glad you chose to stay at Hotel Riu Caribe. Your positive feedback is gratefully received!

It brings us great joy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Furthermore, we are delighted our staff took excellent care of you and we look forward to sharing your compliments with them all.

It was a pleasure having you staying with us, hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future!

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Caribe
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2020 via mobile

Stayed dec 30th to Jan 8th.Had a wonderful stay at the Riu Caribe, one thing that was missing for the New Years party was a live band!!! Maybe they should of had less party favors and hired a band!!!!Also when I travel to a resort they should of offered us a welcome drink!!!The beach was beautiful and the grounds the entertainment staff were wonderful!!!The waiters and waitress did a excellent job and the bartenders Lots of activity’s threw out the day!!!Towel art every day with flowers in are room with treats!!! I would come back to this resort, but not for New Years!!! I like the size of the resort!!! And how everyone is so friendly!!!!The beach party on Tuesday night are fun and the foam party on Thursdays!!! Great location!!!Nice clam water most of the days!!!Pools were a good temperature!!!Great family resort!!!

Date of stay: December 2019
Thank pam98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear pam98,

Thank you for sharing your outstanding experience with us!

We are delighted to understand that you had a wonderful time during your stay at our Hotel Riu Caribe! We appreciate your kind words and compliments! It was a pleasure to take great care of you!

We hope to host you again in one of our worldwide hotels in the future!

Greetings,

Hotel Riu Caribe
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020

Have been to many resorts and Lots of Rius. Riu Caribe turned out to be a Wonderful stay.
Food, drinks, entertainment, staff all Great.
Can't understand the poor reviewers.
We spent most time enjoying the wonderful beach..Did get drink service on beach 3 days out of 7. Marco was so nice.
All staff were just Great, friendly,polite,and helpful.
Tip them a little, it's well deserved.
Our room was cleaned by a nice lady who left us the special Towel art etc.
We did have an Issue with the room air conditioning, not cooling enough, and it did take 2 days,and trip to the desk, and 2 service men, to Finally get it cooling down. The second Nice young man , finally got it right!!! Think it needed Freon added.
Didn't want to move as happy with the Nice room with good view.
Beds a bit Harder than other Rius, just got foam toppers, as requested.
We only did 2 entertainment shows in the theatre. Mayan night and 3 Tenors. Both OK ,but Over Loud, skipped out on Tenors,sorry, headache.
One night Beach Party and one night a Wedding, agree with others, music far too Loud, but stops by 11 pm.
Only suggestion I would make, is Door off the lower bar to Outside patio ,is left Open letting the wind blow the smoke right into All the Lobby, unpleasant at times.
Thanks to the desk staff, for helping out with the AC issue ! etc. GREAT staff all around.
A wish to say Thank-you to Alejandro G S. For your kind help with room request.
Don't be worried booking Riu Caribe, just Go and Enjoy, we sure did.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank JoLeen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear JoLeen2,

Thank you for taking the time to share a wonderful review about your memorable experience!

We are glad to read that you had an awesome time during your stay! We appreciate your kind words and have taken notes of your few suggestions and will share them with our Management team so that they can take them into consideration!

It was our pleasure to take care of you and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon in one of our worldwide hotels!

King regards,

Hotel Riu Caribe
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews