We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Caribe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Riu Caribe
Ranked #44 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Rosemount, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We just returned home after a wonderful vacation at the Riu Caribe. The hotel from the rooms and bathrooms, to the pool and beach area was kept impeccably clean. We ate mostly at the buffet and the food was very good. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and we will definitely return next year! I read some reviews about the elevators not working properly but that was not the case for us. They worked wonderful and very quickly every time. We were on the 5th floor and the view was stunning. Fun, fun vacation and the water is the most amazing aqua blue.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Terra Maehren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,397
    2,357
    822
    353
    277
See reviews for
1,624
2,801
76
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warren
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

The Riu Caribe was an excellent experience. We were 3 couples that vacationed here the first week in February 2014. The staff was courteous and friendly. Rooms were clean and bright. Washrooms were clean, large and modern with large walk in showers. The beach was superior to the adjacent beaches which had a lot of rock, but our beach was great. We always found enough chairs by the pool or beach but later in the morning it was more of a challenge as in any resort, people tend to save loungers early in the morning. There was a large pool that tended to have more noise and activities but there is also a quiet pool for those who want to relax. We did not try the Mexican Restaurant but that was mostly because we had great experiences at the Oriental and Steak Restaurants which we visited 2wice each. It should be noted that all room pretty much face the ocean but we paid extra to book Oceanview and had a more central room with a better view. We were also on the 5th floor which gave us a great view. The only 2 small complaints we had were the elevators were hot and did not work fast or well. The South elevators we gave up on as they never ever took us to the floor we requested. The resort also became quiet at night, the entertainment was good but ended about 10 pm and the lights went out in the main lobby at midnight. There was no disco or dancing and they encouraged you to take a ride to a selected club each night but these cost $40 to $80. Good job Riu Caribe!!

Room Tip: Forth floor and up had better ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimmyCricket22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Just back from 2 weeks stay at this hotel and not impressed, evening entertainment poor, no where quiet to sit in the evening and no where to dance,room average, no bath or tea and coffee making facilities, hotel noisy day and night mainly due to drunken spring breakers, manager Marek Vancek informed us that the hotel do send a warning letter to anyone caught making noise after 11pm, only problem with this is they did not appear to have any security on our floor , which meant we we're woken between 2am and 5am night after night even after speaking to the manager who appeared totally uninterested and unsympathetic to our distress. On the positive side the food was good the hotel was very clean and most of the staff were very helpful .

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank anitaNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed for 5 days in mid March. We didn’t have the best time, to say the least. Upon arrival, the staff at the front desk wasn’t very welcoming or enthusiastic. We didn’t receive welcome drinks or cold towels as we have in the past at other Rius. As mentioned in a few previous reviews, there were large groups of spring breakers that were inconsiderate and obnoxious to staff and other guests, with no consequences whatsoever for their rude behavior.
My boyfriend and I accidentally left out personal belongings under our chair at the pool and came back 10 minutes after it closed to find everything was cleaned up already. We went to the front desk and asked for everything. They had my dress, sandals, and sunglasses. However, we were told my boyfriend’s clothes, backpack with all our things in it, and sunglasses (which were all with my things by the pool) were never “turned in”. That was very shady to us and we felt very disheartened. That same night, we tried to go to sleep around 9:30 to get an early start the next day, but that was not possible. Music was blasting from outside so loud it sounded like it was inside of our room. It was coming from the Peninsula next door, which I imagine had a wedding going on. The music was finally turned down at 11:00pm and even then we could still hear it and there was still a considerable amount of noise from guests both outside and inside our hotel. Just a word of advice, if you want peace and quiet, this is not the resort for you.
The food in the buffet was just average and it seemed that everything was cold or at best room temperature, except for the French fries which is mostly what I ate. We did visit the Riu Cancun and the food there was much, much better. Reservations to the restaurants were very easy to get. We went to the steakhouse on our second night there and after my boyfriend ate his steak, he immediately felt his stomach bloat. The next morning, he was in severe stomach pain and had food poisoning. The last 2 1/2 days of our vacation were spent in bed because he was feeling so terrible. When I told the front desk, they asked our room number and recommended the pharmacy next door, but they did nothing.
With all the bad things we experienced, of course there were fantastic things that must be mentioned as well! We had a corner Jr. Suite room, which has a huge double balcony with amazing views. I highly recommend paying for the upgrade! Most of the staff members at the bars, restaurants, and buffet were wonderful and worked so hard, always with a smile on their face. The last few days that I had to eat lunch and dinner alone, they were so nice and made me feel very special. The cleaning staff is also amazing and our room and the whole hotel in general was always spotless! The drinks were delicious and definitely strong despite what other reviewers have said. The pool and beach are beyond beautiful! And even though seaweed washes up on the beach, there is always someone with a shovel and wheelbarrow trying to collect it all.
At check-out, the staff was still unenthusiastic and did not ask us how our stay was, which I have never not been asked at any hotel I’ve ever stayed at. On the bus transfer to the airport, we had a conversation with a group of girls who said they also got very sick from the food. All in all, I would not stay here again. I could imagine it being a considerably more pleasant experience if we were not there during spring break season though. We walked around and inside of the Riu Palace Peninsula next door and it was very nice and also seemed to be more calming and relaxing, so I would recommend staying there instead. There are some redeeming qualities of the Riu Caribe, but definitely not enough to compare to other resorts we have stayed at or could have stayed at.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful time. The staff is awesome. Everyone works so hard to make your stay pleasant. The food at the buffet is great. The restaurants are just ok so don't worry if you can't get a reservation.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank tame0715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed here for 2 weeks at the start of March. A lovely hotel which offers sea view rooms to everyone. It is located a litle way from the centre of the hotel zone but the shops, bars, clubs and discos can be easily and cheaply reached by bus. Very clean throughout the complex. Good sized rooms. All restaurants offered an excellent menu range which was well prepared. In addition to the main buffet there are 3 specialty restaurants (Steak, Asian and Mexican) which should all be visited. Bookings are required for these but we had no problem getting in on the days we wanted to (provided that we were flexible on the times). The hotel also has an excellent quiet pool (with its own bar) if you want to get away from the fun and games in the main pool. The lobby bar (which includes a secondary entertainment stage) is large but has poor acoustics so was very noisy especially in the evenings (even when there was no entertainment on!). There is a sports bar which was quieter but lacked any character. In my view the hotel would benefit from the introduction of a quiet lounge/bar. Being at this hotel during spring break there were many groups of young people who were rowdy with some being inconsiderate to fellow holiday makers, including in the early hours of the morning with excessive noise and door banging disturbing people's sleep. We also witnessed some being seriously worse for wear through alcohol. Okay, the hotel cannot be held responsible for the attitudes of its guests (hence still getting a very good score from me) but it chooses to allow such groups and I saw no evidence of it discouraging inappropriate behaviour (despite what it says on its own website).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevinoutandabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Had a lovely week at the Riu Caribe early March - just at the start of the spring break season.
Beautiful hotel with fantastic views and an amazing beach. Lots of activities laid on by hotel for Spring Breakers but plenty of space to relax and avoid these if you want to. Food was excellent and all serving staff were friendly. The choice in main buffet restaurant "Albatross" was amazingI everyone should be able to find something to suit their taste. Weather was very good during our stay even though we had one day of horrendous thunderstorms and monsoon rain. Lots of excursions available for the adventurous but we were happy chillin' out on the beach + by pools. Superb!
May be a bit more manic as the Spring Break season progresses though..

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have a beautiful sea view. Corner rooms see to have larger sunny balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank htfleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
3.5 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#41 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Cancun
Hotel Riu Cancun
#29 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,598 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
5.1 mi away
Great Parnassus Family Resort
0.7 mi away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#49 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Caribe

Property: Hotel Riu Caribe
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan, Km 5.5, Lote 6-C | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Cancun
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#34 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Caribe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cancun's resort area. 9-Story building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 3 Km. /1.9 Miles from a shopping center. 4,5 Km/2.5 Miles from downtown Cancun. 21 Km/13.1 Miles to Cancun Int'l. Airport. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone and Reservation Counter so you can book your Hotel Riu Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Caribe Real Cancun
Grand Caribe Cancun
Grand Caribe Real Cancun
Riu Caribe Resort Cancun
Riu Caribe Cancun Mexico
Riu Caribe Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing