We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French food in Mexico?”

Du Mexique by Sonya Grimond
Ranked #22 of 1,170 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $80
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: DU MEXIQUE es un Lujo Gastronómico con una sola "Estrella"... Usted!. Es un pequeño espacio donde la tradición se encuentra con el estilo contemporáneo, el Romance y los Cinco Sentidos. El Lugar se ubica en pleno Corazón de Cancún, la cocina es la herencia de nuestro prestigiosos Chef Alain Grimond, y ahora es ejecutada con perfección por nuestro Gran Chef Benjamín Ferra y Castell. Y, por supuesto que su elegante diseño interior y su impecable servicio, poseen la firma inconfundible de su anfitriona y Propietaria Sonya Grimond.-Abierto de: 19:00 a 23:30 horas.-Descansamos el "Domingo".Gracias.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My husband wanted to go to dinner here. I would not have picked this place because we are in Mexico and I love Mexican food.

The atmosphere is very modern. Lots of interesting paintings, white table cloths. We were the first diner of the evening and it was kind of uncomfortable because it was so quiet. Our reservation was at 7. Others arrived around 7:30.

We had the cheese soufflé, escargot, and tuna tartar for starters. All delicious! If you go, do yourself a favor and order the soufflé . It is a very special treat.

Dinner was duck breast and fish. Good but not that memorable. The wine list leaves a lot to be desired and was a big disappointment. We didn't see but two bottles ordered all night and one was a bottle of champagne. Seems weird to have such wonderful food and such and overpriced mediocre wine list.

We had another chocolate soufflé for dessert. Awesome!

Sonja and Alaine were very nice.

I don't think I would go back. Just not that into French food - especially in Mexico.

1  Thank JulieY94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (584)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

259 - 263 of 584 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014

We were in Cancun for the weekend with another couple. I read about Du Mexique and made a reservation well in advance. The place is small and cozy and the atmosphere is great as soon as you step in. We were greeted very warmly by Sonja and it only got better :)
The food was superb. For appetizers we had the escargot, creme brulee with foie gras, scallops and endive salad. All were simply excellent. We then had the filet mignon topped with foie gras (i still dream about it), venison, and shrimps. Had 3 bottles of Bordeaux with dinner and creme brulee for dessert. Now the food was very very good but the service was out of this world! Chef Alain personally explained every item on the menu and came to check if we like the food several times during dinner. Sonja treated us like family (we hugged and kissed when we left). We were served a cheese plate after the main course complement of the chef and to finish it off a special digestif that Chef Alain makes from 10 different herbs. We were there from a little after 8 until 11 and truly enjoyed every minute. When we were about to leave the chef offered us to stay because "we serve breakfast in 2 hours" :)
We will most definitely come back! Thank you so much Sonja and Chef Alain!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SelaOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya G, Propietario at Du Mexique by Sonya Grimond, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014
Google Translation

Apreciable Comensal SelaOne: Nada más una nota amistosa, para dejarle nuestro agradecimiento por la confianza y compartir la experiencia vivida en nuestro petit DU MEXIQUE by Chef Alain Grimond.

Saludos Soleados ☼

Chef Alain & Sonya Grimond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Thank you Sonja and Chef Alain!!

We had the best dinner! The best ever french onion soup I have ever tasted. If we had it to do over again, both my husband and I would have got the soup as we are lovers of it. As we did it, I got it and he got the tiny left overs.

We split the lobster souffle and the escargot. Enjoyed both of them, but would have done another french onion soup over the soufle. The escargot was also wonderful and huge enough to split. So was the souffle.

He had the local fish, and I had the filet. The fish was awesome! I am not a huge truffle fan, but it was to die for and the sauce, well.....to die for as well.

The end was the cake plate covered in powdered sugar with a choclate tarte, ice cream, and one other thing I can't recall. It said Happy Birthday in my name. They came out and hugged us, took photo's with us, etc. It was "the bomb!".

This is defentitely the place for a special occasion and for very delicious food! I also paid the $50 reservation fee. I had no worries and it was subtracted on the final bill.

You can't go wrong here with whatever you choose. Simply excellent food. Enjoy! Thank you Sonja and Chef Alain!

Sharon

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank carrbtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya G, Propietario at Du Mexique by Sonya Grimond, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014
Google Translation

Apreciable Comensal Sharon: Nada más una nota amistosa, para dejarle nuestro agradecimiento por la confianza y compartir la experiencia vivida en nuestro petit DU MEXIQUE by Chef Alain Grimond.

Saludos Soleados ☼

Chef Alain & Sonya Grimond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We too paid a $50.00 deposit thru PayPal which made me a bit uncomfortable but, after arriving and dining, I understand. They are a very small operation with very few seats and very high quality food. If people reserve and don't show up food will be wasted. They are open from 7 to 11 so I figured two seatings, but we were there on a Wednesday night from 7:15 to 9:30 and now I think only one seating.
It was great! Alain explains the menu but speaks very softly so listen closely - probably is better if you speak French or Spanish. Someone said very few choices but we thought that for the size and the operation that there were a LOT of choices. Appetizers included French Onion Soup, Lobster Soufflé, Escargot, Foi Gras Creme bruillet (sp?), salad, dry fish with olives & truffles, scallops and a few others. My wife had the soup and the scallops - she is a French Onion Soup nut and Loved it. She is also a scallop nut and they were cooked perfectly and delicious. I had the soufflé, yummmm, and the Foi Gras which could have used a small touch of salt I thought but was also great.
There were about seven or eight entree choices including filet, venison, salmon, local grouper, rack of lamb, crispy duck, duck breast, and a few others. One of best filets I've had in years. My wife, who for years said she didn't even like duck, absolutely loved the crispy duck.
Fine dining in Cancun. White tablecloths, proper wine glasses, un-rushed, great service, very nice decor. Not expensive at all compared to U.S. Prices. We'd go back in a heart beat.
Our concierge has been there once or twice celebrating birthdays & she also loved it. There were locals and tourists. Two birthdays, one anniversary and one or two honeymooners.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya G, Propietario at Du Mexique by Sonya Grimond, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014
Google Translation

Apreciable Comensal jimcelia: Nada más una nota amistosa, para dejarle nuestro agradecimiento por la confianza y compartir la experiencia vivida en nuestro petit DU MEXIQUE by Chef Alain Grimond.

Saludos Soleados ☼

Chef Alain & Sonya Grimond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I just made a reservation for dinner the first week of February and after I received confirmation - I received an 'invoice' that is asking me to prepay $50 via paypal. I read the reviews here and I did not see anyone mention this practice. I'm just not very comfortable pre-paying for a dining experience. Is this the norm at this place?

3  Thank PeterCata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Du Mexique by Sonya Grimond also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Du Mexique by Sonya Grimond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing