We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun
Ranked #52 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Nova Scotia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Another great vacation!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Although this was my 3rd visit to the Golden in 3 years, I was nervous about the bumping from the resort to the Great. We arrived on Saturday March 9th around 2pm to check in.... flawless. Marlene was very sweet. I casually asked about being on a higher floor (they had us on 2 above the bar) since I was a repeat guest. She said she would check, and all of the 4 couples were upgraded to the 6th floor. Maru came over to say hello, Eric was also wonderful... as was everyone at the front desk.
The staff at this resort is so wonderful, I could not name everyone who makes your vacation special. They go above and beyond to make your stay the very best. The food at every restaurant is delicious, although I did miss the waffles at breakfast!!

Room Tip: try to get a room above the shopping section... it is quieter on that side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Canadiangirl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,800
    2,078
    900
    386
    285
See reviews for
551
3,557
102
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We traveled to Golden Parnassus from Feb. 28th to March 7th. This is a nice resort for the adult traveler.
The beach and water are beautiful and we enjoyed restful days in the sun. Activities are available for those interested. Hotel personnel were outstanding—always friendly and helpful. The average age of guests seemed higher than other resorts we have visited; mostly 40 and 50-year olds, but several in our 60-year age group.
Many of the visitors return again and again, loving every minute of their stay. We could go to a lounge and find spaces at a table and people ready to welcome us. We were surprised when couple after couple said this was their 6th, 7th, or more visit to GP. For these people this was a choice resort.
The food selection is limited in the buffet compared to other all inclusive resorts we have visited in Cancun and Rivera Maya area. Sadly, we both became ill with diarrhea, putting a lull on our fun
Although GP charges for use of the internet, the neighbor hotel’s wifi is free to selected locations. We were able to pick it up on our lanai, an advantage to a lagoon view room on the 3rd floor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim and Sheila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We loved this hotel from the moment we arrived. We walked into a wide open entryway & were greeted with drinks while they got our room information & everything setup. Maru & the other staff were great to deal with. We booked our day trips through Alamo, which is onsite also.

Our rooms were wide open with a jacuuzi in the corner by the patio door. The bathroom had a frosted glass dividing door with glass doors on the walk-in shower. The room was cleaned every day around 11:00.

The food is good. I wish there was at least 1 mexican restaurant, since we are in MEXICO after-all. The Shangrila had great food! The ambiance was nice & relaxing. Kind of a get away from everything else on the resort. Pier had great seafood & porkchops! The buffet always had a great breakfast & lunch, as did the poolside restaurant.

The Tiki Bar & Fins up always kept our drinks full & the music playing.

We met lots of great people at this resort and have developed friends all over the world that we will keep in contact for years to come thanks to this place.

We will definitely book at this resort again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carcrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I returned from The Golden on March 8th. This was our second visit. The property is well laid out and the wait staff is fantastic. The wait staff really care about taking care of you. The beach is wide and the ocean water is warm. The property is older but well maintained. The only issue we have had in two visits is checking in and dealing with the front desk staff. On our first visit, we requested a king bed and wound up with 2 doubles. The front desk attendant wouldn't honor our request and her attitude was very rigid and quite rude. After bantering for over an hour, she agreed to change our room the next day (I would have accepted that before our one hour stand-off). This time, they had our reservation, but they had NO ROOM! (I called the hotel directly for the confirmation number two days before arrival). They had over booked by 40 rooms that day, according to Antonio R. (front desk manager), and wanted to upgrade us to a club room at their sister hotel, The Great Parnassus, located on the beach about a mile away. You don't just over book a 214 room hotel by 40 rooms on one day!! This is a Bait and Switch operation. The Great Parnassus is a nice property, but it is not an adults only property They cannot market and sell all the rooms at the Great Parnassus, so they over book the Golden Parnassus and move the guests to fill the rooms at the Great. When you are from another country, you don't have many options during Cancun's prime tourists season. We were fortunate that another couple, who had already checked into the Golden wanted to take the upgrade offer at the Great. We were able to take their room.

The Golden has travelers who visit year-after-year. Many join their membership club and do not get bumped to the other hotel. It is a joke between them to walk through the lobby to see who is in the "Crying Chairs" near the front desk. This is where the front office staff explains that they don't have a room for them and will upgrade them to the other hotel. There are often some loud and heated exchanges between the arriving guests and the front desk staff! I feel for the front desk staff. They had to do this everyday during our 8 day stay. This is a common occurance and it appears this is the way the Golden and Great have chosen to conduct their business. Too bad! The Golden is an excellent place to stay and, if is wasn't for their reservation policy, we would return for a third time. But we won't! We just can't get past this experience. I don't like writing this type of a review, but you need to be aware of what may happen upon your arrival. Your reservation does not guarantee you a room at the Golden! Be careful who you use as a travel agency, they like to sell rooms, too! I can't prove it, but I expect they know about this bait and switch policy at the Golden and look the other way. Why not, they're still selling rooms and getting paid!
-Robert B., Auburn, ME

Room Tip: Your reservation does not guarantee a room at this resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at GP March 9-14th. We were worried about being "bumped" to their sister resort, but didn't have any problems. We arrived at the hotel around 2:00pm and were getting settled in our rooms by 2:30! The rooms were VERY clean, and kept that way daily. The only minor complaint I have about the rooms is no refrigerator. We were in room #334 and had a beautiful ocean view. If you went to bed before 10:00pm, you could kind of hear the lobby noise, but it wasn't too bad. The pool games were fun and you were never too pressured to play. Tequila volleyball was a lot of fun! I personally didn't drink alcohol, but the rest of my group did and they didn't have any complaints, if your cup was empty, it was your own fault. The restaurants were all very good. Sumo has very good sushi! Shangra La was delicious. If they aren't too busy, ask for the Mayan Coffee. It's a great show to watch and a delicious after dinner drink! The beach was always very clean, we went down at sunrise around 5:45-6am and put towels down on a couple chairs. If we didn't get up though, we usually didn't have a problem finding a chair somewhere. The staff was all very friendly and helpful. I would recommend bringing a light jacket or cover up because evenings can get chilly and even if it's cloudy during the day it got breezy. LOTS and lots of sunscreen too! Re-apply often!!!! Overall it was a great trip! A few side-notes: Isla Mujeres was nice, but I wish we would've taken the ferry instead of making it an excursion. The snorkeling wasn't very good and the food at the beach house wasn't what we expected. Also, prices there are 20% higher then if you go downtown in Cancun. We went to Mercado 28 for a day and prices were MUCH cheaper! A taxi to and from was about $20 each way. We always felt safe while traveling as well. The gift shop at the resort also has VERY good prices, some less then in town! Make sure you check there first before you go into town!

Room Tip: Oceanview rooms were very nice, but make sure you are on floor 3 or higher otherwise you'll have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JuliaP_312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL!!!!!! After reading many wonderful reviews on this site we decided on this hotel for our recent vacation, we mainly chose though because it was an Adults only resort. We read the warnings about this hotel trying to send you to their cheaper hotel down the road, but from what we had read, as long as you were firm and said no, you would get your room. We arrived at 12:30pm and were seated and told that a staff member would meet us shortly to get us checked in. After waiting for 20 minutes or so we were told there were no rooms available and that they could send us to their sister hotel 'the Great Parnassus'. We said no thank you and asked to speak with a manager, which never happened. There were about 2 dozen other people trying to check in as well and they were all told the same thing! We pressured them to give us a room for about 2 hours or more and by that time most people had caved and gone to their sister resort - we eventually got in touch with who we booked through and were sent to another Adult only resort but received absolutely NO help from the staff, not even an apology. You could tell that they did this frequently because the so called 'manager' was being continuously yelled at by multiple people and it didn't even phase him! We mentioned this to him and he admitted he did this all the time! We were absolutely disgusted by this hotel and would NEVER recommend it even though we didn't actually stay there. They take your reservation and your money for their more expensive hotel then send you down the road once you get there to their cheaper hotel which has more kids than adults, with no apologies whatsoever! Definitely a SCAM!! (We wish we had video taped this just to show how badly we were treated)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maquoketa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

It was our 1st time to this resort and 2nd time to Cancun. Was there Feb. 13-20. Weather was good. Few days were cloudy and breezy. Ocean was always rough. Beach was beautiful! We had room 115 bottom floor, lagoon side. View of parking lot and tennis courts.We didn't complain, was close to everything and never heard much noise from lobby.Beds were confortable even tho somewhat short. Food was good, great part was not having to reserve a time to go eat.Drinks were good, we took big mugs and drank out of.We only left 3 times, took bus to downtown, a mall, and to the ferry that took us over to Isla Mujeres. That was a great day.Rented a golf cart and drove around the island. The rest of the time we relaxed around the pool and ocean.Bartenders,waitresses,food servers,room maids were all great.Place was well kept. Wish would of been more tropical flowers around, too bad had no wifi in rooms unless payed for it(we did pick it up every am near the pool from Sandos), pool was some what cool, not very deep and only one set of steps to get into pool safely.Hot tub was never hot.Wish our room had a refriderator. We did tip alot.Staff works very hard.I think we would go back, not sure when cause we like to see and do different things.Maybe Jamaica next! In all we were very happy and didn't want to go home.Next trip needs to be longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kgomb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
9.9 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
5.7 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#38 of 175 in Cancun
689 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grand Oasis Sens
Grand Oasis Sens
#85 of 175 in Cancun
5,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#25 of 175 in Cancun
3,157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Resort
3.8 mi away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#49 of 175 in Cancun
3,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun

Property: Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 14.5 | Retorno San Miguelito Lote 37, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#39 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#42 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun, Golden Parnassus Cancun, is an Adults Only All Inclusive Resort Situated on an unspoiled sandbar tucked between Nichupte Lagoon and the Caribbean Sea is one of Cancun's premier adult all-inclusive resorts. A beach resort wholly devoted to the "in the moment" lifestyle, Golden Parnassus Cancun is a destination where exclusive personal service and a sophisticated yet casual spirit offer the backdrop for the ultimate in relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Parnassus Cancun
Cancun Crown Paradise
Golden Parnassus Hotel Cancun
Golden Parnassus Resort Spa Cancun
Jack Tar Cancun
Golden Parnassus Resort Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing