We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Occidental Costa Cancun
Ranked #46 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Visited Mexico for the first time the hotel Barcelo Costa Cancun in December. Many good and unforgettable impressions from the hotel and the staff. Staff is very kind and smiling and well doing their jobs. A wide choice of food and drinks on any вкус. Hotel territory at very clean.In hotel rest as young people and older. The beach is clean and cleaned every day. The sea is wonderful, very nice and clean! Entertainment in the hotel deserves praise! A very memorable Ivan Garcia. He knows how to cheer any person of any age!Ivan Garcia showed exercises, Yoga on the beach, playing volleyball, water exercises for strengthening tone. Ivan Garcia organized a group of people around the lake Lagoon kayaking, impression of extreme sports!!!Very responsible worker. Consideration the work of rescuers!They take care for young children,swimming in the sea and in the pool. My advice,if you visit the hotel Barcelo Costa Cancun stay satisfied and your vacation will be unforgettable. If the weather is rainy, at the reception is a lot of fun games and contests! Remember the game of Bingo!!! Participated people of different age. It was very fun, exciting and gave the winners of the prizes and I forgot that it was raining outside!

Room Tip: Visit Barcelo Costa Cancun! This is my lovely hotel!!! My next a visit only in Barcelo Costa Cancun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annanikitina1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia C, General Manager at Occidental Costa Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Annanikitina1986,

Thank you for your kind comments, we are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your vacations in our hotel and we are delighted to have met your expectations.

We are glad you enjoyed our atmosphere by the pool, our beach an restaurants since we work really hard to make sure our guests have an amazing time with us.

Also, it is gratifying to receive such great comments regarding our staff; specially Ivan Garcia we will surely congratulate him for their terrific job.

Hope to see you again on your next visit to Cancun.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,878)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,705 - 1,711 of 5,879 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

This hotel had a wonderful calm, clear beach with tons of space to lounge or play with easy access to everything. Al a carte restaurants were easy to get into and well worth it, great service and food. The buffet was a great choice for variety (especially breakfast). We found the front desk to very helpful wit anything that we needed. Rooms were clean and stocked daily no complaints. The best part of my vacation at the Barceló was spending the days at the pool. Beautiful pool wit wonderful service ( best I have ever had). Thanks to Carmen, Sandra and Linda the best serves I have ever met made ours days wonderful and so easy. Most of all a huge thank you to the entertainment staff, the activities/games gave us tons of laughs and great memories. Special thank you to Luis Enrique Valadez Sanchez for making my vacation one I will never forget at spectacular hotel. The staff blew me away giving the best service and making the Barceló a home away from home.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niki N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia C, General Manager at Occidental Costa Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Niki N,

We love that your visit to Barcelo Costa Cancun was once more great and worth mentioning on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your taking the time to post some details of your experience and we sincerely hope to welcome you many more times in the future!

We are glad you enjoyed our atmosphere and variety of food since we work really hard to make our guests feel comfortable and make sure they have an amazing time with us. i will congratulate all the staff you mentioned.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Barcelona Costa Cancun, the best hotel i've ever been to! Everything was so perfect and beautifuland and so lovely! Especially the entertainment people!

I can clearly say that the entertainment people, Luis Enrique Valadez Sanchez, Natasha Bertrand and Enrique Osnaya made my holiday extra good! They are absolutley the loveliest people i've meet, they have a great ambition for their job, they have a good mood and spreading joy!
They are the best!

LUIS ENERIQUE IS VERY HANDSOME!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nellyisacson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia C, General Manager at Occidental Costa Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Nellyisacson,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay in tripadvisor. We are very fortunate to have such an excellent team who give their all on a daily basis. Thank you for noticing, and thank you for the special mention of the entertainment staff.



We truly appreciate your recent visit and hope that you will return again very soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Could not recommend this hotel highly enough! Great hotel offering everything you need for a great time and brilliant friendly staff, in particular Ivan Garcia who was a great help with any advice we needed and always made sure we had a great time whilst staying in the hotel and attending nights out arranged by the hotel.

Don't hesitate in booking up!

Room Tip: I have stayed at this hotel twice and both rooms were very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Costa Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Adam W,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to record your feedback here on Tripadvisor. I appreciate the time and consideration you have taken in sharing your opinions, all this help us to improve day by day.

We are very fortunate to have such an excellent team who give their all on a daily basis. Thank you for noticing, and thank you for the special mention of Ivan García.

We truly appreciate your recent visit and hope that you will return, will be glad to host you again in the near future.

kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Spent 11 days at this resort and loved everything. It is not super fancy, but I do feel it is a solid 4 star - even 4.5 in some aspects. The rooms were large and spacious. The bed was comfortable. The staff was great and very helpful.
The food was great and they had a different theme every night. We ate at a couple of the restaurants and they were very good. They have a 24hr snack bar which was great for a midnight snack and they also had alcohol there for drinks if you wanted as well as beer on tap.
One thing some people may not like was the staff usually spoke spanish first, so if you don't understand any it may take you off guard. But if you just respond in english they will speak to you in english. It is nice to keep a little more authentic feel for being in Mexico I thought. And what better place to brush up on your spanish!
The only problem was the area of the ocean is not very large for you to swim in. It is in a little corner where there are boats but they have it roped off.
Our room had the bigger balcony which was really nice. Also had a hammock on it and that was great for laying on and relaxing.
I would absolutely recommend this hotel and for sure would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AgentSuzyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Costa Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear AgentSuzyQ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience; this helps us recognize our areas of opportunity so we can provide a better service in the future.

Furthermore, it makes us happy to know you enjoyed the restaurants and facilities,

Its been a pleasure to serve you and we hope you can visit us again soon.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed in this hotel with 2 friends for 14 nights and had a great holiday!

The room

We had a junior suite which could fit 3 people in but was ideally for 2! It had 2 double beds and a sofa bed. The room was clean and our maid always did a great job of cleaning it and refreshing our towels etc. We gave the maid a tip at the beginning of the holiday and our mini bar was stocked daily, almost to a point where we couldn't consume all the beer! The bathroom was large and had a massive shower area. We had a sea front balcony which contained a hammock. This was nice to relax at the end of a busy day before you started your evening.

Pool area
The large pool was busy in the day but we always managed to get a sunbed. If you're up by 11am this shouldn't be a problem.

Beach
The hotel beach is small but great if you can get a good spot. It is also right next to the beach bar where you can get refreshments easily.

Food
We ate at all the restaurants. We found that if you booked in the morning, you could usually get in the restaurants that evening. Its probably best to book the night before to ensure that you do get a reservation. We found the food was good in the restaurants and were to a good standard. The buffet had a different theme each night. They had a wide variety and if you're not a fussy eater there should be a good enough variety of food! The staff could be a little grumpy if you tried to book in some of the restaurants at a late notice, but it was no big deal. Most of the staff seemed helpful and willing to assist.

Staff
We thought the bar staff were fantastic. If you tip at the beginning of the holiday, they will look after you and have your next drinks ready without fail. Special mention to Alex our bar man, he was fantastic and couldn't do enough for us! If you treat the staff with respect they will be great in return.

Location
If you want to be staying in the heart of Cancun near all the nightclubs then this probably isn't the most ideal hotel as its right at the end of the strip and at least a 10 min taxi ride away. Not a big issue as we payed to get a taxi ride down to the main part of the strip.

Excursions
Visit Xel ha, its a great experience for all ages. A great day out!
Chichen Itza - great day out to see the Mayan ruins and you end the day with a buffet dinner and if you want you can jump into an ice cold lagoon to cool off!
Captain Hooks pirate ship - If you're looking for a funny night out go on the captain hook pirate ship. Great entertainment and a fantastic steak dinner!

Nightlife
All of the nightclubs offer an all inclusive package for around $30 and is worth paying for. Make sure you tip to ensure you get good service. If you tip at the beginning of the nip they will look after you! Cogo Bongos is a must! All the nightclubs are located around coco bongos and are within a walking distances.

Overall
I enjoyed my time at the Barcelo. It was worth the money we paid and would return again. I would say its more suitable for friends and not for couples as its quite a busy hotel and mostly full of young people.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank APOOLE86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia C, General Manager at Occidental Costa Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience; this helps us recognize our areas of opportunity so we can provide a better service in the future.

Furthermore, it makes us happy to know you enjoyed the restaurants, facilities, entertainment and personalized service we offer. Thank you for recognize the work of our barman Alex will be glad to congratulate him for his great job

We hope you can visit us again soon.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The Barcelo Costa Cancun was the first hotel we ever stayed at in Cancun. We did not realize at that time that it would be our favorite. We have tried other hotels offering deeper discounts, different areas of town, etc. but always end up coming back to the Barcelo. Our most recent stay was in early 2013. I enjoy wading in the ocean water for hours at a time and this area of Cancun definitely has the calmest waters. North facing Cancun has none of the heavy break that you'll find in the waters facing the East. The only chop is created by an occasional boat driving past to enter the lagoon. The food is always enjoyable and my meat-and-potatoes husband usually tries something unusual at the restaurants (knowing that if he doesn't like it, he can go to the buffet afterwards for a hamburger and french fries!) The workers sitting at desks immediately behind the gift shop claim they are "hospitality", but in reality they are there to convince you to go on a timeshare presentation. If you're up for it, then you'll get breakfast and a tour of another hotel (just remember to decline the timeshare offer!). If you really want one...I'll sell you mine haha! If you don't want to be bothered, be stern but not rude with your "no." Afterall, they are just there trying to earn a meager living. Many of these "hospitality" agents (unlike the front desk staff) are there year-after-year. We have often been remembered and will sit and talk with them for a while. We have found that they will go out of their way for you even if you don't take their tours. The hotel is located within walking distance of the La Isla Mujeres tours marina. Also, there are pirate ships, helicopter rides and an observation tower next door. We often ride the bus towards downtown Cancun to shop and catch a movie at the Plaza Las Americas. The location and hospitality can't be beat! Even though the resort is all-inclusive, remember to tip your wait staff!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Allinclusivepro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Costa Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Allinclusivepro,

Thank you for your kindly comments. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your vacations in our hotel and we are delighted to have met your expectations.

We are glad you enjoyed our atmosphere and variety of food since we work really hard to make our guests feel comfortable and make sure they have an amazing time with us.

Hope to see you again on your next visit to Cancun.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.5 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
3.1 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
5 mi away
Emporio Cancun
Emporio Cancun
#45 of 176 in Cancun
2,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Occidental Tucancun
Occidental Tucancun
#40 of 176 in Cancun
5,658 reviews
2.3 mi away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
5.1 mi away
The Royal Caribbean
The Royal Caribbean
#37 of 176 in Cancun
2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Costa Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Costa Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan km. 4.5 | Lote D7 5 Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Costa Cancun)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $195 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Costa Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Costa Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Costa Cancun Hotel Cancun
Barcelo Cancun
Gran Costa Real
Costa Real Cancun
Barcelo Costa Cancun Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing