We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great hotel with a fantastic entertainments team.”
Review of Hotel Riu Caribe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Caribe
Ranked #47 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Helston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great hotel with a fantastic entertainments team.”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Lovely clean hotel and great service by all staff. Overall great food only let down by the Mexican restaurant which you would think should have been the highlight considering it is in Mexico. The only real complaint/annoyance was the hotel had an 18-30 feel about it at times due to the large groups of very rowdy young guys who took full advantage of the all inclusive. We were also unfortunate enough to have a lot of disturbance on our floor in the early hours which was unpleasant. If you are looking for a relaxing holiday this is probably not the hotel for you but as a family of 4, mum and dad in there middle forties and 2 teenagers it ticked all the boxes.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pearcea145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,469
    2,405
    847
    357
    284
See reviews for
1,672
2,871
78
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

While in Cancun with my family, I had they time of my life. The service was amazing and I had plenty of chances to practice my Spanish. The workers were friendly and always up for conversation, not to mention they were hilarious. The food and drinks were plentiful and the pools and beaches were always refreshing. My favorite person by far had to be one of the Olympus workers, Diana. Whenever i saw her I had to stop and say hello or even strike up a conversation with her. She was always willing to help me with my Spanish and even sat with me for nearly 30 minutes just practicing with me.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor have good ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We went to the Riu Caribe from July 5th to July 19th 2014 for our wedding. We were there with our kids (11 and 14 yo) and family and friends. The friends and the fanily stayed for 1 week but we stayed for 2 weeks.

Beach:
The beach is really nice without rocks and nicely located. This is probably the nicest beach in Cancun. There were enough chairs for everyone and there were waiters on the beach for drinks and refreshments.

Pool:
The size of the pools was OK and the number of chairs enough for everyone. The access to the bar in the pool could be more difficult some time because it is in a small corner, but generally we were able to have our drinks after less than 3 minutes.

Restaurants a la carte:
There are 3 differents restaurants a la carte. The mexican restaurant is really bad. We tried it twice and we didn't want to return there. The Asian restaurant is really good and there is a huge choice in the menu. The steak house is awesome. It is nicely located along the beach (go there after 8pm when it is dark). The steak, the ribs and the chicken is really good. We did our wedding dinner at this restaurant.

Buffet:
The buffet meals are rotating and you don't feel to eat the same thing every day. The food is really good.

Beach restaurant:
Really good for fast eating. Limited choices.

Pizzeria:
Good pizza but really slow service. You can wait more than 30 minutes to have your pizza.

Alcool and drinks:
They serve Dos Equis on tap and it is a good beer. The red wine is ok but not fabulous. We didn't like the white wine. The sparling wime was good. There are a lot of different drinks and everyday they have the Drink of the Day.

Rooms:
Our room was big, clean and nice. We had 3 bedrooms and a section with a small table. Our family and friends got really bad rooms in the basement which were old and small. People in the basement are loud and don't respect other guests during the night. Some of our family and friends asked to change room and the hotel relocated them in really nice room with double balcony and really nice view on the ocean.

People working at the hotel:
In general the people working at the hotel are nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room at the upper levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yannick_Rouette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Riu caribe in June for 2 weeks on a girls holiday! The hotel was fantastic, the rooms were very clean and tidy. The view was amazing and the bathroom was huge! The beds were comfortable and the room was cleaned everyday!
The pool area was fab and the entertainment staff were lovely, the pool was quite noisy which suited us fine however there was a quieter part of the pool for those who wanted it.
The food was nice there was a Mexican restaurant, which wasnt the best however the Asian restaurant and steak restaurant was lovely! The main buffet room was amazing plenty of variety each night.
The staff were helpful, the entertainment team were fab and the nights out were brilliant value for money!
The only downfall for us was there was no air con in the hotel lobby which we spent a fair amount of time in and the lifts were very slow and stopped at every floor even if there was nobody there!
Overall the hotel was fantastic we are already planning our next trip back next year!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

The staff is courteous and the hotel is clean. Those are the highlights. The amenities are limited, the hotel is college spring break all inclusive budget friendly/very basic. The restaurant seating system is poorly organized, no one tells you that you'll be forced to eat at the general buffet for five days if you don't book your dinner arrangements upon arrival. We had to get management involved because the restaurant reservations are booked up days in advance. Although there are several theme restaurants, the food is pretty much recycled food from the general lunch restaurant. The spa leaves much to desire, again staff was great, but it looks like a high school locker room, overpriced considering the lack of amenities. Save your money and book a room at the Riu Palace (sister hotel) down the street. We walked over and requested a tour, the managed obliged our group.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

I was in cancun mexico. I enjoyed every moment.
excellent customer service, friendly staff and very accomdating to all needs. plenty of shows and live bands for entertainment.
The food was presented well and fresh. The drinks were plentiful. THe room was nice, pretty, roomy, full stocked bar with tequila which is refilled every 2 days.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank K. L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have just returned from an amazing stay at the Riu Caribe! On arrival, we were given beer/pina coladas which was great and the reception staff were really helpful.

We weren't happy with the room we were originally given - it had 2 single beds instead of a king size but the main problem was its location overlooking the lobby bar - it was very noisy day and night. We asked to be moved and they didn't have a room available that day but we were moved 2 nights later to a room on the 8th floor. There was much less noise up here and the views were amazing! So request a room higher up for brilliant views and less noise. The rooms are lovely and very clean with comfy beds. We were told our minibar would be filled every second day but if we were running low on something it was topped up more frequently.

The food was lovely - don't listen to anyone saying there was limited variety at the buffet restaurant, that's nonsense. There was a huge variety every night from meats to fish to pastas to stews and a carvery section with 2 choices every night, as well as a large selection of salads and vegetables. There was always burgers, chips, pizzas, hot dogs etc for anyone a bit more fussy. And there was a lovely selection of desserts every night. We also ate at all the specialty restaurants. Our favourite was the steakhouse - the steaks were massive and really tasty.

There was a wide selection of drinks and you could get branded spirits if you asked for them. There's a huge cocktail list and they are all brilliant!

The pool area is lovely, although the pool does get quite warm by the afternoon. If you want to cool off the sea is better option! If you want a particular spot around the main pool you have to get up early, but some days we didn't go down until 11 and managed to get a sunbed by the quieter pool with an umbrella - there are always plenty of sunbeds round there so not a problem if you want a lie in. There is also plenty of space on the beach.

The entertainment staff are great. They work so hard trying to make everyone have a good holiday. They run activities from around 9.30 and also work on the entertainment at night before taking those who want to go on nights out into Cancun! If you are keen to go on a night out, this is the best way to do it. You get transport into town, queue skip and a private area with waiter service. Our favourite was The City. Coco Bongo is also definitely worth a visit! DON'T get a taxi home. Just hop on one of the buses sitting in town, there was one there every time we left a club. Tell the driver you want to go to Riu Caribe and he will stop at the right stop. It only costs 10 pesos each, so much cheaper than a taxi!

All in all after a slightly rocky start with our room we had an absolutely brilliant stay here. We didn't want to come home!

Room Tip: Away from the lobby bar - the higher up the better but level 5 or above is fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
3.3 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#42 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Cancun
Hotel Riu Cancun
#32 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,784 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
5.1 mi away
Great Parnassus Family Resort
6.6 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#25 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Caribe

Property: Hotel Riu Caribe
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan, Km 5.5, Lote 6-C | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Cancun
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#36 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Caribe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cancun's resort area. 9-Story building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 3 Km. /1.9 Miles from a shopping center. 4,5 Km/2.5 Miles from downtown Cancun. 21 Km/13.1 Miles to Cancun Int'l. Airport. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, RIU Hotels and Resorts, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Caribe Real Cancun
Grand Caribe Cancun
Grand Caribe Real Cancun
Riu Caribe Resort Cancun
Riu Caribe Cancun Mexico
Riu Caribe Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing