We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Golden Service...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun
Ranked #54 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Ocean City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Golden Service...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Having vacationed at the Great Parnassus previously with the kids, we figured that the Golden would provide the same above quality food for an all-inclusive, which it did. It was smaller and more intimate than the Great, and is well worth the price we paid. A big plus is that the restaurants do not require reservations and provide excellent meals. The steaks (Old Barn) are of decent cuts and the fish is fresh (@ Pier 12). Shang-ri-la offers a fine dining experience and a nice array of selections. I feel, however, that the restaurants are short-staffed, which resulted in slow service. I can see that the staff is truly hustling but I noticed a number of dirty glasses at the restaurant bar as the attention was given to serving the patrons more than cleaning up (a management staffing issue).
Liquor may not be totally top shelf but is sufficient. The service truly excels as the staff remembers you and your preferences (Moses and Edith).
During our visit, some people reserved lounge chairs but that was at a minimum and we were able to find chairs at will. Beach bar was also excellent and very convenient.
On the down side, the resort does not provide free wi-fi. This would be a bigger issue if it were not for the neighboring resort, where you can pick up their free wi-fi if in close enough range.
We have been to many all-inclusives and feel the food was above par as well as the service. Accommodations were clean but not fancy, and well worth the price we paid for this trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank By the beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,529
    1,912
    816
    351
    249
See reviews for
469
3,192
89
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

The staff from A to Z can take pride in knowing that myself and my friends feel we have found a special place where your treated better than family in a place where you dont feel overcrowded and yet have everything you can imagine in a resort that does it the best.
Thankyou Golden Parnassus -S.Walley

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SWBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
140 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

The positives: The staff is very friendly and eager to please, the beach and pool area quite good, the food is decent especially in the specialty restaurants, the location is very good - far enough from the nightclub area that you can feel removed yet get there easily, walking around in the area feels safe. Bus is a great option and just a few minutes walk from the hotel. They try to keep everyone busy with events throughout the day. Bottom line, this hotel is a good value for the money, just be sure you are expecting a basic middle of the road level resort.

The negatives: First, there is no free internet anywhere, but they will give you 15 free minutes in exchange for you leaving a positive review of the hotel on TripAdvisor. This feels like they are buying good ratings and I would guess is artificially boosting their overall rating. Our room was fairly clean, but walking barefoot I always got grit on my feet. A bottle or two of water was provided daily in the room but throughout the stay, we got bottles with expired dates by a few months. The lighting is not very good and only three plug-ins throughout the entire standard room including the bathroom. They could make it easier for the guests with things like explanations of the food (instead of just saying "Mexican omelet" tell the guest what it includes), provide a list of the more popular drinks instead of the guests needing to point to other drinks and ask the bartenders what it is (can still indicate that they will make anything), they encourage guests to use linens for three days and to call the desk asap if you don't want to participate. We are fine with the three day option but for those that are not, take the work off the guests and indicate to just leave towels on the floor if they want them replaced. The safe in our room did not have a real key and did not give a feeling of safety at all. The buffet restaurant food was OK, but presentation lacking. Also, they were trading out breakfast items for lunch items by 8:45 am. Get there early.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zelda21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had the choice of the Golden Parnassus or the NOW Sapphire for the same price. We chose GP since we had been to NOW last October and wanted to try something new. Granted it was only a 4 day 3 night stay, so we weren't there for anything but sun and beach. The beach is beautiful and there are plenty of beach chairs. No actiivities such as kayaking, etc on site. Beach volleyball and games by the pool were fun. Drinks were plentiful, if watered down (a nice tip helps alleviate this issue) I had trouble finding soda water for a mixer, that was a bit strange.
Restaurants need facitlies upgraded. Had the breakfast buffet, which was plentiful, and they had a made to order omelette station. The Asian restaurant had surprising good sushi, my husband had a steak and liked it. Otherwise we ordered room service that came in a timely fashion.
The rooms, ugh. It felt like a spring break hotel. The thinnest linens I have ever experienced. Scratchy towels. Luke warm water in the shower. Ants on the patio.

The staff was very attentive at all the bars. We had fun at the sixties disco. All the music played at the bars caters to Americans (country/pop). A lot of advertisments for outside clubs (ie. Foam Parties, Club hopping) all over the resort, again giving it a "spring breaker" feel. The small activites staff was fun and welcoming.

All that being said, you get what you pay for, and unfortunately we have paid less to stay at nicer places. Our general consensus is that it is in the process of being sold or closing : (

Room Tip: A higher ocean view room would be worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank PittsburghBeachgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Me and my Honey spent a week at the Golden from Nov 3rd -10th. check in was a breeze the front desk staff was very friendly and no issues with them being rude as some have stated in the past.
We had a lagoon view room on the 5th floor as requested and there were no issues with it ,the bed was very comfortable and the air cond. and shower all worked fine.
We ate at all the specialty restaurants and they all were very good with the steakhouse being our favorite, the no need to make a resveration for dinner was so nice, not to be on any schedule. We always had breakfast at the buffet and there were many choices to choose from, the 24hour snack bar was very good as well ( with the cheeseburgers being the best ever).
The beach was beautiful, however a bit slanted for walking made it hard on your ankles and the rough sea made it a bit of a challange to swim, where as you needed to use caution
The entertainment staff did a wonderful job to get all involved in the activities around the pool and the beach.
The TIKI bar was the most popular spot either during the day or evening or into the wee hours for those that wanted, all the bartenders did a wonderful job, and worked there "butts" off.
One day a blow up doll showed up around the Tiki Bar/ pool area that was a great hit ( not sure if someone brought him in or if the resort had it there).
Overall it was a great trip and a good value and we would return maybe as early as March2013.
If you decide to go I'm sure you will not regret it . Enjoy your Travels

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shil0girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great hotel for couples and you will never be bored. So much happening in this hotel that time flies. We would love to go back for another stay. By the way, everyone that we spoke to could only comment about how much they loved the rooms, location and feel of this hotel.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

What makes this place special?. It is not the old furniture in the rooms, Not the WiFi which they charge you for. Not the breakfast Buffet which has no bagles, english Muffins or bagels. Not bacon which is so well done and putt out early which doesn't taste good. It is everything else about the resort. The staff is great., the activities always seems to be happening around the pool. Water vallyball twice a day. One of the volleyballs is tequila volleyball. If myou mess up you get a shot of watered down tequila. Beach volleyball once a day. Beerpong played in the pool on a floating table, Bingo, They even had a baby lion to take pictures with. The lunch and dinner's are excellent. The lunch buffwt has three stations including: Italian, Mexican (faiters) and Chinese. They also have sushi. They have 4 alacarte restaurants for dinner including a steakhouse with fine cuts of meat. The bars are open by 9 AM including one on the beach. The beach has plenty of palapas and some beach service. The resort is small enough that you get to meet other adults and there are are a wide variety of ages from 20's through 60's. I would tell anybody who is thinking of staying here to book a club room. It is worth the extra money. You get a stocked minibar that is refreshed everday, a true two person jettedtub, one room servie meal and a lunch trip on the bay which was alot of fun. Your armband is even different which identifys you as a VIP. They will print your return boarding passes for you free. I do want to pointout that this resort is owned by the same family that owns Golden crown Paradise in Puerto Vallarta., Mexico. There are a lot of similar items in this hotel as that one

Room Tip: Get a clubroom. See above
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jerry43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
5.7 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#44 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
3.1 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#26 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,038 reviews
3.1 mi away
Royal Solaris Cancun
Royal Solaris Cancun
#36 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Great Parnassus Family Resort
0.1 mi away
Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort
2.7 mi away
GR Solaris Cancun
GR Solaris Cancun
#34 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun

Property: Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 14.5 | Retorno San Miguelito Lote 37, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#38 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#42 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun, Golden Parnassus Cancun, is an Adults Only All Inclusive Resort Situated on an unspoiled sandbar tucked between Nichupte Lagoon and the Caribbean Sea is one of Cancun's premier adult all-inclusive resorts. A beach resort wholly devoted to the "in the moment" lifestyle, Golden Parnassus Cancun is a destination where exclusive personal service and a sophisticated yet casual spirit offer the backdrop for the ultimate in relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Parnassus Cancun
Cancun Crown Paradise
Golden Parnassus Hotel Cancun
Golden Parnassus Resort Spa Cancun
Jack Tar Cancun
Golden Parnassus Resort Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing