We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of Hotel del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel del Sol
Ranked #112 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Actually this hotel is in Puerto Juarez, just outside Cancun, about a 30 min walk to the tip of the hotel zone. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I used the hotel as the base for four excursions: Isle Mujeres, Xcaret, Chichen Itza, and Tulum/ Xel-Ha, and had no problems getting back to this hotel in the evening. Was a great value for what I got.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John1971NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for Hotel del Sol
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 114 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2011

The hotel as depicted from Orbitz was not so great when we arrived. It's pretty far away from the tourist areas, lots of run down buildings surrounding. The rooms are very small and while we were there the water pressure in the shower was so poor it was nearly impossible to even wash your hair.
We bought a package deal and were supposed to stay for a couple weeks but the cab fare from here to any attractions cost us at least $10 each way. With it's location you can't really walk around the neighborhood to any bus stops firstly because it was kind of an uncomfortable area and secondly because there were no nearby bus stops. It states that the hotels policy is that we could get a refund for the remaining nights if we were to pay a fee, but the management was terribly uncooperative and it took them a few days to even get back to us about getting refunded after telling them that is what we wanted to do. They were extremely unclear about refunding us. We were told once that we had to go through orbitz about a refund, and from other staff we were told they had to go though their own booking service. After staying there those few days and practically wasting that portion of our vacation we were told they were not able to reufund us at all for the remaining weeks!
We were very upset with the service and didn't feel we could enjoy the vacation staying in the hotel or in the area and ended up having to waste another day of our vacation searching for another hotel. We ended up losing hundreds of dollars, mind you we are a young college age couple on our first vacation outside of the US we saved up for a year for, so we certainly didn't have that kind of extra money to throw around, thats just how strongly we felt it would dampen the whole vacation.
The rates were among the cheapest we could find while looking to book our vacation hotel, but it was for reason. Orbitz and other sites don't advertise this hotels location efficiently. And obviously from our experience we felt the service and management we terrible.
I just wanted to share this because the hotel looks like a great deal if youre searching for a cheap place to stay and dont need the extra amenities that all inclusive type hotels offer, but it's worth paying a little more to book a spendier hotel in the hotel zone.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alaskasz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Takes 2 buses to get to the beach. Kind of a rough neighborhood. OK breakfast.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
2  Thank beachump2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

A clean, if not plain, hotel that is definitely NOT what it suggests it is. Very, very poor location. Not near a usable beach. Many things in our room did not function including airconditioner, ceiling fan, plumbing. One very friendly staff, but also one very rude morning staff person.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bal44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Keep in mind this is a budget location with few frills but it is a nice place, clean, relatively new, with a friendly staff. For example, when I arrived, which was late due to my flight, the man at the desk could not locate my paid reservation right away. No problem, he checked me in anyway and remedied the situation in the morning.

The complimentary breakfast is light but a good start to the day. A bowl of cereal (all sugared) two pieces of toast, juice and coffee.

The staff is very friendly asking and offering advice for sightseeing. The hotel is situated right across from the ferry to the Isla Mujures. The Island is a great place to go for the day with tranquil blue waters on nice and not too crowded beaches.

You need to take a bus or a taxi if you want to go downtown or the hotel zone beaches. It is about 10 pesos for the bus and 30 pesos downtown and 60 to 80 pesos to the hotel zone by taxi.

Cons: no pool, beds are hard, not downtown or hotel zone,

Pros: friendly staff, clean new rooms, great a/c, PRICE, big towels, complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b4xtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

The hotel was extremely clean and was cleaned daily.
The staff members were helpful, as was the owner.
Very close to the ferry terminal.
The hotel is located in Puerto Juarez not Cancun so it is a fair distance from the Hotel Zone/tourist attractions which means a series of buses to get there. Although the buses and ferries are right out front.
If interested in how people REALLY live in the area this is the hotel for you.
Breakfast offered to us was toast and coffee nothing else.
Would not recommend for families.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannokim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

The hotel is very well located to visit Isla Mijeres and very cheap. If you have a low budget and want to hace a clean comfort place and spend your money in other things this is the hotel. The ferry i just in front of the hotel and have convenience stors and restaurates in front

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlyHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.4 mi away
Terracaribe Hotel
Terracaribe Hotel
#107 of 176 in Cancun
205 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
#105 of 176 in Cancun
212 reviews
2.7 mi away
Suites Gaby Hotel
Suites Gaby Hotel
#99 of 176 in Cancun
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Kin Mayab
Kin Mayab
#74 of 176 in Cancun
239 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Margaritas
Hotel Margaritas
#88 of 176 in Cancun
147 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel los Girasoles Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Sol

Address: Av. Lopez Portillo Manzana 2, Cancun, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range: $25 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel del Sol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing