We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a Great Time Here”
Review of Hotel Riu Caribe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Caribe
Ranked #45 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2012

For a moderately priced all-inclusive, the Riu Caribe did not disappoint. The hotel has fresh, modern decor and our room was spotlessly clean. The bathroom was crazy huge. Unfortunately, the air conditioning in our room never got very cold. I suppose we should have complained, but the ceiling fan made it bearable and we didn't spend much time in our room anyway.

The food here was nothing special, and didn't vary much from one day to the next. However, there were so many different items to choose from in the buffet that we could always find something we liked. One thing that would have made breakfast so much better would be if they'd serve espresso drinks. I was really craving my morning latte. They have them available later in the day at the lobby bar, but during breakfast hours they only serve regular coffee.

A few tips if you do stay here: there's a bus stop right in front of the hotel with buses that run 24/7. It only costs a dollar and will take you into town for shopping, bars, restaurants, etc. The beach at the Caribe has very calm water. Not the place to catch any waves, but there is great snorkeling at the east end of the beach (where the Caribe meets the Riu Palace). We saw all kinds of colorful fish and a few stingrays without having to go on a snorkel tour. If you need shuttle service from the airport, book it through the Riu for only $20 per person roundtrip.

Why didn't I give it five stars? There are better places to stay in Cancun. But they cost a lot more. We would happily return to the Riu Caribe if we visit Cancun again.

Room Tip: They're all ocean view, but some have the ocean straight ahead and others it's a side view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank missguinness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,802)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,662 - 2,668 of 7,802 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is the 2nd time our family of 6 (children ages 10, 12, 14, 19) has stayed at the Riu Caribe during the month of November. The weather is gorgeous, and because it is low season, the hotel zone is not too crowded. The Riu Caribe grounds are beautiful, and well-attended by the staff. The beach is fabulous, and the all-inclusive hotel provides catamaran sailboats and sea kayaks, which my family thoroughly enjoyed. The view from our 9th floor rooms (we get 2 adjoining rooms) was awesome. We like to sleep with the balcony doors open so we can hear the waves, and unfortunately we could still hear partiers around the pool into the wee hours of the morning...I really don't think there is any way around this, even high on the 9th floor. However, when we shut our doors all was quiet. The staff is super friendly, and the bartenders seemed very careful to wait on you in the order that you appeared at the bar. I really appreciated this because my kids are constantly at the bars asking for virgin pina coladas, which the bartenders have to make fresh since the pina colada machines contain alcohol. My kids received great service, unlike other places. Although they state that tips are included in the all-inclusive price, we generally tip 10 pesos or a US dollar bill whenever we sat down to eat, $2 if our entire family was at the table at the same time, $5 at the reservation restaurants for dinner, and about $5 per day to the pool bar (it looks like they pool their tips). Also, my husband tipped the maid at the end of our stay ($5). Not sure how this compares to other guests' tips - it would be great to know. Our rooms were always clean, towels and linens fresh. The bathrooms had been renovated since our last stay 2 years ago, and they are lovely. We feel that for a family of 6 we get a great deal at the Riu when you consider all that is included. This trip (Friday-Tuesday) was short, so we were content to stay on the resort grounds the whole time, just enjoying the pool, beach, kids club, ping pong tables, beach volleyball, sailboats, etc. If you stay longer, though, I recommend moving to a non all-inclusive for your 1st 2 days or last 2 days, and taking some of the day-long excursions (Garrofon on Isla Mujeres, or Xcaret are favorites of ours). Why waste the meal plan of an all inclusive resort if you won't be there all day?

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 948&950, and they had excellent views, close enough to the elevators, & h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank momofVA4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed for a week at the start of October and absolutely loved every minute of it! Hotel is very spacious and spotless rooms were large and have a mini bar and liquor dispenser. The pool area is very large and there were plenty of sun beds. The entertainment team kept things lively but there was a quieter pool round the corner which was perfect if you we're hungover from the night before.

Food was amazing, something for everyone an all fresh. Tried the Asian and the Mexican restaurants but think the main restaurant was probably my favourite.

Staff were very friendly and bar service was speedy. The spirits in the room were local brands but the main bars had brands such as Bacardi, Smirnoff etc. would recommend working your way through the cocktail list ask for a dirty monkey :)

The entertainment was good and the entertainment team do trips to a different bar every night. Just meet them in the lobby at ten.

We went with Thompsons and I would definitely recommend going on their all inclusive bar crawl. We went to señor frogs, sweet,mandalas and of course coco bongos. We didn't get chance to do any other trips with the rep but we did catch the ferry to Isla mujeres over the bay and hired a golf cart for the day which was fun.

I can't recommend this hotel or cancun enough best holiday ever!

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean and pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hannaho30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had a great time, one of the best trips to mexico ever! This was our 6th time in Mexico and our 1st time here. The thing that stands out the most about this resort is the service. We had the best service here, even on the beach. Everywhere you go on the property they take care of you. Food was pretty good although the specialty restaurants were disappointing. I highly recommend the pizza bar near the quiet pool for lunch. Sports bar always had decent food if you happened to miss the main courses or just need a late night snack.
The beach is big and beautiful, not rocky like next door at Riu Peninsula. Plenty of chairs to be had even in the afternoon. Drink service is wonderful as well, Benjamin takes good care of you:) If you're a pool person there are 2 pools. The main pool is the entertainment pool with a swimup bar, there's even a mobile bartender. The quiet pool has it's own bar and pizza cook (awesome).
Entertainment was pretty good at Caribe they even give you the option to go to Riu Cancun for their shows and bars if you wish. We took advantage of this 3 times and had fun getting out on the town. There is a bus stop in front of the hotel and it costs less than $1 each way. We went with the entertainment staff to Coco Bongo and got discount tickets for $60 regular was $80. That gave us the v.i.p. section, drinks and transportation there. We had a blast going with them.
All in all, Riu Caribe is a great resort with wonderful staff. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CincyPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here off season (NOV 2011) and right before/during renovations. We were upgraded upon arriving at the resort. Not many people there. Renovations did not affect us. Very clean. Food was great! No lines at any bars, and beach was not crowded.
Did have to call the front desk a few times for refilling the mini-bar and to remind them to clean the room...but other than that, no problems!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Very clean rooms, and the view from the room is amazing, another nice thing is that all rooms have sea view. The food is very nice, especially if you like to eat healthy, freshly squeezed juices every morning, even the vegetable juice is available + always few options for fish or seafood, and very delicious guacamole and salsa :-)

Staff at the hotel is very friendly and helpful. Entertainment team is the best.. very nice and fun people!
The only minus for me was the beach, its quite small, and compared to the amazingly blue and beautiful beach a bit further, this one is just a regular sea.
Also i would recommend to the hotel management to change sunbeds.. they are old and very very uncomfortable.

Whoever is planning to take tour to Mayan pyramids i recommend not to buy from tour operators, they charge 3 times more and there is absolutely no difference in excursions. As tour operator tried to convince us that its dangerous and the bus will be with no condition air, its not true: in the same bus with us there were people that bought tour from tour operator picked up together with us, and the bus was brand new, and it was damn cold of condition air. We paid 40$ for the trip to Chichen Itza, there were people in the bus paid 180$, some paid 100. In the hotel tour operator offered for 139$.. we basically we bought it in Cancun downtown for 40$

Overall i recommend this hotel. Everything is great: food, service, location

Room Tip: Room 835 had a front sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toastandcoffeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here from 10/26-11/2. The weather was fabulous. This would be our third stay. Let me start by positives. The food was incredible. Very fresh and so many choices. Always fresh. The drink service at all the bars was great and they gave you exactly what you wanted. A couple bucks tip and they would get what you needed from another bar if they did not have it there. Get a cappuchino from the lobby bar.

Our first room, which was supposed to be deluxe oceanfront, was not. If you held onto the extremely small balcony rail and your spouse held your leg you could lean over and see the quiet pool. I immediately went back to the front desk. Though he was a bit snarky with me we were placed in room 997. This room had an incredible view of everything. One of the best views I have had in a long time. Though it seems like it is on the 9th floor it is really on the 11th. You get off the elevator on the 9th(as that is as far as it goes) and then walk up two flights of stairs. This helped with weight management. The room had no phone service. Though we told the front desk this and were promised it would be corrected it was not. There was blood on the bedskirt when we got in the room. It was on the side facing the ocean so not immediately noticable. It only took me two trips to the front desk for them to finally change it. Remember I could not call the front desk. Water pressure not good this high up and no light in the shower itself. Though the frig is supposed to be serviced every two days we had to go to the front desk several times to get water,soda or beer as it did not seem the frig service people wanted to walk up all these stairs to service a frig. The TV only got fuzzy service. I do not watch TV so that was not an issue for me. My spouse got someone to come up but it did not help. The neighbor or ours got a new TV no difference.

We started laughing at this point and decided to call the room "off the grid", the "killing room" "where guests go to die".

We enjoy beach volleyball. It was supposed to be played daily at 10 and 3. It rarely was. We mentioned this to rec staff and they said the schedule is just an idea. I asked idea of what and was told oh missy don't complain. We just shifted and played more of their pool games. The gym was barely serviceable, two broken pieces of equipment but most people don't go on vacation to work out. Again we had those 35 steps each ane every time we went to our room.

Did I have a good vacation, yes. The food and drink staff made it a good experience. The place is clean the food and drinks are good.The rec staff needs a lot of work.Would I go again, probably not. Having been there twice before the rec staff this time left us looking for a new place to go.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tinymite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Cancun
Hotel Riu Cancun
#36 of 177 in Cancun
10,411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
1.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.9 mi away
Occidental Costa Cancun
Occidental Costa Cancun
#48 of 177 in Cancun
6,018 reviews
2 mi away
Panama Jack Resorts - Gran Caribe Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Caribe

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan, Km 5.5, Lote 6-C | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Cancun
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#34 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $214 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Caribe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 24h All Inclusive Hotel Riu Caribe opens all year round and is located right on the beautiful beach of Cancún. The RIU Classic Hotels offer comfortable rooms and excellent facilities with great leisure and relaxation facilities, as well as international gastronomy. Enjoy a relaxing holiday - whether alone, with family, partner or friends! The location is ideal because of its proximity to Cancún Airport CUN (20 km) and Cancún city (5 km) and invites you to explore the area. The hotel has 506 comfortably furnished rooms and offers many amenities. Relax in our spa or get in shape at the fitness center. 3 outdoor pools. For the youngest guests there is the RiuLand Kids Club (ages 4-7&8-12 years) and for adults, day and evening entertainment. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer a live cooking stations at our main restaurant, Asian and Mexican specialty restaurants, Steakhouse, and 5 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Caribe Real Cancun
Grand Caribe Cancun
Grand Caribe Real Cancun
Riu Caribe Resort Cancun
Riu Caribe Cancun Mexico
Riu Caribe Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing