We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GASTRONOMIQUE!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Du Mexique By Sonya Grimond

Du Mexique By Sonya Grimond
Ranked #4 of 939 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Mexican, French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: DU MEXIQUE es un Lujo Gastronómico con una sola "Estrella"... Usted!. Es un pequeño espacio donde la tradición se encuentra con el estilo contemporáneo, el Romance y los Cinco Sentidos. El Lugar se ubica en pleno Corazón de Cancún, la cocina es la herencia de nuestro prestigiosos Chef Alain Grimond, y ahora es ejecutada con perfección por nuestro Gran Chef Benjamín Ferra y Castell. Y, por supuesto que su elegante diseño interior y su impecable servicio, poseen la firma inconfundible de su anfitriona y Propietaria Sonya Grimond.-Abierto de: 19:00 a 23:30 horas.-Descansamos el "Domingo".Gracias.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“GASTRONOMIQUE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

This restaurant will definitely be on our list to return to on a regular basis. It deserves its number one rating. The service was very attentive and the food was superb. We had the coquille St Jacque and the ravioli stuffed with Mexican truffles as appetizers. Both were wonderful. Our main courses were the fish of the day,mahi mahi, and the tournedos de boeuf. Both were cooked to perfection. Last, but not least, was the chocolate souffle and the strawberries marinated in lime vodka sauce. Both desserts were outstanding. It is a small restaurant with limited tables. We believe this was done by design so that they could provide this excellent level of service to their guests. When we left the chef and his wife gave us hugs and wished us a warm farewell. How often does that happen???

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya G, Owner at Du Mexique By Sonya Grimond, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Google Translation
Apreciable Margaret G: Ahora que estamos muy cerca del día de "SAN VALENTÍN", fecha simbólica para celebrar el Amor y la Amistad. Queremos decirle GRACIAS por haber compartido su invaluable comentario de la experiencia vivida en nuestro petit DU MEXIQUE by Chef Alain Grimond. Nuestro Agradecimiento: Chef Alain y Sonya Grimond. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    54
    16
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

There is no doubt that Du Mexique is well worth the trip out of the hotel zone. It is a beautiful, yet intimate restaurant. The owners, chef Alain and hostess Sonya do everything and they are the most welcoming couple. They are genuinely concerned about giving the diner the best experience. The menu is only in Spanish, so Alain came out of the kitchen to translate for us. Sonya speaks English better than she thinks, but she didn't want to have any misunderstandings. The food was absolutely great. Our party of four (including two teenagers, 18 and 16, had soups, salads, fish and chicken and each dish was loved. Alain contacted me at our hotel the next day, as there was a problem with the credit card reader the night we went, and was so apologetic to have to call. By the time we got back to the States, a couple of days later, it was resolved without my input. It probably isn't the place to go with large loud groups or with small children, but this is a great restaurant that is owned and run by wonderful, warm people. When you want a truly special dining experience in Cancun, this is the place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya G, Owner at Du Mexique By Sonya Grimond, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Google Translation
Apreciable Alan R: Ahora que estamos muy cerca del día de "SAN VALENTÍN", fecha simbólica para celebrar el Amor y la Amistad. Queremos decirle GRACIAS por haber compartido su invaluable comentario de la experiencia vivida en nuestro petit DU MEXIQUE by Chef Alain Grimond. Nuestro Agradecimiento: Chef Alain y Sonya Grimond. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
80 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Run, don't walk, to Du Mexique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

This place is fantastic and lives up to it's number one ranking in Cancun. It is certainly the best meal I have had in my 3 trips to Cancun. It was like eating in someone's private home. From appetizer to dessert, every course was outstanding. Wine list was short but filled with quality.They also have a great outside seating area in the back. I was at the #2 rated restaurant in Cancun last night and it pails in comparison to Du Mexique. The gap between #1 and #2 is huge. BEWARE - they do not take American Express.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank jcabbage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya G, Owner at Du Mexique By Sonya Grimond, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Google Translation
Apreciable jcabbage: Ahora que estamos muy cerca del día de "SAN VALENTÍN", fecha simbólica para celebrar el Amor y la Amistad. Queremos decirle GRACIAS por haber compartido su invaluable comentario de la experiencia vivida en nuestro petit DU MEXIQUE by Chef Alain Grimond. Nuestro Agradecimiento: Chef Alain y Sonya Grimond. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
97 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Awesome French”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

My wife and I very much enjoyed our dinner last Friday at the end of our one week visit to Cancun. We have been to Cancun many times but ventured downtown for the first time in years based on the reviews for Du Mexique and Peter's (since we were early for our reservation, we walked from Du Mexique to Peter's for drinks first; delightful people and wonderful menu, but we were already committed) If you love dining in France, especially Lyon, you will love this place. Intimate but arful decor, good music, and special attention from Alain and his wife Sonia. My wife says this is the best escargot she ever had. Brilliant salads and steak (me) and fish (her). Excellent wine chosen by our chef (Medoc). Chocolate souffle was superb.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jlsellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya G, Owner at Du Mexique By Sonya Grimond, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Google Translation
Apreciable Jlsellers: Ahora que estamos muy cerca del día de "SAN VALENTÍN", fecha simbólica para celebrar el Amor y la Amistad. Queremos decirle GRACIAS por haber compartido su invaluable comentario de la experiencia vivida en nuestro petit DU MEXIQUE by Chef Alain Grimond. Con todo nuestro Agradecimiento: Chef Alain y Sonya Grimond. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Amazing food and great sevice to match”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was my husband and my last dinner in Cancun and I am so happy to have saved it for our last night. The food was amazing; from the salads, to the spectacular entrees of fresh fish and the fabulous dessert. They have a small but lovely selection of wine. Alan, the Chef/owner, came out and explained every detail of the menu to us while Sonja, owner, paid attention to all of the small details while serving. They take after the European style of dining so you are not rushed and they will only bring you the check when you ask. As we were finishing up our meal a larger group came in and Alan suggested that we enjoy our wine and dessert on their patio outside, which was very romantic and comfortable. What a great way to end our trip! Thank you!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank deelovnco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya G, Owner at Du Mexique By Sonya Grimond, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Google Translation
Apreciable Amigo: Ahora que estamos muy cerca del día de "SAN VALENTÍN", fecha simbólica para celebrar el Amor y la Amistad. Queremos decirle GRACIAS por haber compartido su invaluable comentario de la experiencia vivida en nuestro petit DU MEXIQUE by Chef Alain Grimond. Con todo nuestro Agradecimiento: Chef Alain y Sonya Grimond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Du Mexique By Sonya Grimond also viewed

 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Du Mexique By Sonya Grimond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing