We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riu Caribe is lots of fun!”
Review of Hotel Riu Caribe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Caribe
Ranked #46 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Riu Caribe is lots of fun!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Rooms good. Beds very hard. Grounds beautiful. Location perfect. Beach is absolutely beautiful! Food good to great! Steak house delicious. Everything included! Servers at great!
Entertainment stafff Awesome! Ceasar, Monica and the rest are great! Would absolutely return!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Fire733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,494
    2,426
    850
    358
    284
See reviews for
1,688
2,894
79
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Me (aged 22) and my boyfriend (aged 19) stayed at the Riu Caribe hotel from the 13th of july 2014 - 27th july 14. Having stayed in the cancun hotel zone multiple times I was slightly sceptical after reading some of the reviews about the hotel before staying there. To my relief the 'faults' with the hotel were nothing more than petty issues that could easily be resolved whilst there as the staff go above and beyond expectations to ensure you are having the most amazing holiday.

On arrival to the hotel, check in was very quick and very informative, bell boys came to take your luggage to your room and there was fresh cocktails waiting for us whilst they did this. Special mention to Angel on front of house as he was especially helpful during our stay with any queries that we had or information we needed to know about.

The room in the thomson brochure does it no justice as the room is absolutely MASSIVE. The bed is huge and our room was on the 6th floor with the most amazing view of the beach and pool which for me was a big part of my holiday experience. The optics are a nice touch and the fridge gets restocked everyday as well as fresh towels and maids clean every single day. The bathroom is so big so two people getting ready at the same time was absolutely fine.

My 22nd birthday was on the 1st day after we arrived, and when entering the room there was a fully decorated room with balloons, a bottle of champagne and a lovely message - all for free which shows that they must really care about their guests.

Food - Breakfast buffet was a typical american buffet breakfast which you could expect similar in all hotels along the cancun hotel zone and was fairly standard but loads of choice everyday so you could never be stuck for something to eat. The lunch and dinner buffets were nice if not a little bit repetitive so my advice would be to just eat out a couple of times at restaurants to have a little break. The a la carte restaurants were the main disappointment however. The only one worth going to is the steak house, as the steaks are huge and the staff have the most friendly attitude towards you and their manners were impeccable. The asian restaurant was food that you could find in the buffet and we dined at 9pm there was no food in the buffet trays - they had simply just not been refilled so I went to bed hungry. The mexican had hostile staff - not very pleasant and clearly did not want to be there, took very long for just a drinks order to be taken so we left with only having tried the starter and this was at the beginning of the evening at 6pm. On a more positive note, the freshly cooked pizzas are amazing and worth the 20 minute wait, and the weekly lunch time bbqs were definitely a favourite for us.

Entertainment team - Let me just say this, they are AMAZING. 20 hours working during the day, 6 days per week and taking the guests on nights out after their 20 hour shift all to do it again the next day with the more bubbly personalities and lovely smiles. you could not fault them. If you do not want to do the activities and prefer a quiet day by the pool there was a quiet pool so i felt like that they had something for everyone. Special mentions go out to Ceasar who is mental but the most fun guy you could ever meet, Carlos, Joeseph and the rest of the team as they all worked so hard with the day time activities, night time shows, and nights out they were such a laugh. will never forget any of them.

Beach - Best beach but obviously you can expect that from being in the cancun hotel zone!! free kayaks and snorkelling equipment so we were never bored!

Bar staff - drinks were amazing!!! definitely the strawberry daquiries and the mojitos they were personal favourites for us but tbf we tried them all! tipping goes a long way so that is something to go by when visiting because they like to know you fully appreciate them which i think is fair.

sports bar - so good, very modern, loads of computers, pool tables, flat screen tvs, hockey tables and late night snacks! snacks were not the best but after a late one at coco bongos everyone is just greatful to have something!!

Overall, the hotel is officially classed as 5* however we felt it is more like 4* due to the a la cartes but everything else made our stay so memorable we will never forget it. we loved it that much we are going back in January 2015!

Anyone wanting to stay at this hotel please take this review for all it is, and don't like minor negatives on other reviews get in the way you will not regret staying here!

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor, we was on the 6th floor and that was PERFECT.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Hannah1359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea County, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2014

When we arrived at the hotel we were disappointed by the 18/30 feel in the activity pool. This hotel is just like the Riu cancun which is being refurbished. I guess everyone going here now for a party hotel. We stayed near the quiet pool all of our holiday as the other is far from relaxing. This one is much better. I agree with others on here the food can get repetitive in the main restaurant but the Asian was amazing. The sunbeds are an issue some are up 6am putting towels on the beds !!!

The beach is beautiful, rooms are clean and fresh and most staff are so helpful and friendly.
Last time we went we stayed at the Riu Palace Las Americanos which is so much better all round for a relaxing 5* experience. I would not return here as it is too much of a party hotel. However I can see hoe this would appeal to many .

Room Tip: Room on the high floors 8 or 9 definitely the best x only drawback is the waiting time for lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Lovely clean hotel and great service by all staff. Overall great food only let down by the Mexican restaurant which you would think should have been the highlight considering it is in Mexico. The only real complaint/annoyance was the hotel had an 18-30 feel about it at times due to the large groups of very rowdy young guys who took full advantage of the all inclusive. We were also unfortunate enough to have a lot of disturbance on our floor in the early hours which was unpleasant. If you are looking for a relaxing holiday this is probably not the hotel for you but as a family of 4, mum and dad in there middle forties and 2 teenagers it ticked all the boxes.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pearcea145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

While in Cancun with my family, I had they time of my life. The service was amazing and I had plenty of chances to practice my Spanish. The workers were friendly and always up for conversation, not to mention they were hilarious. The food and drinks were plentiful and the pools and beaches were always refreshing. My favorite person by far had to be one of the Olympus workers, Diana. Whenever i saw her I had to stop and say hello or even strike up a conversation with her. She was always willing to help me with my Spanish and even sat with me for nearly 30 minutes just practicing with me.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor have good ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We went to the Riu Caribe from July 5th to July 19th 2014 for our wedding. We were there with our kids (11 and 14 yo) and family and friends. The friends and the fanily stayed for 1 week but we stayed for 2 weeks.

Beach:
The beach is really nice without rocks and nicely located. This is probably the nicest beach in Cancun. There were enough chairs for everyone and there were waiters on the beach for drinks and refreshments.

Pool:
The size of the pools was OK and the number of chairs enough for everyone. The access to the bar in the pool could be more difficult some time because it is in a small corner, but generally we were able to have our drinks after less than 3 minutes.

Restaurants a la carte:
There are 3 differents restaurants a la carte. The mexican restaurant is really bad. We tried it twice and we didn't want to return there. The Asian restaurant is really good and there is a huge choice in the menu. The steak house is awesome. It is nicely located along the beach (go there after 8pm when it is dark). The steak, the ribs and the chicken is really good. We did our wedding dinner at this restaurant.

Buffet:
The buffet meals are rotating and you don't feel to eat the same thing every day. The food is really good.

Beach restaurant:
Really good for fast eating. Limited choices.

Pizzeria:
Good pizza but really slow service. You can wait more than 30 minutes to have your pizza.

Alcool and drinks:
They serve Dos Equis on tap and it is a good beer. The red wine is ok but not fabulous. We didn't like the white wine. The sparling wime was good. There are a lot of different drinks and everyday they have the Drink of the Day.

Rooms:
Our room was big, clean and nice. We had 3 bedrooms and a section with a small table. Our family and friends got really bad rooms in the basement which were old and small. People in the basement are loud and don't respect other guests during the night. Some of our family and friends asked to change room and the hotel relocated them in really nice room with double balcony and really nice view on the ocean.

People working at the hotel:
In general the people working at the hotel are nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room at the upper levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yannick_Rouette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Riu caribe in June for 2 weeks on a girls holiday! The hotel was fantastic, the rooms were very clean and tidy. The view was amazing and the bathroom was huge! The beds were comfortable and the room was cleaned everyday!
The pool area was fab and the entertainment staff were lovely, the pool was quite noisy which suited us fine however there was a quieter part of the pool for those who wanted it.
The food was nice there was a Mexican restaurant, which wasnt the best however the Asian restaurant and steak restaurant was lovely! The main buffet room was amazing plenty of variety each night.
The staff were helpful, the entertainment team were fab and the nights out were brilliant value for money!
The only downfall for us was there was no air con in the hotel lobby which we spent a fair amount of time in and the lifts were very slow and stopped at every floor even if there was nobody there!
Overall the hotel was fantastic we are already planning our next trip back next year!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
3.3 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#42 of 175 in Cancun
641 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Cancun
Hotel Riu Cancun
#32 of 175 in Cancun
9,853 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#25 of 175 in Cancun
3,107 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oasis Palm
Oasis Palm
#75 of 175 in Cancun
2,830 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#49 of 175 in Cancun
3,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Caribe

Property: Hotel Riu Caribe
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan, Km 5.5, Lote 6-C | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Cancun
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#36 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Caribe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cancun's resort area. 9-Story building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 3 Km. /1.9 Miles from a shopping center. 4,5 Km/2.5 Miles from downtown Cancun. 21 Km/13.1 Miles to Cancun Int'l. Airport. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Caribe Real Cancun
Grand Caribe Cancun
Grand Caribe Real Cancun
Riu Caribe Resort Cancun
Riu Caribe Cancun Mexico
Riu Caribe Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing