We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Cancun
Post
Inbox
Search

“Got food poisoning”
Review of El Fish Fritanga

El Fish Fritanga
Ranked #125 of 1,370 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Blvd. Kulkulcan, between La Europea and dominos pizza - you see 2 stools & take-out, but go behind and downstaris-waterfront w/ ceviche tostadas! YES
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I visited El Fish Fritanga for a meal off the resort. We got there at 5:30 to watch the sunset. She ordered one of the chicken dinners (doesn't eat seafood) and I had the creamed fish & seafood meal. My food could have been hotter, but for the most part it looked and tasted fine. I should have known something was off when I had to use the restroom halfway through but I tend to digest quickly and had eaten a decent amount earlier in the day. Stomach began turning when I laid down for bed after dinner.

Long story short was bed ridden for the next 36 hours and lost a day of vacation. No I'm not sensitive to seafood in general-- I'm pescatarian and eat seafood with almost every meal. Hadn't been drinking alcohol. All meals before and after sickness were fine. Something was not prepared properly here and we were very disappointed after reading the rave reviews. Obviously people will still go, but just be careful. I'm sure there's another seafood place in the area that properly prepares food (and has a view!).

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank Ashli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayFishFritanga, Director General at El Fish Fritanga, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Ashli,

We are very sorry to hear that you had a really bad experience. Fortunately, we didn't have any other event like yours.

Of course, we always take our client's word as true. Please let us know if you are still in Cancun, and if there is something we can do to help you. We would be glad to assist you.

If you could please provide us a phone number, so our general manager can speak with you personally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,825)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 1,825 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The atmosphere and character of this hidden gem can't be overstated. You really have to look for it, as the as the bar on the street is not the restuarant, you have to go downstairs, where charm and incredible food awaits you. The service is perfect, the food divine. I highly recommend El Fish Fritanga!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank mitcheverett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayFishFritanga, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Fish Fritanga, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear mitcheverett

We are pleased to read that you ventured to know our restaurant and enjoy our dishes. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you soon.
We will be happy to receive it again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It isn't beachfront, but the tables are set in the sand. It is adjacent to a dock with yachts tied up to it. We had good meal here one evening.

We shared Tostones and Camarones Aguachilies. My wife ordered a whole grilled fish and I had ribeye. Everything was delicious. Our waiter was Marco and the gentleman did a good job. Recommended!

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayFishFritanga, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Fish Fritanga, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Timothy H

Thanks for share your opinion.
We are really happy to read that you and your wife enjoyed of every thing, un special of our tables in the sand, tostones and camarones aguachile.

We hope to see you son!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Don't be fooled by the taco stand street look. Down the stairs is a lagoon side restaurant. We mentioned it was recomended by staff at Casa Maya and everyone in the party of 5 was given a free drink. Great seafood, Bill came to $84 US for 5 people.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 935artk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayFishFritanga, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Fish Fritanga, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 935artk

Thanks for share your opinion, it's important for us!
We are happy to read that you ventured to know our restaurant and that you enjoyed our experience.

We hope to have the pleasure of receiving you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed the tables on the sand and the food was very good. The service is excellent. The food is good but not outstanding. It was fun enough that we went back for a second meal, though. The view is really of the dock and the boats there so you don’t have an amazing view but it’s a fun little sand-based restaurant. The people working there are very professional and personable. You can have fun watching the grackles constantly trying to steal food off the tables.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Blitz2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayFishFritanga, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Fish Fritanga, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Blitz2020

Thanks for share us your opinion, it's really important for us.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed our service and tables on the sand. We hope to see you soon!
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Fish Fritanga also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to El Fish Fritanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing