We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden Parnasus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun
Ranked #53 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Golden Parnasus”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

very friendly staff, if at all possible ask for an upgrade to the back of the hotel, facing the ocean,over top of the shops and not a hotel room over the bar, way to noisy, if you are not a party goer..you will not get any sleep..other than that, it was very clean and well kept..the food was good, no issues there. a small hotel is very easy to overbook, so watch your bookings..

Room Tip: rooms over the shops are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,611
    1,959
    835
    360
    255
See reviews for
488
3,293
92
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We picked this resort last year, May 2013, for our annual get-away and were so pleased with the staff and location that we are returning again this year. Loved the beach bar and the pool area. Mostly it is great because it is adult only and a clean, friendly environment. Book a massage on the beach for a great experience. The only thing we agree with in the negative reviews is the lack of top-shelf liquor. But from our experience that is the same at most all-inclusive resorts in Mexico. The fun we had with the staff and other guests was worth the lack of some amenities. Plus the price was great. Spending less on the resort gave us extra money to spend on excursions. We do agree the lighting could be better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

On Aug. 25, 2013 to celebrate our 50th Anniversary, we booked a seven day trip to Cancun, Mar. 3- Mar.10 2014, through US Airways Vacations to an all inclusive, adult only resort . About three weeks before our trip I looked up the Golden Parnassus reviews in Trip Advisor. There were a few negatives addressing a problem with bait and switch so I called the resort and US Airways Vacations regarding my concerns. The resort said no that they would not do such a thing; US Airways said that they had never heard anything like that and that many people requested the Golden. Feeling confident, especially with US Airways answer we met up with friends who also booked through US Airways. Upon our arrival at the Golden Parnassus’ check-in desk the clerk informed us that they were overbooked and we were being sent to their sister property The Great Parnassus, which is a family resort. We soon discovered that there were six other couples in the same position. Of course we were very angry and said that they needed to find a way to accommodate us at the Golden. After a good two hours of arguing with them I called US Airways, explained our dilemma believing that they would help us. The gentleman on the phone took our information and said someone would call us back. In the meantime we decided that if we were going to have a place to stay we gave in. Then we were told we had to sign a document stating that we agreed to move to the other resort. They also said that we would get an upgrade. US Airways did call us back and said that the Golden Parnassus told her that we were OK with the move. I told her that we were never OK with their solution. No help coming from anyone, we made the move. Our upgrade was non existent. During our stay, we soon found that there was more kids than adults. The food was terrible in most of the restaurants, one of only four elevators was out of order three days, and the Great Parnassus was in need of repairs and updates. I might also add that we paid at least $1,000.00 more for the Golden Parnassus. We are still working with US airways awaiting their resolution.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JLC113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manito, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We booked our annual girl trip at the end of September for Feb. Our group of five booked this hotel specifically because it was an adult only hotel, upon arrival the front desk had us take a seat in the lounge while they fed us drinks, then about 15 min later proceed to tell us they had no rooms for us. We were shocked, guess if we would have seen this site first we would have had a heads up. Anyway, we insisted on seeing their manager, Hector, which was a TOTAL runaround...upon talking to others later at the Great Parnassus, aka the "Sister/kiddie" hotel that we were bumped to, they overbook on purpose to fill the other hotel...SHAME ON YOU GOLDEN PARNESSUS!!!! Hector the manager lied several times promising us all the "Extras" we would get for switching to the Great Parnessus, when we told them at that hotel what he had said they said that they knew nothing. The other guests we spoke to that we also bumped said that the Golden was overbooked for the weekend by over 300 guests!!!! also that they cater to Apple Vacations because Apple will give them a better rating if they do. We took the shuttle from the Great Parnassus to the Golden every morning and spent the day there then returned in the evening to avoid being around the children running around everywhere. We usually stay at the RIU Cancun, We will be defiantly be going back to RIU, and not to the Golden Parnassus

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We loved the friendly staff... Pasquale was awesome!!!! The entertainment team did a great job. We loved the nightly shows. Negatives were no top shelf-went to liquor store, but still a great value. And, I did talk to several couples that got bumped to the Great Parnassus where it's more of a family atmosphere. I would not want to stay at the Great for an adult relaxing vacation. This seems to happen A LOT. Weather was beautiful... I would stay there again if I knew I wasn't going to risk getting bumped.

Room Tip: No top shelf liquor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

12 women....all turning 40. Finding an all-inclusive that would fit all price, styles, and tastes...now that's a tall order. But the Golden Parnassus came to the rescue! We had the time of our lives! We were a bit skeptical when we booked, based on some of TA reviews, but we could not have been more thrilled with our experience. It was a clean, relaxed, and FUN place to spend with my friends. No...it's not the fanciest place, but I went to secrets maroma beach in October 2013...and while that was gorgeous, it was snooze-ville. The Golden P. had an AMAZING beach, friendly staff, and decent food. Gabi, Jose, Fermin were just a few of our favorite staff members. This is a trip that ALL 12 of us had such a great time! If I had to critique anything...I would say I would like premium liquor and US domestic beer, and better lighting in the rooms. The furniture is worn, but honestly, I would much rather laugh my tush off in a used chair than sit quietly in a perfectly posh place. If u are looking for fun...look no further. U found it!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ahicks30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Hello I'm from the England and came here for 2 weeks with my girlfriend on 1st June 2013

After loads of research me and my girlfriend (Age 23 and 26) decided to book this hotel mainly because it was adults only and the good reviews on everything especially the food.

When we arrived we was greeted with a drink and had our luggage carried straight to our room. We had booked the honeymoon suite with 24 hour room service and a hot tub in the room but we only booked a lagoon view. When we got to our room we was delighted to find out that had upgraded us in the honeymoon suite over looking the ocean it was amazing.

All the staff could not do enough for you i tipped them everyday, they deserved every bit. They remember your names and are hand on foot for you. It seem's like English people appreciate Cancun more than some of the Americans we met. i think because we travel a lot longer and Mexico is like going to Spain for the Americans. Also while on the subject the Americans are lovely and crazy they all get involved and i had a right laugh they was just like me don't like to stop drinking lol.

The food in the hotel was miles better than anything I imagined, In fact the best food I have ever tried, that alone would make me want to go back to this hotel.
The Old Steak House was my favourite for the evening meal with some amazing steaks, ribs etc all cooked with perfection and fancy plate Deco (Angel the waiter done everything for us)
The Buffet Bar which is open a few hours for breakfast and a few hours for dinners serving a variety of things, You can never get bored. There are 3 chefs all cooking every day, Oriental food, Mexican,Italy and English. There really is something for everyone. (Oscar was our host for the week)
We had room service which is really handy for breakfast in bed after a heavy night out.

The rooms were amazing, massive and clean, The cleaners cleaned our room twice a day, every day, spotless. Big shower, big bed, Tv with a fair few channels, a mini fridge stocked daily.

The entertainment on a night time was basic but the entertainment team work extremely hard and put on a hour show each night and play various games during the day which all include drinking tequila regardless of what the time is lol so prepare for some drinking.
There is a spa on site but we did not use due to the prices.

Going to try keep this short as there is loads i could say i would deffo recommend this hotel to anyone and i will be returning but not with my girlfriend this time but a bunch of my crazy uk friends lol
Would like to say thank you to all staff especially Jose, Oscar, Anger and Alexjandro the bellboy he helped us for the 2 weeks we was there.

The local was perfect with a lovely beach on the doorstep with the tiki bar serving drinks all night long (proper drinks they will pour you another one before you even finish your last.

The wildlife amazed me, Everyday you can see pelicans flying over the ocean on the other side of the hotel you have got the lagoon where you will actually find crocodiles in the lagoon and up the banks so be careful if walking home lol. There is a hotel photographer and most days you will see him taking photos of either couples on the beach or people with a monkey or a toucan which i thought was a good idea.

Other details include, One big swimming pool and a few shops in the hotel one for essentials and the others with gifts there is a chemist just outside the hotel as well which could be handy.
You can also use the sister hotel the great parnassus which had 10 restaurants and bars and other stuff to free to use if you stay in this hotel which is a bonus.

I can not think of much else to say apart from i will 100 percent return to this hotel not as big as some of the other hotels but perfect as you get to know everyone plus 6 resturants and bars is still big when your coming from the UK. Sorry if i have missed anything or anyone but book this hotel you will be impressed.
Not forgetting June is breeding season for the turtles so you will get to witness them coming on to the beach to lay there eggs the security protect them and collect the eggs so the pelicans don't get them which i think is a great idea.

We spent most days out the hotel due to booking loads of excursions here are some i recommend.
Jungle tours - Speed boat through the lagoon and snorkel in the reef
Chichen Itza - One of the wonders of the world. A Long hot day but can't got mexico without experiencing.
Xcaret - Amazing Eco Park and Zoo - Whole Day paid extra to swim with dolphins worth it.
Xplor - 12 mile zip wire above jungle rooftop, Off-roading through the jungle and rafting amazing day for adrenaline.
Thomas Cook Bar Crawl - Good price and got to experience 4 top clubs in one night including Coco Bongo.
Crococun - I couldnt find this as an excursion but just get a taxi its just outside of cancun and only about £25 and you get a tour guide and hold crocodiles etc i loved it.

What you waiting for book now.

Honey moon suite is the way forward.

Thanks Dane

Room Tip: Honey moon suite - Ocean view comes with 24 hour room service a hot tub in the room and a mini fridg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
5.7 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#43 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
3.1 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#25 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,076 reviews
3.1 mi away
Royal Solaris Cancun
Royal Solaris Cancun
#37 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Great Parnassus Family Resort
0.1 mi away
Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort
2.7 mi away
GR Solaris Cancun
GR Solaris Cancun
#33 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun

Property: Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 14.5 | Retorno San Miguelito Lote 37, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#39 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#42 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun, Golden Parnassus Cancun, is an Adults Only All Inclusive Resort Situated on an unspoiled sandbar tucked between Nichupte Lagoon and the Caribbean Sea is one of Cancun's premier adult all-inclusive resorts. A beach resort wholly devoted to the "in the moment" lifestyle, Golden Parnassus Cancun is a destination where exclusive personal service and a sophisticated yet casual spirit offer the backdrop for the ultimate in relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Parnassus Cancun
Cancun Crown Paradise
Golden Parnassus Hotel Cancun
Golden Parnassus Resort Spa Cancun
Jack Tar Cancun
Golden Parnassus Resort Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing