We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Time”

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun
Ranked #54 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Another Great Time”
Reviewed September 10, 2009

We were there 7/25/09 thru 8/1/09 and this was our 4th time. Myself, husband & grown daughter had another wonderful stay at this less than 5 star resort. The food and restaurants are good, some better than other. The entertainment is fun, but not on the Las Vegas scale of great, the rooms are very clean, but what makes this resort unique is the people and staff. We dearly love them. The A/C was on the blink, and one of the employees went to Wal Mart and picked us up a fan. It was a life saver, we gave it to him when we left. This has been our 4th trip to this resort and our daughters 9th, we have stayed at other high end resorts and left not knowing anyone. Here we know the staff and they remember us year after year. More like an extended family. We will continue to go to this resort. As a matter of fact there's a group of us from all over the world that keep returning the same time each year just so we can renew our friendships. We stay in touch by emails and phone calls. People from the US, UK, England, and Scotland. So, if you want fancy, go somewhere else, but if you want to get to know people and relax this is the place to go. By the way in all the years we've been going we have never had a problem with the time share people, we just tell them we're not interested. Maybe those who have a problem have "Bug Me" written on their foreheads, I don't know. To the Golden Parnassus Group of Friends...See you next Year.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

6,321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,733
    2,048
    882
    380
    278
See reviews for
526
3,479
100
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2009

A good hotel, not the ritz (stayed there) but certainly not a slum.

The staff were friendly and the place was clean with regular activities.

The food was good although with many carribean hotels you do get some 'weird' choices at the buffet but this was not a problem, .

The guests were generally nice, although yes you do get quite a few loud mouth americans who like everyone to know they have 'landed;.

We stayed on the 2nd floor with a sea view and would recommend this against the lagoon side. I would also recommend the room upgrade, the jacuuzi in the room was great and free mini bar!

The evening entertainment was mixed, but the night at coco bongos is a must!

Good staff, decent place, good food, not the ritz but will more than satisfy 9 out of 10 people im sure.

Oh - the hotel has a really decent gym, relatively small but has newish equipment and pleanty of it,

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

I stayed there for a week with my two friends. Hotel was lovely rooms were immaculate food was lovely with a variety to suit everyones taste. Staff were more than helpful couldn't do enough for you. Would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Cancun. Will be returning there myself in the near future I hope, was also very reasonable in price and the entertainment team were great. 10 out of 10!! :-)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawton, OK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2009

Had upgraded our room to a jacuzzi room on 6th floor & the a/c was basically non-existant & bed & pillows were hard as rocks. The time share people hounded us from the time we arrived at the hotel until we left. Food was amazing especially at the Old Barn. Saw way too many sexual activities in common areas & staff did nothing.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed here July 16-20. For the price we couldnt pass it up. When it comes down to it, the servers were mostly great - Rogelio for breakfast/lunch and Fonzy the bartender by the pool went above and beyond - remembering our names, our drinks etc. We did tip extra which they very obviously appreciated. The pool entertainment was very repetitive but my boyfriend enjoyed the volleyball and polo games while I relaxed reading my book. All staff seemed to enjoy their jobs. The beach was beautiful. The only complaints we have were the air conditioning, or lackthereof and there was no swimup bar. We were upgraded to a lagoon view on the 6th floor which had a nice jacuzzi tub and balcony. We met a few great couples that we spent the days with. We didnt do much nightime entertainment, we were up pretty early everyday and with the sun and drinking we went to bed pretty early. Definitely make sure to bring your own mugs for drinking, pref insulated as everything melts extremely fast. They will fill up anything for you, one of the men in the couples brought a 64 oz. bubba keg that they would fill with beer no questions asked. The drinks were good, not just house alcohol. We ate at all restaurants and never had a *bad* meal - it wasnt amazing, but was good enough. Our favorites were Sumo, Pier 12 and Old Barn. Its not a ritzy place but for some relaxation it was perfect. We would definitely go back, but we will bring a fan for the room for sure!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

I have never stayed in a '5 star hotel' before, so was quite excited and looking forward to coming to the Golden Parnassus. We were greeted at the door, taken straight to the bar and offered a drink, while we were checked in, very good first impression. Our luggage was taken to the room, the porter tipped and we settled in.
The room was clean and very yellow! Some might describe it as spartan but it offered everything you needed, it looked like it had been decorated in the 1990s but it was ok. There was however no facility to make tea or coffee, which you would expect in three start hotel let alone a five star one. The remote control and safety deposit box key had to be collected from reception at no extra cost, but we warned there would be a $60 penalty if they were lost. We were both provided with room key cards and a card which could be used to get our beach towels.
The hotel had four restaurants - Shranghi - La which was an 'upmarket' a la carte restaurant overlooking the sea. We ate there twice - reasonable food, good wine but a steady if not slow service. There is a smart dress code for this restuarant. There is also a Japanese restaurant in the main atrium; it is more of a chinese restaurant though. Food ok - but not worth going back a second time. Across the road is the Old Barn - an American steakhouse. We ate here once - the steak was very overcooked. The best of the restaurants was Pier 12 in the main complex which overlooked the sea. One evening they opened the terrace and you could eat your meal al fresco which was very pleasant. They serve a variety of meals but with a seafood emphasis, the food was very good and the service swift.

On three occasions the reception staff were poor, or unhelpful or at times rude. One day I ordered a boxed lunch. On that occassion there was no one at the desk so I ordered with the concierge, who said that that was fine. I checked with the concierge the following morning that the lunch had been ordered - she showed me in her notebook that it had and that we should collect it at 9.00am the following morning.
When we went to collect the lunches, we were told that no lunches had been prepared because "You had not ordered any lunches"!! No apologies were offered, I continued to explain that the I had ordered it with the concierge, beacuse there no one was staffing the reception desk. We were then told to go to the restaurant, talk to the staff there and explain the situation, and to help ourselves to fruit etc. A guest should never told that they are wrong, and should never be asked to make their own lunches, whether they are staying in a three of rive star hotel.

Another occasion was when we trying to get a parasol by the pool. We were repeatedly ignored by the parasol attendant, and when we did finally manage to speak to him, he shouted at us in Spanish before walking away. It was only by walking up to reception and explaining the situation that we got the parasol 40 minutes later.

On the final day our transfer to the airport did not arrive. I asked the reception staff if I could make a phone call to the travel rep to find out more information. They told me they would not make a call for me as it was an expensive call, they do not pay for phone calls and that I should use my mobile phone. I asked if there was another phone I could use and I was directed to another phone at reception. On dialling I was told that the call would be charged to our room. I explained that I had already checked out, and therefore couldn't be billed, - the operator told me that I as a result I wouldn't be able to make a call. This kind of surly, unhelpful attitude was a total surprise to me. I would have expected that hotel staff should make every effort to help their customers. The impression I got was that once we had checked out, they were no longer interested in us and that they couldn't be bothered to help.
It was only through the kindness of the chief porter, who agreed to call the agent on his mobile that we were able to get hold of our rep and clarify our transfer arrangements.

Hotel entertainment was fine if you like organised pool games, bingo, and volleyball competitions. The was a bar called the Beer Garden - it reminded us of a run down working man's club - there was darts, table football and table tennis. Nightly entertainment was sporadic;-there was a cabaret /dancing one night which was fun and a circus night, otherwise there were paid excursions on offer to the clubs in Cancun.

Beach was fantastic, swimming in the surf was superb, food ok, drink fine, but poor staff at times, average entertainment. We realised at the end of the week, that if you were prepared to tip like some Americans did, then the service would be great.

So on balance - overall a pleasant hotel - not five star at all, more like three. I would recommend it , but as a three star hotel only and don't expect top service!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, IN
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

My honest overall rating would be average to slightly above average. Most of the experience overall was positive, but a couple negatives that were big ones. Keeping in mind that we've been to Mexico numerous times (always "middle of the road" AI's), we understand it's very hot & humid down there, and we aren't picky people. 1. The entire hotel was complaining that their A/C was barely working, and we were in total agreement. It was a common theme of conversation at the pool. Our friends had to move from the 6th (top) floor to the 1st floor b/c their room was unbearably hot with AC on the coolest setting. They called maintenance (who didn't speak English) but he came into the room, stuck a screwdriver thru the vent so the fan would bang against it (not sure if he was checking to be sure the fan was running??) - turned around and said, "All is OK - your A/C is fine" YEAH RIGHT!! It would have been funny if they hadn't been sweltering in their room!! Their 1st floor room was an improvement. But they clearly need to do some upgrading to their A/C system if they cannot cool the only 6 floors they have. My husband and I tolerated ours - it wasn't exactly comfortable, but it was tolerable if you slept with minimal clothes on at night and laid very still - after awhile, we could fall asleep. If you want COOL, find the hospitality room or the workout/fitness center. They are very close to each other on the lower level near the spa. These were the "Ahhhh.... Nice" areas to really cool off. I actually sat in the hospitality room (which closes at 6pm) one day and read my book, watched TV, for 2 hours. After several days in the heat and no place to really cool off, this was a haven.
2. The pool here was pretty small, compared to other AI resorts of this size. I was suprised that there wasn't another pool somewhere.
Now, for the positive: Service was great. Buffet food (called the Paradise) was above average for an AI. But take advantage of the other restaurants, otherwise you'll get burnt out on buffet food.
Restaurants: We didn't go to Sumo. Old Barn steakhouse had a horrible prime rib, which was paper thin and salty from too much meat tenderizer. I heard the Filet Mignon was better - wish I had gotten that. However, they had a Beef Nachos appetizer at Old Barn that had steak on it - they were AWESOME. And, it was a very generous portion. Luckily, I was pretty full when my horrid prime rib arrived - I ended up giving 90% of it back to them. Our dinner at Old Barn took a full 3 hours. Shangri-La restaurant was EXCELLENT! Great food, great service, guys - gotta wear pants, sorry. But, they actually thought the pants were worth it and we went back a 2nd time. We all tried different entrees, desserts, everything was wonderful. Pier 12 (seafood) was just OK - we weren't that impressed, but it wasn't bad. Service was great, we loved Gilberto at breakfast - he was so attentive and pleasant!! A little tipping goes a long way, with all of the servers. They work very hard!
Lily works the bar near the pool/snack bar area - she is awesome!! Take the suggestions and bring your own insulated mug - their cups are tiny and drinks get warm fast down there.
Maid service did a nice job every day cleaning the rooms. They don't refill your refrigerator - someone else does that. We tried getting more bottled water but that was a challenge. We left notes, and the maid would write back, "Room Service - ext xxx" So, we would call room service but they would bring us 8 oz. glasses of water. I guess I needed to be clearer in my request. I brought my own insulated water bottle, so I just kept filling that up with ice water at the restaurants or bars.
The hot tub at the Golden was GREAT! Very large, and actually was a hot tub! Not a "spa tub" with pool-temp water, like some resorts have. It was right along the ocean too, which was very nice late at night. The beach was nice and sandy, compared to some other AI's we've read about.

We took the shuttle to the sister resort Great Parnassus, which was loaded with kids, had a rocky beach, and had a horrible sewer smell. However, they DID have a great selection of restaurants and the buffet selection was HUGE. They also had a nice "adults only" pool area containing 2 hots tubs, which was practically empty. Their rooms all have ceiling fans - a nice touch. Out of the two, not sure which one would win out. If you have kids, would need to go to the Great. The Golden is adults only and has the occasional topless sunbather.
I would likely return to the Golden if they could get their A/C issues worked out.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
9.9 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
5.7 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#41 of 175 in Cancun
664 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grand Oasis Sens
Grand Oasis Sens
#84 of 175 in Cancun
4,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Resort
3.1 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#25 of 175 in Cancun
3,137 reviews
3.8 mi away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#50 of 175 in Cancun
3,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun

Property: Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 14.5 | Retorno San Miguelito Lote 37, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#40 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#42 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun, Golden Parnassus Cancun, is an Adults Only All Inclusive Resort Situated on an unspoiled sandbar tucked between Nichupte Lagoon and the Caribbean Sea is one of Cancun's premier adult all-inclusive resorts. A beach resort wholly devoted to the "in the moment" lifestyle, Golden Parnassus Cancun is a destination where exclusive personal service and a sophisticated yet casual spirit offer the backdrop for the ultimate in relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Parnassus Cancun
Cancun Crown Paradise
Golden Parnassus Hotel Cancun
Golden Parnassus Resort Spa Cancun
Jack Tar Cancun
Golden Parnassus Resort Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing