We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality hotel and value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Occidental Costa Cancun
Ranked #47 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2013

In our opinion...stay was in January 2013
* Reception and bar staff were ok
* Waiters in the buffet restaurant very friendly
* Beach area is not very large but does the job and very clean, but watch the current
* Food in buffet restaurant where we ate every time except once, was of a good standard
* Drinks were good too. Corona on draft. Pay about an extra £1 for Jack Daniels, but Smirnoff and Bacardi included
* Room maid was great
* Fridge topped up daily with 2 cans of Corona and Corona Light, water, coke/diet coke, fanta and filter coffee
* The 24 hour bar is especially useful if you go on a day trip that starts early
* After 9 pm the shows start around pool area and the music can get very loud
* Also had a massage from the spa which was fantastic
* We booked with Thomas Cook and our trip cost £1200 each for 2 weeks – take off the cost of the flight about £500 and that would mean each day cost £50 for all inclusive, with sun - now you don’t get that in Blighty!
* Also had a night in old Cancun - beers 25 peso's about £1.30 and a wide selection
* Buses run all the time. We caught over 10 and longest we waited must have been 20 seconds! Cost about 40 pence
* If travelling with others you may want to think about paying the extra and booking seats even if you travel in Premium
* Did the Dolphin trip with Dolphin Discovery which was great. If you want the photographs afterwards hold back a bit and you should get a discount.
* Chichen Itza was good but fairly long day. About 7am – 6.30pm.

* Value for money - we have rated this 8/10 for what we paid

Room Tip: If you want to be away from some noise between 9 - 10.30pm ask to be far away from the stage area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19zico67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Costa Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Customer,
Greetings, thanks for choosing Barceló Costa Cancún It was a pleasure to have you with us,
Thanks for taking time to value and rate our product and services,
We hope you give us another chance to serve you, if you happen to visit Cancun in the future


With best regards,
Marc Giesemann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,762)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,837 - 1,843 of 5,765 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Disappointed in this hotel, not a 4 star!! Most of the rooms don't have proper balconies, they are a foot wide so you can only just stand on them! So no balcony drinks watching the sunset!
The main bar was in the reception area and lacked any atmosphere! It felt like you were waiting for your coach home! And it closed at midnight!
The pool bar was nicer but closed at 11pm (and they didn't hang around, they would start cleaning around you at 10.30pm and had left 11pm on the dot).
And the so called 24 hr bar was just corona on draft in a room (so that was all you had after midnight and if that ran out you were out of luck).
The staff were not that friendly, civil but didn't up out of their way. Our air con broke on the 2nd day and they never apologised let alone fixed it. And on our final night our room key wouldn't work! We had to wait nearly an hour for them to come and fix it (just a simple battery change) and again no apology!
The pool and beach area was lovely, and location is good for cancun centre and the pirate boat!
If you get a good price, go for it! But it's not as good as the website makes it seem!
Loved cancun though!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Costa Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Costumer

Customer’s feedback is very important to us. I have reviewed this claim regarding your recent trip to our hotel and I am deeply sorry that you encountered issues during your stay. Could you please help up with more information about your stay with us like stay dates, under what name the reservation was, also if you remember the room number.


Once again, I reiterate our apology on this matter and hope to have an opportunity to change this bad impression.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I have been spenting our well earned holidays at this Barcelo every November since 2005. The staff are just fabulous and remember us every year. The food is just great and a very good variety, you ask you get because nothing is too much. I am disappointed when I read bad reviews about the food(mainly from brits) because the chefs and staff always have catered very well for us and maybe a little spanish goes a long way (or just go to Blackpool). The managers and Captains are always on hand to assist with anything. The location is great for down town and the party strip and right next to the Pirates Tavern boat trips. This is our favourite place in the world.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernadette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Costa Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Customer,
Greetings, thanks for choosing Barcelo Costa Cancún It was a pleasure to have you with us,
Thank you so much for your comments, and thank you for being part of the barceló family.
We hope you give us another chance to serve you, if you happen to visit Cancun in the future


With best regards,
Marc Giesemann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband I went there on a last minute vacation. We have stayed at several places all around mexico. This was our least favorite of them all. The rooms were big, bathroom were small. We asked specifically for one bed and we were given 2 twin/double beds. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfy. The pool was nice but no swim up bar. The staff were friendly and sweet and were there to serve you the best they could. The food was utterly disgusting. I physically could not eat at the buffet after day 3. I stuck to fruit, ice cream and bread. The beach was small but nice. There was always a place to sit. The entertainment was poor. They would just dance to different music each night. I found there was nothing to do to pass the time. I wish they had something to do at night so ppl could mingle. Also you had to pay for all the extras, wifi, computer access, games. I relaxed a lot and was well rested when I left but over all it was less than ok. I would not go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gill s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Costa Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Costumer,
Greetings from Barceló Costa Cancún It was a pleasure to have you with us. We appreciate taking time to review our services.
I assure you that all departments involved on this claim where well informed about it, corrective measures and evaluation will be taken.

Warm Regards
Marc GIesemann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I just got back from a stay at this hotel. The hotel was clean and nice, the staff all very friendly. The staff were excellent. It was a little smaller than we had expected though, with only one buffet (went to the same one for breakfast lunch and dinner). The beach was not great, the hotel is located in the marina area and therefore you do not get the gorgeous turquoise cancun water with the big waves or the sound of the ocean. The area with beach chairs was quite crowded and there was a pirate ship in view at all times. Although still pretty it felt more like we were at the lake than the ocean. I would not recommend the hotel for younger travellers, the nightlife at the hotel was finished early, no disco or dancing at night and not a lot of people our age. Next time I go back to cancun I will definitely stay closer to the airport along the big main beach area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMMm L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Costa Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Costumer,
Greetings, thanks for choosing Barceló Costa Cancún It was a pleasure to have you with us,
Thanks for taking time to value and rate our product and services,

It would be a pleasure to have you on a longer break soon.
With best regards,
Marc Giesemann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We just got back from our vacation at the Barcelo Costa early this morning. It was a nice vacation, we went with our 2 kids ages 1 and 3. They've got day care services for kids ages 4-11 for free, I believe, and for a cost, you can get baby sitting services for kids older than 1.
We arrived very late on Thurs Jan 24th and we checked in with no problems (room 549) and we went up to the sports bar for some hot dogs and other snacks. There is a 'serve yourself bar' up there with some premium and domestic alcohol which is a nice treat. The sports bar has snacks 24/7. (pizza, hotdogs, fruit, etc)
We went to our room and it was large enough and clean. I found the bathroom to be a little dated but the shower was great. It was huge with a glass door. The door to the bathroom was in a very weird spot though. You had to squeeze into the bathroom and then close the door because it hits the toilet,
If you're 'lucky' enough to have a room near the road like us, get used to to the sound of helicopter tours landing and taking off all afternoon on the launch pad across the way. If you're not in your room- then it's a non-issue.
We had a very small balcony looking onto the pool area and it was loud at times when we were trying to get the kids to have an afternoon nap because of all the pool music and activities. Also, the shows in the evening were very loud and went on till around 10:00 to 10:30 so that's not really the end of the world. Most of the rooms face the pool area and that's where the entertainment happens. For some reason there was an adjoining door to the next room and the neighbour kids thought it was fun to knock on it from time to time and the door has big gaps in it so it's very easy to hear noise from next door, The nightly entertainment was really well done, there was a really neat show about the Myan's history and also a Mexican culture celebration and you can see there is a lot of pride in their heritage. They had a 'water show' which was neat. They've apparently got an awesome Michael Jackson impersonator there too but we missed that. The only complaint we have is one night there was a pop star lip sync and it was very racy. The dancers were practically naked and actually using chairs to enhance their dancing. Seriously, The real Brittney Spears would have blushed had she seen the impersonator. So single guys and women who don't care about basically watching a strip show, have at it. It's not for myself or my family. The food was great and there was lots to choose from. However after a few days one might tire of seeing different types of meat in different kinds of sauces. The chicken wings are the best I've ever had. The pool was clean as was the beach. There's guys raking up all the sea weed and junk off the shore all day and they even rake the sand to make it look nice. The wait staff is excellent and very hard working. They're right there when you need them. The room cleaners do a good job too however if you don't want to be bothered at 8:30am, I suggest you use your "do not disturb sign'. Also, where they are concerned, money talks. More tipping gets you more towel art if that's your thing, but cleanliness was never sacrificed in lieu of tips.
The whole resort was nicely landscaped, The a la carte restaurants were good, there's 3 of them. (seafood, Mexican and Spanish)
Its a very small resort so there's really no where to walk with in the grounds but if you like, you can just go for walks down the street like we did and do some shopping or whatever, We didn't venture out too much because of the kids. We heard that the excursions were awesome though, Now and again people would try to sell you crap along the shore on the beach which was sort of annoying but whatever, they weren't pushy. Overall, we had a great time, and I can't say enough about all the employees there. They were so kind to my kids, playing with them, making them laugh and really going that extra mile to make you feel special and comfortable.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a hammock! Oh, and if you stay longer than 3 nights, you get a coupon book wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shamni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Costa Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Costumer
Greetings, thanks for choosing Barceló Costa Cancún It was a pleasure to have you with us,
Thanks for taking time to value and rate our product and services,

It would be a pleasure to have you with your family on a longer break soon.
With best regards,
Marc Giesemann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Me (aged 22) & my Mam (aged 47) stayed here from the 15th January to the 29th January. We travelled with Thomas Cook as a package and paid approximately £1250 each for all inclusive. We live in Durham, but during the winter Thomas Cook only fly long haul from Manchester to Goa or Mexico, so we were limited in choice from the beginning.

Upon arrival in Cancun, we were directed to our transfer bus, where the rep proceeded to tell us we practically NEEDED some sort of elastic bracelet to keep the mosquitos away at the cost of $7 each, but they only lasted 8 days - so essentially everyone there for a fortnight needed two! Seeing as I usually get eaten alive, we opted to buy one each to see if they helped. Not only did we not see one mosquito (even though it rained for 5 of the 14 days), no other tour operator sold these so-called mosquito deterrents! Also, it was the first time many of the passengers on the coach (including ourselves) learned that there was a tax for leaving the country £45 each or 785 pesos each! The rep also said the only real shopping places were Market 28 or Walmart. On the rainy days, we ventured out to these places, Market 28 is good only for souvenirs and each of the 50 stalls sell the same things. The rep lied - on the bus back to the airport we saw a HUGE shopping plaza, including a SEARS, C&A etc, and probably only about 10mins from Walmart!

On arriving at the hotel (about 25mins from the airport), it was clean, the staff were efficient at checking us in & getting our cases to the room. It was just starting to get dark, approx 5:30pm, so we headed down to the beach bar, which was brilliant. We started to make our way down the cocktail list - the only one we found we didn't like was the Margarita, but then again, we don't like tequila! Our favourites were the Costa Cancun and the Electric Lemonade! During the day, if you wish to be served at this bar, do not make a point of sitting down on the stools, as the bar staff assume you are just seeking shade! During the day, the bar staff here seemed more pre-occupied with washing the glasses than serving the guests! Most branded spirits are included in the All Inclusive package, so if you want Bacardi in your piña colada, you just had to ask or you'd get the local stuff! The lager on tap was Corona and all the soft-drinks were branded, eg. Coke, Sprite, Fanta etc.

The beach itself is beautiful, white sands, palm trees and clear water. My Mam was always up early so we always had pretty good sun beds, drag them right to the front of the beach as by about 2pm, the ones nearer the back lose the sun due to the palm trees. Similarly, round the pool, get a subbed outside the front of the Don Quijote restaurant.

We didn't use the restaurants where you require a reservation, we were quite content with the buffet selection. Fresh fruit, cereal, pancakes, fresh waffles, full cooked breakfast, pastries, continental meats & cheeses, and eggs/omelettes made to order were all on offer at breakfast, among Mexican traditional foods! Each night was a themed night, including a BBQ Night, Oriental Night (fresh sushi), Italian Night & Mexican Night. Avoid the slow-roasted pulled pork - we were both ill the following day!

On an evening there is an entertainment programme, however, it is quite poor. They only have a weekly programme, so once you've been there a week, you've pretty much seen all there is to see. The best nights for us were the URBAN FANTASY dance group, the pop star impersonators & the pirate show. The traditional cultural shows (Mexican/Caribbean/Mayan) were a bit boring and it was mostly girls in thongs wiggling and shaking! Theses shows only last an hour, 9pm-10pm, as the entertainment staff are more keen on persuading you to part with $50 per person to go to the nightclubs - considering the average age of the guest was about 45-50, I'm assuming they didn't make many sales while we were there. The Casino Night on a Tuesday has a live band playing on the stage, however, the tables are set up on the dance floor area. Many of the guests were looking and struggling to find places to dance. The night-time experience could have been so much better had the staff put some music/a DJ on in the hotel so people could dance & drink where they had already paid for it!

Our room was spacious and clean. Towels renewed every day and the minibar restocked daily. Water was at its hottest early morning, by 5pm, the water was only warm. We only had a shower in our room, not sure if the others had baths.

Considering the price of the holiday, I think it was expensive for what it was. We could have been anywhere in the world, nothing special, and I don't think we will return.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
7  Thank Emmab2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Costa Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Costumer,
Greetings, thanks for choosing Barceló Costa Cancún It was a pleasure to have you with us,
Thanks for taking time to value and rate our product and services,

It would be a pleasure to have you with your family on a longer break soon.
With best regards,
Marc Giesemann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.5 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
3.1 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
5 mi away
Emporio Cancun
Emporio Cancun
#46 of 176 in Cancun
2,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Occidental Tucancun
Occidental Tucancun
#40 of 176 in Cancun
5,566 reviews
2.3 mi away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
5.1 mi away
The Royal Caribbean
The Royal Caribbean
#37 of 176 in Cancun
2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Costa Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Costa Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan km. 4.5 | Lote D7 5 Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Costa Cancun)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $173 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Costa Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Costa Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Costa Cancun Hotel Cancun
Barcelo Cancun
Gran Costa Real
Costa Real Cancun
Barcelo Costa Cancun Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing