We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and quiet”
Review of Hotel del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel del Sol
Ranked #112 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Takes 2 buses to get to the beach. Kind of a rough neighborhood. OK breakfast.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
2  Thank beachump2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for Hotel del Sol
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 114 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2011

A clean, if not plain, hotel that is definitely NOT what it suggests it is. Very, very poor location. Not near a usable beach. Many things in our room did not function including airconditioner, ceiling fan, plumbing. One very friendly staff, but also one very rude morning staff person.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bal44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Keep in mind this is a budget location with few frills but it is a nice place, clean, relatively new, with a friendly staff. For example, when I arrived, which was late due to my flight, the man at the desk could not locate my paid reservation right away. No problem, he checked me in anyway and remedied the situation in the morning.

The complimentary breakfast is light but a good start to the day. A bowl of cereal (all sugared) two pieces of toast, juice and coffee.

The staff is very friendly asking and offering advice for sightseeing. The hotel is situated right across from the ferry to the Isla Mujures. The Island is a great place to go for the day with tranquil blue waters on nice and not too crowded beaches.

You need to take a bus or a taxi if you want to go downtown or the hotel zone beaches. It is about 10 pesos for the bus and 30 pesos downtown and 60 to 80 pesos to the hotel zone by taxi.

Cons: no pool, beds are hard, not downtown or hotel zone,

Pros: friendly staff, clean new rooms, great a/c, PRICE, big towels, complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b4xtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

The hotel was extremely clean and was cleaned daily.
The staff members were helpful, as was the owner.
Very close to the ferry terminal.
The hotel is located in Puerto Juarez not Cancun so it is a fair distance from the Hotel Zone/tourist attractions which means a series of buses to get there. Although the buses and ferries are right out front.
If interested in how people REALLY live in the area this is the hotel for you.
Breakfast offered to us was toast and coffee nothing else.
Would not recommend for families.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannokim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

The hotel is very well located to visit Isla Mijeres and very cheap. If you have a low budget and want to hace a clean comfort place and spend your money in other things this is the hotel. The ferry i just in front of the hotel and have convenience stors and restaurates in front

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlyHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017
Thank L Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo G, Community Manager at Hotel del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
Thank Katarina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.4 mi away
Terracaribe Hotel
Terracaribe Hotel
#107 of 176 in Cancun
205 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
#105 of 176 in Cancun
212 reviews
2.7 mi away
Suites Gaby Hotel
Suites Gaby Hotel
#99 of 176 in Cancun
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Kin Mayab
Kin Mayab
#74 of 176 in Cancun
239 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Margaritas
Hotel Margaritas
#88 of 176 in Cancun
147 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel los Girasoles Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Sol

Address: Av. Lopez Portillo Manzana 2, Cancun, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range: $25 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel del Sol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing