We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice cava...”
Review of Restaurante Tinto - CLOSED

Restaurante Tinto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Residencial Cumbres
Description: Restaurante Tinto, un espacio para amantes del buen comer, Cocina internacional, steakhouse y platillos que van con vino..Sientate bajo nuestro cielo de botellas.. escoge tu vino en nuestro menu de mas de 450 etiquetas de 16 diferentes procedencias, descubre su aroma, degusta su sabor, inclinate un poco hacia atras... y ahora si, preparate para el maridaje perfecto. Wine List certificada por Wine Spectator 2012 / 2013
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice cava...”
Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

Excelent place, cozy and lovely, atmosphere is great, the wine selection is marvelous

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Acov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    35
    9
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Out of the hustle and bustle, for those in the know. Cancun's Argentinian Steakhouse”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Restaurante Tinto, in Cancun, is not located in the busy 'zona hotelera', nor downtown, it is on the other side of the lagoon, close by to the airport. The restaurant is located in the shopping area where Sam's Club and Superama are.
Built as a stand alone building much to the same design standards as any American suburban strip center, you find this amazing Argentinian Steak house.
They have a superb selection of wines, all to marry with a wide selection of meat cuts.
Above all, the costilla 16 horas stands out. this plate, is a melt in your mouth meat, that has been slow cooked for 16 hours. It will set you back around 35 or 40 dollars, but it is enough to feed two. If you order a salad, and an appetizer, you should not order more entrees.
Service is a bit so so.. we had to attract the waiter's attention a few times, and they kept forgetting to bring we ordered to the table.
This is not acceptable in a fine dining restaurant.
Apparently this is a place of choice for businessmen, and local politicos, who dine and wine on the people of Mexico's dime, so if you are there during lunch time, you may have to wait for a while for a table. For dinner, the restaurant is far more relaxed, and you will find a table easily.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Taco_Connosieur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestauranteTinto, Director General at Restaurante Tinto, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
We appreciate your time in writing this review; we are so happy to hear that you liked our food; indeed Tinto is Cancun's local's favorite staekhouse and wine cellar restaurant, our menu includes a vast array of options, including seafood, pasta, pizzas and the best steaks in town, our name, Tinto is spanish for red wine and we are proud to offer over 500 different labels from 12 different countries, everything within a beautiful fine dining restaurant at a fraction of the cost of the hotel zone's restaurants. Thank you for bringing to our attention our lack of service during your visit, needless to say this is unacceptable and has immediately been corrected, we have hired yet another floor manager who is specifically in charge of offering a congruent and flawless experience. We look forward to your next visit.
DM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Another Argentinian”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Good meat and appetizers. So-so service. Prices not commensurate with what you get. But not terrible.

Helpful?
Thank pwinkler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The best place to have an exelent meal,with and exelent wine.”
Reviewed April 21, 2011

It's one of the restaurants,I would go back every time. I'm in cancun.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank josebarajas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Fond Way to Say “Hello” or “Goodbye” to Cancun”
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Fine food and extraordinary wine make Tinto a superior dining choice for weary tourists. Located on Blvd. Luis Donaldo Colosio, aka Airport Blvd., the stand-alone restaurant is found a few miles from the Cancun Airport access road going toward downtown Cancun, in front of Walmart.

I wanted a good meal before boarding a long flight back to the United States and was pleasantly surprised. The interior is amazing. The curved ceiling is made from intertwined wine bottles. Manager Ariel Morales told me it took three months to install. It has real “wow” factor. (See photo) Downstairs is a wine cave that serves as meeting space.

The onion soup, petite steak and cabernet put to shame anything available at the airport’s food court. The manager insisted I take dessert to go. The restaurant’s specialty is a New York Cheesecake with Greek Baklava topping. If you enjoy nothing else, stop for the cheesecake and a drink. It’s extraordinary.

However … I intended to eat dessert on the plane ride home. FYI: Cheesecake appears as a forbidden “cream” going through airport security scanners. My bag was assigned to supplemental screening. Fortunately, the dessert was deemed acceptable for travel.

Tinto’s fare is on the expensive side, but it was worth it. The web site is www.restaurantetinto.com. The restaurant menu is available in English on site.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Tinto also viewed

 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing