We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best service we ever had!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun
Ranked #53 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
kansas city
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best service we ever had!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2004

We just got back from a week Feb 21-28, 2004 and have never had such wonderful service from the employees. (Except the front desk, who were pretty much like the other reviews said, how you are promised a different room....always told to come back tomorrow, then they all have selective amnesia and have no idea who you talked to). Anyway after we had to play games with the front desk to get the oceanfront room, our Funjet rep took care of it and the rest of the vacation was superb.
Husband wanted Bud Lite, and they only had corona on tap. He bought Bud Lite at the convenience store across the street after 3 days of trying the Corona and various other drinks. It was something close to $10.00 for a 6 pack but he got it anyway. The food was very good, especially the breakfast and lunch buffet at Paradise. You did not need reservations and did not have to wait at any of the places. We ate at Shangri la 3 times, it was good atmosphere and service. Food was good for the most part. Small portions which were okay for me, but husband would get fries afterwards at the Breeze bar by the pool. We are not big party people, so did not go out at night, mostly just relaxing by the tiki bar or pool after dinner. All in all, we had a great trip and anyone wanting all inclusive would enjoy this place. The bartenders and waiters treat you like royalty, which made all the difference.

  • Stayed February 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HOTMAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,454
    1,858
    786
    341
    244
See reviews for
444
3,086
79
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,096)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2004

The subject of this review says it all. This was our first stay at the Golden Crown Paradise on 2/7 to 2/14 and it was the best. From the food, to the ocean view room, to the entertainment staff. bartenders and waitresses, house cleaning and our rep, Ishmil, with Apple Tours. Everything was superb. We didn't want to return home. We traveled with another couple Lou and Nancy Thibodeau and they were so excited to have an ocean view room when we arrived. The room even included champagne and fruit which was compliments of our travel agency. However, we were disappointed we did not have an ocean view room. We were treated extremely well when we inquired about changing the room and sure enough on Monday, 2/8 we were in an ocean view room. We thoroughly enjoyed the variety of food from the Pier 12 restaurant, Old Barn and Shangri-La. We never were hungry. Food was always abundant. We would definitely consider returning to the Golden Crown Paradise. Thank you for making our trip a memorable one.Diane Nikstenas

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2004

Just returning from 10 days (Feb 22 thru Mar 2). There is not too much to add to what has been posted, so I will just list some Plus and minus.Plus...The Ocean and Beach....The Hotel Staff...Club Rooms,that are located on floors 1 thru 5....The Maids that clean your rooms...Food is very good at all Restaurants..The attitude of other Guests, they all seem to be having a great time( We made quite a few friends)...The Hotel is kept quite clean, altho it is showing it's age in spots...Minus....Draft Beer only!! which can be OK, BUT the Beer is usually warm, mainly because the Kegs sit out in the Hot sun when being replenished....Pool umbrella bases were mostly broken, which resulted in injury to a guest by a flying umbrella( don't expect to see any umbrellas anytime soon)......Only 2 ice machines on premises( 2nd and 6th Floors) which never had an ice scoop...Due to the humidy ice machines were always frozen up and ice was almost impossible to get out....Refrigerator in room did not cool properly...You can literally hear a pin drop from the room above, so if you are a light sleeper it can be anoying.....OVERALL, We will most likely return to this Property...This was our 10th year in Cancun, we were pleased with this Hotel....Airport is a Zoo, expect delays, with long check in lines for returning flights....Thanks to trip advisor, for the opportunity to know a little more about the Hotel before going there...

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2004

We are a group of 5 male former college friends now about 40 years old.
This is our fifth year taking to a trip to different destinations and this was our favorite. Never been to adults only resort and found it great. Most of us have kids and were pleased with the tequila water volleyball and other activities for adults. Resort also had many groups of single friends staying during out time and found it a great place to meet women. This is where you want to stay if you like to have fun!

Helpful?
1 Thank theman4uu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2004

My husband and I just spent 5 nights at the GoldenCrown and had a great time. The beach is beautifulwith crystal clear water and no rocks or seaweed.Probably the most beautiful beach we have ever been on. The staff was very courteous and friendly. The breakfast and lunch buffets were verygood. We enjoyed the fresh fruit and many items to choose from everyday. Pier 12 was probably the best for us overall. They had several nice seafood dishes but lacked atmosphere inside. Shangri la was our least favorite for food but had excellent service. The Old Barn was ok depending on what was ordered. The red meats were of mediocre quality in all restaurants. The beach bar was greatand Carlos and Alfonso are excellent bartenders. Drinks are good but you may need to order double liquour. Top shelf liquors available upon request.The beds are HARD! We were upgraded to a clubroom and that bed seemed somewhat better but we were still unable to get a good night's rest on these very hard mattresses. The grounds and rooms were kept very clean. The front desk, although very accomodating, were inconsistent in following thru on guests requests. Overall, this hotel is well worth the money and we would return.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2004

My wife and I visited Fed. 20-26. We have never been to an all-inclusive resort before, since we own timeshare. This was a last minute trip, and we did not know what to expect. I read the other reviews, which were very helpful. First, let me say, we were very impressed with the resort. You are not going to a 5-star hotel, so don't expect that. But what you get, is a very clean, friendly, and cozy resort, which is what we wanted. From check-in, to check-out, we were very impressed. We had requested a balcony room, and when we checked in, none were available. We we told to check back the next morning, and our request was granted. No problem. Staff was very pleasant, and even though it is all-inclusive, staff was sincerly thankful for the extra tip money, and was well worth it. "Fonzie" at the Tiki Bar, would say good morning to my wife and myself, as he passed us on his way to set up his area. Carlos, in the hotel bar at night was fantastic. Had my drink ready as soon as he saw me!! He was talking and joking with all customers. (Watch out for his mouse)!!!
Enteratinment staff was fantastic(Eva,Lisa, Alfredo,etc). Would try to get you involved in all activities, but not at all pushy.(Water aroebics the best, laughing the whole time). The shows at nite, very good. The staff did a good job of working with what they had, getting the audience involved. The food was much better than what we expected.
Jose, in the Shangra-La was excellent. Portions are small, but if you go to fancj NYC restaurant, that is what you get, and pay top dollar for it. The Barn was good also. We learned to order 2 entrees, so there was plenty to eat. We were very impressed, and if we were to return, we would definately go back to the Golden Crown. We did go to the sister resort one evening. It was so loud, and spread out, would not stay there, even though it is part of our time share group. But restaurants are good there, you should go and try it out.

Helpful?
4 Thank krismis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2004

We stayed at the Golden Crown Paradise hotel in Cancun from February 16th to the 23rd and have to say that it was a positive experience through and through. The hotel staff, service, and food are all truely amazing.

The hotel itself is very clean with nice decor and an atmosphere of fun and relaxation. There are shops within the hotel where items such as jewellery, clothing, reading materials, souveniers, toiletries, etc.
can be purhcased for very reasonable prices. The grounds are very well kept and the beach and ocean are both extraordinary!

The entertainment staff, including Carlos, Ava, Lisa, and Alfredo are super and always make efforts to include guests in activities and make everyone feel welcome. Tequila volleyball was a blast and the "Kentucky Fried Chicken" was enjoyed twice by this writer!

We never made it to many of the nightly entertainment venues (shows), but the ones we did see were awesome and we would highly recommend anyone staying at the Golden Crown to take them in. All the bars provided excellent service and our favorite was the Tiki bar with the Fonz and Jose and others working tirelessly to keep drinks full, provide entertainment, and converse with the guests. The drinks at all bars were excellent!! Again, we cannot stress enough the value we saw in the amazing service provided by the hotel staff who have a service oriented work ethic that is beyond compare. All the staff at this hotel went out of their way to make this holiday a memorable and enjoyable holiday for us.

The food was very good at all the restaurants. The Buffet was open every morning for breakfast and there is an incredible variety of food items to choose from. We very much enjoyed the food at the three restaurants on the property. These included the Old Barn (Steaks and the like), Pier 12 (seafood), and Shagri-La which provides a more elegant type dining than the others. The portions are smaller at the Shangri-La, but no big deal - just ask for more. The Breeze snack bar is open pretty much all day and night and serves up hamburgers, hotdogs, fries, sanwiches, etc.

We found that the hotel guests were all friendly and there are no kids running around which makes relaxation possible. We made some great friends during our stay including Danielle from New York and Neil and Mandy from England.

Anyone who wants info on this hotel feel free contact us.

Curtis and Bonnie

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
6.2 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#41 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
2.8 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#23 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,008 reviews
1.4 mi away
Great Parnassus Family Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort
2.4 mi away
GR Solaris Cancun
GR Solaris Cancun
#32 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,374 reviews
2.7 mi away
Royal Solaris Cancun
Royal Solaris Cancun
#33 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun

Property: Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 14.5 | Retorno San Miguelito Lote 37, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#39 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#42 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun, Golden Parnassus Cancun, is an Adults Only All Inclusive Resort Situated on an unspoiled sandbar tucked between Nichupte Lagoon and the Caribbean Sea is one of Cancun's premier adult all-inclusive resorts. A beach resort wholly devoted to the "in the moment" lifestyle, Golden Parnassus Cancun is a destination where exclusive personal service and a sophisticated yet casual spirit offer the backdrop for the ultimate in relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Jetsetter and Reservation Counter so you can book your Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Parnassus Cancun
Cancun Crown Paradise
Golden Parnassus Hotel Cancun
Golden Parnassus Resort Spa Cancun
Jack Tar Cancun
Golden Parnassus Resort Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing