We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Gem”

Du Mexique by Sonya Grimond
Ranked #22 of 1,170 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $80
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: DU MEXIQUE es un Lujo Gastronómico con una sola "Estrella"... Usted!. Es un pequeño espacio donde la tradición se encuentra con el estilo contemporáneo, el Romance y los Cinco Sentidos. El Lugar se ubica en pleno Corazón de Cancún, la cocina es la herencia de nuestro prestigiosos Chef Alain Grimond, y ahora es ejecutada con perfección por nuestro Gran Chef Benjamín Ferra y Castell. Y, por supuesto que su elegante diseño interior y su impecable servicio, poseen la firma inconfundible de su anfitriona y Propietaria Sonya Grimond.-Abierto de: 19:00 a 23:30 horas.-Descansamos el "Domingo".Gracias.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Du Mexique is a "french" restaurant in a Mexican city. The owner/chef made sure we enjoyed every part of our meal while his wife/hostess added personal charm. How many dinners come complete with a hug from the owners as you leave? The menu changes every day, reflecting what the chef feels are his best fresh options. We had lamb and beef which were both excellent. The place is tiny, so get your reservations. Definitely worth the trip into town from the hotel zone!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank From-Nashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya G, Propietario at Du Mexique by Sonya Grimond, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014
Google Translation

Apreciable Comensal From-Nash: Nada más una nota amistosa, para dejarle nuestro agradecimiento por la confianza y compartir la experiencia vivida en nuestro petit DU MEXIQUE by Chef Alain Grimond.

Saludos Soleados ☼

Chef Alain & Sonya Grimond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (584)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 261 of 584 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2014

This place is a $20 cab ride one way to the restaurant but well worth it. We entered into a beautiful lobby and then a small intimate place where we ate. The owners serve you with real Grace. I started my dinner with a Belgian endive salad and had a rack of lamb for my main my husband had French onion soup and steak all was excellent. One word of caution if you are a wine drinker there are not many bottles that are reasonably priced restaurant perhaps could do better in selecting things that are better price point or good value for the money. The owner the man who waited on Us speaks very very softly and you must listen carefully to hear his explanation of the dishes. At the end of the evening we had to ask for our bill because it was taking too long we sat for a good 20 or 25 minutes waiting for our bill unfortunately.

2  Thank cindy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya G, Propietario at Du Mexique by Sonya Grimond, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014
Google Translation

Apreciable Comensal cindy w: Nada más una nota amistosa, para dejarle nuestro agradecimiento por la confianza y compartir la experiencia vivida en nuestro petit DU MEXIQUE by Chef Alain Grimond.

Saludos Soleados ☼

Chef Alain & Sonya Grimond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My husband wanted to go to dinner here. I would not have picked this place because we are in Mexico and I love Mexican food.

The atmosphere is very modern. Lots of interesting paintings, white table cloths. We were the first diner of the evening and it was kind of uncomfortable because it was so quiet. Our reservation was at 7. Others arrived around 7:30.

We had the cheese soufflé, escargot, and tuna tartar for starters. All delicious! If you go, do yourself a favor and order the soufflé . It is a very special treat.

Dinner was duck breast and fish. Good but not that memorable. The wine list leaves a lot to be desired and was a big disappointment. We didn't see but two bottles ordered all night and one was a bottle of champagne. Seems weird to have such wonderful food and such and overpriced mediocre wine list.

We had another chocolate soufflé for dessert. Awesome!

Sonja and Alaine were very nice.

I don't think I would go back. Just not that into French food - especially in Mexico.

1  Thank JulieY94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We were in Cancun for the weekend with another couple. I read about Du Mexique and made a reservation well in advance. The place is small and cozy and the atmosphere is great as soon as you step in. We were greeted very warmly by Sonja and it only got better :)
The food was superb. For appetizers we had the escargot, creme brulee with foie gras, scallops and endive salad. All were simply excellent. We then had the filet mignon topped with foie gras (i still dream about it), venison, and shrimps. Had 3 bottles of Bordeaux with dinner and creme brulee for dessert. Now the food was very very good but the service was out of this world! Chef Alain personally explained every item on the menu and came to check if we like the food several times during dinner. Sonja treated us like family (we hugged and kissed when we left). We were served a cheese plate after the main course complement of the chef and to finish it off a special digestif that Chef Alain makes from 10 different herbs. We were there from a little after 8 until 11 and truly enjoyed every minute. When we were about to leave the chef offered us to stay because "we serve breakfast in 2 hours" :)
We will most definitely come back! Thank you so much Sonja and Chef Alain!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SelaOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya G, Propietario at Du Mexique by Sonya Grimond, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014
Google Translation

Apreciable Comensal SelaOne: Nada más una nota amistosa, para dejarle nuestro agradecimiento por la confianza y compartir la experiencia vivida en nuestro petit DU MEXIQUE by Chef Alain Grimond.

Saludos Soleados ☼

Chef Alain & Sonya Grimond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Thank you Sonja and Chef Alain!!

We had the best dinner! The best ever french onion soup I have ever tasted. If we had it to do over again, both my husband and I would have got the soup as we are lovers of it. As we did it, I got it and he got the tiny left overs.

We split the lobster souffle and the escargot. Enjoyed both of them, but would have done another french onion soup over the soufle. The escargot was also wonderful and huge enough to split. So was the souffle.

He had the local fish, and I had the filet. The fish was awesome! I am not a huge truffle fan, but it was to die for and the sauce, well.....to die for as well.

The end was the cake plate covered in powdered sugar with a choclate tarte, ice cream, and one other thing I can't recall. It said Happy Birthday in my name. They came out and hugged us, took photo's with us, etc. It was "the bomb!".

This is defentitely the place for a special occasion and for very delicious food! I also paid the $50 reservation fee. I had no worries and it was subtracted on the final bill.

You can't go wrong here with whatever you choose. Simply excellent food. Enjoy! Thank you Sonja and Chef Alain!

Sharon

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank carrbtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya G, Propietario at Du Mexique by Sonya Grimond, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014
Google Translation

Apreciable Comensal Sharon: Nada más una nota amistosa, para dejarle nuestro agradecimiento por la confianza y compartir la experiencia vivida en nuestro petit DU MEXIQUE by Chef Alain Grimond.

Saludos Soleados ☼

Chef Alain & Sonya Grimond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Du Mexique by Sonya Grimond also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Du Mexique by Sonya Grimond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing