We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you HAVE to stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun
Ranked #53 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2003

An awesome resort! Adults only, so there was a ton of peace and quiet.
The staff was great, the food was great, the location was great, everything was great. We stayed there for our honeymoon, and we are going back this summer for our first anniversary!

2  Thank klnj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,542)
There are newer reviews for Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,758 - 5,764 of 6,543 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles, CA
16
Reviewed November 28, 2003

OK. First off, a point of reference for this review: My wife and I are in our 30's, have travelled extensively and appreciate luxury travel at bargain prices. The Golden Crown has some of what we like about all inclusives and some of what we don't like.

Let's start with the good:

1. The Shangr-La restaurant is on par with some of the great restaurants in Los Angeles. Its just very very good. The food is incredible, service impecable and the wine is adequate. Menus are six courses and change nightly. You should come prepared with the appropriate attire. No shorts or flip flops here.

2. Overall, the food is good at most of the hotels restaurants. These guys know how to cook... and we're not your buffett types.

3. The service overall is outstanding. This hotel really knows how to accommodate even the fussiest travelers. They go out of their way and it shows.

4. The location. In between two of the nicer hotels in Cancun (The Ritz and the Meridien) the Golden Crown is in a good neighborhood and one of the better beach spots.

Now for the bad:

1. The rooms are only margnially passable. They are in need of a good overhaul. Coated with bad stucko and poor lighting, the Godlen Crown's rooms don't hold up in any way to their superior food and service. They are clean. But they are sparse and dimly lit.

2. The drinks. They could spend a small amount of money and get rid of the low-grade tumblers that they like to serve almost everything outside in. Most of the local brands are disguised to look like name brands. A bottle of T&L, made to look like J&B. For a hotel with such incredible food, they really didn't spend a lot of time focused on the drinks... and its a shame because it spoils the experience.

3. The pool. It is small, shallow and completely unwelcoming. They should overhaul the pool, make it deeper and add a jacuzzi underneath the wedding hopa, which nobody uses. This is no ClubMed, and the sad thing is that they would have to do so little to add a major improvement. There is no swim-up bar and nobody is ever really in the pool, except to play water vollyball.

4. The grounds. Its like they couldnt figure out what to do with some of their space. So they added things like a dark and dank miniature golf course in a seldom used poorly lit part of the hotel. To top it off, they added these very strange figures of Hollywood icons like Elvis and, I'm assuming, Jaws, to this already bizarro part of the hotel. It cheapens the whole experience and makes you wonder how they got the food so right while getting this basic stuff so wrong.

5. The spa. Nice try. Not even close. Not by the longest stretch. More closely resembles how they might do a spa in Belarus.

6. The entertainment. OK. So now I'm being really picky. Afterall, it is a small resort and they can't exactly fly in The Dixie Chicks. The evening entertainment is noticably weak, but probably no more so that at the Oasis or other resorts of this grade.

7. The wine outside the Shangri-La restaurant. It won't win any awards anywhere... and it may make you sick.

8. Lastly, the lighting. This hotel could spend a small amount of money and improve the lighting to make it more memorable. The seafood reataurant, for some reason, has chosen to go with Wall Mart florescent. Dropping some nice halogen lights above the tables would change everything and be a significant improvement.

Overall, we wound up very impressed by certain aspects of the Golden Crown and dissapointed in others. It missed being the 'whole package' by a ways. Would we stay there again? Probably not. But only because the resort itself wasn't nice enough for us. We like to spend time in the pool. Afterall, isn't that what they're for? I'd gladly go back to the Shangri-La Restaurant, however, and drop $125 for dinner. Money well spent.

Bottom line, if you're looking for a good quality all-inclusive experience, the Golden Crown is probably worth the money and certainly so for the food itself. We'll probably go in search of something one notch higher next time.

We're about as picky as they come. Our four star rating is based on the value for money. On par with what we paid ($170 per night), we received a fair value.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2003

Just returned from our Nov. 20th stay at the Golden Crown Paradise Spa Hotel. Overall we had a great time, the staff was excellent with a capital E and the food was very good (especially the steaks and ribs in the Old Barn restaurant). All you can eat and drink with a smile!!!! The hotel beach was beautiful and the pool area peaceful and quiet. The only downside of the hotel was our room assignment. We went with two other couples who paid the same vacation package price. Two couples got a lagoon view---one couple got a beach view(luck of the draw I suppose as they didn't offer tip or bribe for oceanview). Our room (number 303) faced the lagoon which was fine with us (as the desk clerk said no other ocean view rooms were available). When trying to sleep the first night we were awakened every five minutes by some sort of loud mechanical system cutting on and off. After my husband complained around 1 pm in the morning(we couldn't stand the sound anymore), we were told our room was located over the mechanical room and finally given a room (number 433) at the other end of the hotel which was somewhat quiet the remainder of the wee morning hours. Unfortunately our second evening there, the room above our new room appeared to be grand central station and furniture moved around, doors slammed and dancing took place around 2 PM to 5PM. Don't know if the rooms in the hotel are not well insulated for sound or if we just seemed to have bad luck in room assignments. Our third and last night we slept fairly well (don't know if we were just too tired to notice any noise or if all was really quiet). Bottom line, with the exception of our room stay (which we only spent time sleeping in or rather trying to sleep in), the remainder of the hotel was great---an indoor putt-putt, 24 hour room service, beautiful lobby, etc.
Upon arrival, I would advise quests to take a short siesta to see if they can have any peace and quiet and if not, change rooms before you retire that night. Avoid Room 303, which is located above hotel mechanical room.

C.W.

2  Thank CindyWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2003

Just got back from a short stay at the Golden Crown Paradise in Cancun.
The place is beautiful and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. I went by myself in hopes that I would meet other single folks looking to hang out, but found mostly couples. There were single women like myself, but they were in groups of 3 or 4. Not many single men. My timing may be off since I went Nov.22-Nov.26, the week of Thanksgiving.

Travel was easy, the bus only costs 6 pesos and it took you all the way into town. It runs 24 hours a day, so you can party all night and still get hjome without taking a taxi...but I took a taxi after 1:00 a.m.

Food was okay, not great. Although I never eat at the Shangala or Pier 12, I did eat at the Steakhouse. They grilled my prime rib. It was not what I expected.

The resort has a very nice beach and many activities, such as volleyball, were played several times during the day.

Not a great place for a single woman in her early 40's to go, but a great place for a romantic getaway for 2

3  Thank 15marilynk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2003

Our vacation took place in November the weather was great The rooms were nice with beautiful ocean views. The room was large and easy to move around in. the bath room the same. Our maid was good and even left nicely made decorations with the wash cloths and towels as decorative pices. Room service was good, and we thought all of the restaurants were fine. The Shangrala was very good.If the portions were not large enough at any of the facilities you could always order more. We found the portions to be fine. The staff was always very helpful. When we first arrived there was a problem with our room but that was corrected early the next day.The food was good the weather was great the staff was very friendly, efficient, and courteous. The drinks were plentiful.
I'm sure we would all return, as a matter of fact we have already discussed the idea.

  • Stayed: December 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lexusWilm_De_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
12
Reviewed November 16, 2003

Well, I did a lot of research before booking this hotel for my trip on Nov.08. My friend and I are in our mid-twenties and have heard only of the Oasis Cancun because that's where everyone in our age group goes.
We wanted something more relaxed however and the information provided in these reviews was what we based our decision on. The hotel is an Adults-Only resort and is smaller than most of the other hotels on the strip. It is for this reason that the service is so great! We arrived and were seated in the lobby at the bar area where we were served a drink and a moist towel to freshen up! Check-in was completed at this time without having gone to the counter once. We requested an oceanview room and had to pay a reasonable fee for the upgrade which was well worth it! The selection of food was fantastic, whether it was the buffet, the retaurants, the snack bar, or room service. Non of the three restaurants needed a reservation and the Shangri-La changed their menu daily. The entertainment staff was excellent, always providing interactive activities and putting on different nightly shows (the Elvis Show is a riot)! Carlos, Lisa, Sergio and Alfredo you are all great and will be greatly missed! After 11pm you can join the organized group that ventures to a different nightclub (every night) or you can spend it on your own terms. A few tips to keep in mind, the exchange rates at the hotel are poor, don't drink the tap water even if there are claims that it's purified, taxis are very expensvive considering you can take the buses that run 24 hours for only $1 U.S. and always remember to tip for any service provided!

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2003

We just returned from a week at the Golden Crown Paradise. Despite some spotty weather, we had a fabulous time! When checking in we were offered an upgrade for $20 per day to a suite on the 6th floor. The upgrade had to be paid in cash and it was worth every nickel! We had a massive room with a king size bed, plenty of closet and drawer space and a huge 2 person hot tub. One thing about the 6th floor however, you give up your patio! Remember, too, that even numbered rooms have an ocean view and odd numbered rooms have a view of the lagoon. The ocean view side gets sunrises and the lagoon side gets sunsets, so if that's important to you, keep that it mind!

The staff at the Golden Crown Paradise has been remarkably well-trained in service and their English is very good. Jose at the beach-side Tiki bar is an absolute riot, as is Carlos at the lobby bar. Memo, at the Beer Garden, is a fountain of information and very pleasant to talk to.
The restaurants all had excellent food and everywhere you went the service was outstanding!

I had a most wonderful pedicure at the Spa and I heard from many couples that the couples massage was terrific (although we did not get one of those). My only complaint in the spa was that the girls tend to talk and laugh with each other in Spanish while they are working on you, which was a little awkward.

The resort also puts on a few shows during the week that are an absolute "must see" event. Especially the Elvis show, which sounded like something we certainly could have missed, but due to an unexpected rainstorm ended up attending. It was one of the highlights of my week.
We laughed so hard we had tears streaming down our faces! And karaoke night on Saturday night was a blast as well, although they need a larger song list.

The only things I really had a problem with was the constant rap music played at the Tiki (beach) bar and that the pool bar seemed to be closed for repainting all week. But the Tiki bar is close enough to the pool to make things manageable.

We also got to do something very cool and unexpected. Some sea turtles laid their eggs on the beach in front of the hotel on the 2nd day we were there, which was cool enough. But someone came along and rescued about 100 of the hatchlings and saved them in a bucket for us to release at high tide the day they hatched. That was an incredible experience! One I'll never forget!

All in all, if you are an adult who likes to have fun, enjoys good food and great service, this is the resort for you! What an awesome resort!
What a great vacation! I can't wait to go back!

6  Thank Mkehonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
9.9 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
5.7 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#40 of 176 in Cancun
710 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grand Oasis Sens
Grand Oasis Sens
#87 of 176 in Cancun
5,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#26 of 176 in Cancun
3,191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Resort
1.7 mi away
Great Parnassus Family Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 14.5 | Retorno San Miguelito Lote 37, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#40 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#42 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $188 - $519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun, Golden Parnassus Cancun, is an Adults Only All Inclusive Resort Situated on an unspoiled sandbar tucked between Nichupte Lagoon and the Caribbean Sea is one of Cancun's premier adult all-inclusive resorts. A beach resort wholly devoted to the "in the moment" lifestyle, Golden Parnassus Cancun is a destination where exclusive personal service and a sophisticated yet casual spirit offer the backdrop for the ultimate in relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Parnassus Cancun
Cancun Crown Paradise
Golden Parnassus Hotel Cancun
Golden Parnassus Resort Spa Cancun
Jack Tar Cancun
Golden Parnassus Resort Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing