We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Caribe
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Dos Playas Beach House(Cancun)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Oasis Palm(Cancun)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Oasis Palm(Cancun)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (7,902)
Filter reviews
7,902 results
Traveler rating
3,715
2,593
923
371
300
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,715
2,593
923
371
300
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaria margaritasports barpizza barasian restaurantsteakentertainment staffquiet poolcoco bongothe fried ice creammain buffetevery other daymake reservationsspecialty restaurantscaptain hookfantastic holidayocean viewjunior suite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,105 - 2,110 of 7,902 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The beach was the best part of this resort. That said, many areas need improvement. We arrived and were booked into a room on the 5th floor. We quickly learned that one bank of elevators were not consistently working and when they did work we discovered the elevator would not stop at the 5th floor. Meaning we always had to walk at least one flight of stairs and at worst 5 flights (the stair well is not well maintained- very industrial). I brought this to the attention of the front desk and their response was, "Yeah, we know. It has been broken for three months". We were not offered to switch rooms nor were we offered any compensation for the inconvenience.

Upon check in we were told that we had to make dinner reservations the following morning. I arrived at 6:45am to a line in the lobby. The reservation desk opened at 7am. When it was my turn the lady behind the desk told me they had nothing for the that night and only one reservation the following. This was slightly annoying but understand. However, when I arrived again the following morning to book for the next two days I was again told there was nothing available. I was further frustrated when we arrived at our first reservation and noticed an abundance of empty tables! It seems although the resort intentionally limits the number of dinner reservations to force people to eat at the buffet. We were able to secure reservations at each place (with some greasing of palms); however, we were disappointed because two out of the three places were simply themed buffets.

We were also sorely disappointed with the housekeeping. The lamp in our room was broken and never repaired. Our soap was not replenished on a daily basis. And often our room was not fully cleaned (the shower had piles of sand, the bed was not fully made, etc.).

Overall, for the price paid this resort did not meet our expectations. We would not return.

Room Tip: Check which elevators are working before booking!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rchriste170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I agree with all the lengthy reviews of this resort. Excellent particularly the hard working entertainment crew. But , Do not, Do not purchase a ticket for all you can drink at Seniour Frogs or any other disco. At Seniour Frogs there was no dance floor to speak of and they only would serve us beer. Waist of $50.00 per person. Other discos , Cobra, same no dancing...I suggest you go to the discos by bus, 1 buck American for the ride and drop into them till you find a spot you like.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dani GL G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We just got back from a fabulous week at the Riu Caribe. Let me begin with the highlights, then comment on other aspects of the resort.

The beach and pool are really fabulous and special. We have been to 6 different Mexican resorts and this beach was likely the 2nd best. The beach area is wide and roomy (unlike some where the sandy area is only 30 feet wide - here it was over 100 feet wide). Unlike the Riu Peninsula next door, the sandy beach area runs the full property width. The sand was white and soft, like walking in sugar. It never got too hot to walk on. There are a lot of palapas to provide shade, and lots of beach chairs. (However, to get a shaded chair, you pretty well have to mark your spot with personal items before 8 AM. The hotel officially frowns on this but it is very common - most people mark there chairs on the way to breakfast.) The water is the same everywhere in Cancun as the ocean temperature is fairly constant, but here the swimming area is clearly marked by buoys and lines to keep boats away. The is a lot of boat traffic with noisy horns from the Captain Hook ship's advertising, to wave-riders, etc. The water was very calm all week, with only tiny waves, so great for swimming but lousy if you want use use a boogey board. The ocean bottom is mostly soft sand, with just one small easily visible rocky area that can be avoided. The staff keeps the beach clean each day from seaweed, and is reasonable with taking drink orders for the all-inclusive guests. So, all in all, excellent beach.

The pool area is also quite good - large and has quite a few shady chairs. There are a few palapas and a fair number of palm trees around the pool. Again, the shady spots have to be claimed by 8AM. There are basically 2 pools - a rather plain but nice adult pool on the east side and the larger lagoon style pool where most activities take place. The activities staff are really trying hard to get people to get involved and have some success. This is not a wild party place, but it is not a sleep in the shade all day place either. The pools have no deep sections - mostly about 4 feet deep with middle areas up to the necks of shorter adults. It is attractive and with good ocean views, and a restaurant/swim-up bar nearby.

No water sports included in all-inclusive, but many people were using the various stuff the contracted company provided - not sure about price as we didn't use them.

Decor - Think white. Most of the halls, lobby areas, rooms, restaurants, ect have a basic color scheme of white. The halls are all white tiles (looks like fake marble) so they echo a bit when party crowd arrives at 4 AM. There are nice accents for colour but everything looks quite light and open. We visited the sister property (Riu Cancun) one day and it has a dark wooden decor which is quite different, but we liked the Caribe.

Cleanliness - This had to be the cleanest place we have stayed at in Mexico. The staff were always washing floors, the pool decks, tables tops and everything else. No garbage lingers long in hallways. No tables stay littered with empty glasses for long. So, it makes for a good clean feeling everywhere on the property.

Restaurants: The main buffet restaurant is fine - nothing special, but good. The staff are good at filling your drinks, and clearinga way dirty plates. We recommend trying the outdoor tables for fresh breezes and ocean views. It is a bit farther to walk for re-filling your plates, but worth it. The food is all good quality and good variety but not super special - just standard good food.
The steak restaurant is by the beach, and was good. The steak is not like Alberta beef (where I live) but you can't expect that in Mexico.
We enjoyed the Mexican restaurant better, for food that seems Mexican to us. It is mostly buffet with a served main plate.
We didn't get to the Asian restaurant, so see other reviews for that.

Checkin/out; This had to be the easiest checkin/out we have had in Mexico. It helps that we were the only couple from our plane arriving, so unlike Huatulco, we did not have 40 people arriving al at once. The main desk handled quickly my requests to change 100 peso note to 20's that I could use for tipping staff. Note they do not handle currency exchange of US dollars, so best to get pesos before you leave home and get the front desk to switch to smaller bills.

Sunwing reps: We had good service, and there seemed to be a rep there most of the day so easy to catch them. They handled a re-booking of a tour when my wife was sick one day. No problem.

Rooms: Large, bright rooms, with tile floors. Bathrooms large with huge shower (can have 3 or 4 people in there if you want to party!). All rooms have a small balcony. Anything above 3rd floor gets good ocean view - likely worth the extra $100 a week. We were on 1st floor so only could see a tiny bit of ocean from our balcony, but we didn't have to wait for elevators. I didn't hear too many complaints about elevators, so likely not as bad os some places. Mini fridge is stocked and you have 4 bottles of booze in the room - all included. Note the large water bottles they provide and bring some small bottles to transfer the water if you want to take it anywhere. The water in the taps is listed as unsafe, so don't foget to use the water they provide in the fridge.

Entertainment: Mediocre. Some shows were good, some poor. We liked the Maya experience where guys dressed up in ancient head-dress battle gear and hard-danced the various Mayan war-dances.

Location: Not in the busy shopping area, but only a short 10 peso ride away, or about 45 minutes on foot. Only 10 minute walk to the Isla Mujeres ferry - bring U.S. money for the ferry as they provide a good exchange rate (since they advertize in US dollars)

Overall, a really good place and reasonably cheap for a 4.5 star place. Not 5 stars but pretty close and comfortable. The staff were superb.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies, but ocean view above 3rd floor, likely worth getting for extra price.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank will-from-Calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Check in was very smooth & quick, angel & the entertainment team were great.
Room was nice, pool area & beach lovely. We got sunbeds everyday, but had to be up at 6.30am to get them.
Food in buffet was good. We were disappointed with the steak & Mexican restaurants, but enjoyed the Asian. (We have visited riu in Aruba & restaurants were amazing, so have probably been spoiled.)
All staff we came into contact were lovely in the bars, cleaners, waiters etc.
Wifi for 90 mins was fine, and fairly quick. Lifts were a bit of a pain, but the ones away from restaurants were reliable & fine.
The bell boys were great & recommended a lovely restaurant in downtown la parrilla lovely Mexican. Overall a good hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Holidaygirl7779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We just returned from a fun vacation at this resort. If your looking for a great value...nice beach this is it. It's kept very clean and Modern. Riu caribe has the nicest beach out of all the cancun Riu's, it is not full of rocks or super small. Plenty of chairs for all to use. The pools are nice ,one with a swim up bar. There are 4 other restaurants. There is a pool restaurant, Asian, Mexican and a steakhouse. The steakhouse is the only one that serves you..the rest are technically buffets. The restaurants are okay with the steakhouse being in our opinion the best. However on the buffets there is always something good to eat and sometimes the same things are like the restaurants . No one got sick at all which I know people want to know. Entertainment varies from magic shows to acrobats. There is no disco for late dancing. So if you want a clean fun not to loud and crazy vacation with great service this is it! Take some dollars and tip liberally, they appreciate it...average wage is 5.00 a day! We loved the two young men, Michelangelo and leo?,who came around the pool and laughed and joked in their funny costumes. This would be a good resort for kids too. The kids we saw were with the staff and having fun activities. We would go back, we feel we got great value for our money.

Stayed: February 2014
3  Thank RNactivist55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews