We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, Amazing restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Habichuela Sunset

La Habichuela Sunset
Reserve with OpenTable
La Habichuela Sunset is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #56 of 939 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $2
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: La Habichuela Sunset Surpasses your expectations. Welcome: A unforgettable sunset awaits you. They say its a museum turned into a restaurant. Aside from its bold and modern arquitechture, the ambiance is based on the mayan culture with the intent of giving our customers a unique experience surrounded by masks of ancient kings, a 9 meter mayan column from floor to ceiling and a 30 meter hand carved kukulkan wooden snake. Our open garden area next to the lagoon allows you to dine with the stars and the moon. But our biggest pride being our exquisite dishes, from traditional yucatecan recipes to sophisticated caribbean/mexican fusions. We have a vast variety of international wines as well as national. We follow and maintain our founders philosophy of providing prompt and detailed service since 1977. Dont miss our mayan rituals shows during the week that will transport you in time to the ancient mayan civilization.
Willow Springs, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Romantic, Amazing restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

If you are ever in the hotel zone of Cancun, you must have dinner at this restaurant. The view of the bay is breathtaking as you sit on the patio and experience gourmet dining, excellent service and the night we were there, an acoustic guitarist playing quietly in a corner of the out door dining scene. This restaurant is so charming you are whisked away to a romantic evening that is beyond description. DO dine at La Habichuela for evening you will not soon forget.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank reniev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    650
    288
    127
    49
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mexico
Level Contributor
1 review
“Amazing meal incredible service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

I have recently returned from a vacation in Cancun during that time I experienced probably one of the best evenings I have had. Upon arrival we drove our rental vehicle to the door and a valet parked it giving us immediate entry to the restaurant. Upon being directed to our table we were served an aperitif and enjoyed a pr-dinner cocktail which was perfect and set up that was to be be a flawless night. While enjoying a perfectly cooked steak we were entertained by a Mayan dance group that was nothing less than spectacular. The setting for the restaurant is spectacular with a full glass front which spans over 50 feet high and facing the lagoon the open plan feeling of the interior is extremely taste-fully decorated. La Habichuela Sunset gets my vote as a must if you are in Cancun.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mexrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“our 2nd visit - just as wonderful as the 1st.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

simply said...a wonderful meal had by all. 4 people in our party, all got something different and each of us raved about the results. Really a great menu selection for any taste.
We saw the Mayan show this time, not bad...may feel a little touristy to some and others would really enjoy it. Service was outstanding.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank caribtraveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
190 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Mayan Food with great Sunset view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

This restaurant is a branch of the legendary downtown Cancun restaurant.
Built on the lagoon side in the hotel zone, it's decor is Mayan architecture & the food & views are excellent.
The staff & manager exceeded expectations in providing outstanding service...Enjoy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Desertconcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Many other options”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We are locals here in Cancun and decided to try this Restaraunt and break away from the usual places we go. The place has a nice atmosphere and the decor is in the theme of the Maya. The food was good, not great but good. Be prepared to dip into your wallets folks as they have the most expensive bottled water in all of Cancun. Don't expect anything that makes you go WOW, and we always wondered why the place never really has patrons, now we know why. You can spend your money at other establishments and get a much better value.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wiljor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Habichuela Sunset also viewed

 

Been to La Habichuela Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing