We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cancun”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Riu Caribe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Riu Caribe
Ranked #46 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cancun”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

OK well just came back and for the price you pay its a 5 star for Mexico not USA remember that !!! The food So So .yes the lobby is hot But its August and anywhere you go in Mexico its hot.
The Bad thing is No entertainment for the young Adults .The rooms are Clean with service everyday .And you need to keep the patio door closed to keep the AC otherwise it will turn of. And the room Light Key must be in its slot and make sure to crank the AC to 3 .
Would i stay there yes But we are adventures and do not book hotels for the room we book it for the beach and the excursions .One only complaint do not take the snorkeling with the RIU it is not worth the money book a tour through one of the guys downstairs they are in the lobby Daily

Room Tip: If you are not happy ask them to change the room they did for us .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nonstoptravel43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,423
    2,374
    835
    354
    281
See reviews for
1,648
2,822
77
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This hotel is not 5 star, No AC in the lobby very hot, The food is really bad, The maria margarita restaurant is very bad never eat there. In our room the AC not working, The iron not working and the Hair dryer not working. The beds very small and uncomfortable and pillows too. No service in beach and pool ,you need to go and take your drinks.

The Riu cancun is better the food is good, we go to the riu cancun to eat.

The only good in Riu Caribe was the beach. No waste your money in this hotel.
..
We will never back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: not book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rosmaryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Riu Caribe is a very good all inclusive hotel. We stayed here 8 nights july 2012. Rooms are super clean with marble flooring and well stocked referigeator. We had something to do everyday. No chance to get bored. Staff is super nice. Food at buffet is very good. They keep changing menu so lot of choices. Also lot of vegetarian choices. Ice cream, local fruits were super good. Entertainment staff is exemplary. Every night they have excellent entertainment in a spacious theater. All kinds of drinks served everywhere and anywhere. Staff is very very hard working. Beach is very good. Better than then beach next door of the more expensive Riu Palace. Also buses are right outside the hotel. R2 for walmart, mercado 28. I would rate this hotel highly based on my vast travel experience. Great value for money. Isle of Mujeres is great one day trip. Need to take ferry to get there. You can walk to the ferry from the hotel. Highly recommend getting golf cart for great site seeing there. Cancun Shuttle is perfect for airport transfer. Try and get room on higher floors and closer to restaurant area. All in all perfect vacation at Riu Caribe.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ab1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york pa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The hotel is beautiful as are the pools, the ocean, the rooms, the food,and the staff is fantastic..The reservation restaurants are never open for reservations as people make them for several days in advance even though the hotel says they are made day by day. For a 6 day stay we were able to eat in one of the restaurants, only because we walked in when someone canceled and just got lucky. The buffet is great but does get old after all 3 meals are eaten there day after day...The food is the same every day, large variety, with little change, but delicious...The wait staff is excellent, but I tip and it does make a difference, they do notice and make extra effort to make you comfortable..The spa is small but the massage is almost as good as excellence riviera cancun, which is one of the top 5 in mexico....there are no pool floats, so bring your own if you want one, and believe you me, you do...Really, the only 3 things we could complain about. The internet service you must do from the main lobby and you only get free for 1.5 hours a day continuous...if you log off, you are done for the day....The front desk tries to sell you a package that you do not need instead of telling you it its free for the 1.5 hours....Ask a kid...they know how to get it.....the second thing is the hotel does not accept american money..you need pesos in the hotel and in the mini store in the hotel....And the mini store will not change american into pesos, so if you need something, you are out of luck....The biggest complaint is an irritating noise that comes out of the chimney from the restaurant by the large pool starting in the early morning and continuing until about 4 in the morning...If you are on the high number side of the building, does not matter which floor, we were in ?99, the noise keeps you awake all night...I asked the security guard what it was and he told me it is all the time from the restaurant....We thought we got an upgraded room when they gave us a suite on the high side, but what we got was irritating noise and no sleep on vacation....So take heed....Get a room on the east side, the low numbers if you like to sleep...That said, the hotel is very nice and if they fixed just the noise from the smoke stack, or moved us after i complained, i could have overlooked the other inconveniences, but without sleep, seemingly unimportant items became more irritating, and being a trip advicor reader, i feel obligated to let you know before you book the place what we found...All in all, for the price we paid on a last minute vacation, it was still worth the trip, but i heard other people who paid a whole lot more complain about the same noise, and i felt sorry for them......

Room Tip: stay on the low number side, the east side,the sunny side in the morning due to a terrible noise fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dougthebarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed from July 29 thru Aug 3 and chose Cancun over Mayan Riviera basically due to difference in transfer cost from airport to hotel. Having previously stayed at the Riu Mayan Palace we were expecting something similiar and it was not quite up to those standards but it was nice.
We arrived about 1:00 and while our room was not quite ready, we were able to enjoy the luncheon buffet which was very welcome after a long morning. As soon as our rooms were ready, we changed to go the pool and spent the rest of the afternoon there as it was a lovely area. Drinks were plentiful as were the chairs. The only thing that was in short supply was umbrella areas.
As for our room, it was nicely decorated and there were plenty of towels and the fridge was well stocked and stayed that way - until the last night; but they do not have conditioner, which I had expected from the previous RIU stay!!! Our maid was very nice and thorough, but the room was not cleaned until late in the afternoon so it was difficult to come back to relax before dinner if you wanted to. As for the beds, they were comfortable, but they are double and they do seem smaller than normal!
The entertainment staff was great and entertaining and engaging. My youngest son also got involved on the last day that we were there for the RIU Olympics and had so much fun. We also enjoyed the Michael Jackson show but if you want a seat in the auditorium, you must get there early - in fact, as soon as they open the doors! So be prepared to wait thru the kid's show but you will be able to enjoy drinks while waiting!
As for the food, we were only able to get reservations for the Mexican restaurant as they only allow you to make them one day in advance. However, when we tried to make our Thu night reservations on Wed morning, all the spots were taken and they were giving away Fri spots. So, press for multiple nights when you go! Mexican food was okay but service was slow - overall, the buffett food was great as was the pizzeria.
If we were going back to Cancun, we would definitely go back to this hotel, but we would prefer the Mayan area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crickert62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We just came back after staying there for 1 week (July 28 - Aug 4). We arrived around 12:00. The front desk was not crowded therefore the check-in was quick but we had to wait 1 hour to get 2 rooms on 8th floor per our request. However, we were able to have lunch at their buffet right away. The staffs at frond desk are nice in general.
We got 2 rooms on the 8th floor. Both with 2 double beds. We also requested a roll-away bed. We got it one day after because of "super busy schedule" as they claimed. The rooms were OK in term of decoration and layout but clean and no smell. Room has balcony facing to the ocean so we can enjoy the beautiful sunrise on the ocean. Room has a 32" flat screen TV with some English channels, a small fridge with water, beers and sodas. There is also a wine selection with 4 different kinds. The phone didn't work in our room. The ice machine didn’t work. Our small kids love the towel-animals made by the housekeeper every day when he cleaned our room. He was friendly and did good job. The bathroom was clean and big enough with double sink and a standing shower with nice glass door and glass wall. The water pressure (hot and cold) for shower and sinks are fine. The toilet has minor flushing issue, but no big deal. AC is working fine – same as the ceiling fan.
The beach was very calm but got some seaweed but not a big deal. (The smaller beach at RIU Palace next door was cleaner) Pools were OK. The middle pool (in-front of the beach towel and closed to the swim-up-bar) was usually crowded because that where all activities happen. Kid pool is small. Pool next to the buffet is less crowded and quiet. The fitness room needs to upgrade completely. The spa is OK with reasonable prices. Tennis court is OK and the outdoor Jacuzzi is OK. The kid play-ground also needs to improve although the staff was nice. The sport bar is OK. Nothing special and all games in there were not free. The theatre is OK. Shows were enjoyable. Michael Jackson show and International Show were our favorites. Entertainers were friendly. No free Wi-Fi in room. In lobby only free 90 minutes every day per device (you cannot save your minute during the day). The small gift shop was terribly hot – no AC.
Food was OK - above average but service was a bit slow. The buffet is the best restaurant with different theme every day. Some seafood dishes were good. Pizza was bad. Fruit and desert were good. Next is the steakhouse and the worst is the Asian restaurant.
This hotel’s location isn’t bad. It is closed to other attractions such as the Pirate ship, boat / ferry port, and others.

Room Tip: rooms on the higher floor (above 7) gets better views and less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnthonyTranT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We have just returned from the Riu Caribe in Cancun. We stayed end of July to beginning of August 2012. This is our first time with Riu and won`t be the last! We really enjoyed our time and would recommend the resort without hesitation. Here are the pros and cons in a nut shell.
PROS:
- Hotel is extremely clean.
- Rooms are very clean, we had the junior suite
- Staff is amazingly friendly. Always there to help and you feel this through their efforts and smile which is truly genuine.
- Food was very good with a good variety even at the buffet. It didn't have goulash (mud) and oatmeal every day.
- Drinks were good with a great variety introducing a drink of the day.
- Beach is very accessible and there were enough chairs for everyone
- very good entertainment at the pool.
- Pool is excellent for adults AND children, our 6yr old son just loved it
- restaurants were very good. We tried the Shangri-la Asian... YUMMY! and the steakhouse also YUMMY, but we preferred (slightly) the Asian... MUST TRY their fried ice cream for dessert, honestly, don`t miss it it is really worth it.
- cleaning lady made my son extremely happy by making an animal from towels every day... again always with a beautiful genuine smile

CONS:
- entertainment was way too late. 9:45 PM every night, this is too late as my 6 yr old son was sleeping at that time. Riu needs to change that.
- reserving the restaurants was tricky, you had to reserve from 7am - 11:00 for the next day... we couldn't get a restaurant for our last night so we stood by at night and checked of there were any cancellations, the lady wouldn't let us go even though the restaurant was booked about at 40% of it's capacity... that was unacceptable, so I spoke to the restaurant manager: Manuel, who gladly helped us out to go eat... thanks Manuel!
- beds were a little uncomfortable, squeaky sound of a plastic cover on the mattresses and we felt them tilt to one side... on both beds, so my husband and I couldn't share the same bed because you would have the feeling of falling off.
- Not enough umbrellas to have some shade on the beach or pool. Although there are a lot, I still feel that more was needed because it was really hot!

Special thanks:
James at the lobby. He really helped us out with a great smile!
Manuel, the restaurant manager who helped us when we didn't have a reservation.
Silvia the cleaning lady on the 4th floor for making my son's day by simply making animals out of towels... what a really nice lady!

so that is it. Hope this helps anyone who might need a little hand in making a reservation at the Riu Caribe.

I really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maverick298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
3.3 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#44 of 182 in Cancun
580 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Cancun
Hotel Riu Cancun
#31 of 182 in Cancun
9,677 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
5.1 mi away
Great Parnassus Family Resort
6.6 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#25 of 182 in Cancun
3,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Caribe

Property: Hotel Riu Caribe
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan, Km 5.5, Lote 6-C | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Cancun
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#35 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Caribe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cancun's resort area. 9-Story building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 3 Km. /1.9 Miles from a shopping center. 4,5 Km/2.5 Miles from downtown Cancun. 21 Km/13.1 Miles to Cancun Int'l. Airport. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Caribe Real Cancun
Grand Caribe Cancun
Grand Caribe Real Cancun
Riu Caribe Resort Cancun
Riu Caribe Cancun Mexico
Riu Caribe Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing