We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great times, Better food!”

Calypso"s Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #103 of 1,021 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Calypso´s restaurant, since 2001, nice little place with good seafood and mexican dishes, best price in town.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Calypso's over the years has become one of our favorite restaurant's in Cancun. We keep coming back year after year and multiple times each trip. If we want good inexpensive seafood this is the place we go to.
The fish is always fresh and so good! One of our favorite dishes is the snapper fish with garlic with the shrimp added extra, also comes with a side of rice & vegetables. This is my go to meal, love it, dream about it! Have also had the lobster dinner, very yummy! We always get the seafood so can not comment on the rest of the menu, but I do know people that have had the burritos and enjoyed them as well.
We recommend Calypso's to a lot of people and never heard a bad review from them, in fact they always go back for more.
Calypso's is not fancy, but is clean, and it has a simple rustic charm about it. The owner's are great & Felipe is a wonderful host & will treat you right. One thing, they only take cash, dollars or pesos.
Have been there on slow nights and really busy nights, and the food quality never suffered. So if it is busy, relax, have drink and enjoy your evening, you will not be sorry.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FishBoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francogg, Owner at Calypso"s Mexican Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Heeeyyy Amigo how are you? thank you very much for a great review on ta.... thanks again and see you later... right?? say hi to every body please we know you are always there and every year here... thank you thank you...
Felipe - Marin - Nubia - Rogelio - Martin and Franco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (663)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 189 of 663 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Doesn't look like much from the outside, even when we sat down I didn't think it would be to build buy boy was I wrong! I had a stuffed halo ate with a Bernadise sauce, delishicuous!!! I wish I could find something like it in NJ!

Thank Pjennie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francogg, Owner at Calypso"s Mexican Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Heeeyyyyy... thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor.com
this will make us work harder. Thanks again and see you soon, right?
Felipe and the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Agreed with other reviewers that the bar may have been set a little too high. Restaurant is good choice amongst others in the area, but nothing special. Lobster + Fish combination was undoubtedly a good value at USD 21, however. Salsa was fresh, but the chips were not. Fish was also good, if a little too garlicky for my taste. Ambiance of the courtyard overlooking the cheap restaurant with locals playing Keno was not conducive to hanging out.

Also, I'd say it's not particularly kid friendly. My son ordered milk, and it was warm milk out of a box. There's no kids menu either. Also, not accepting credit cards in such a tourist area is a turnoff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Duke330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francogg, Owner at Calypso"s Mexican Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We read the reviews of this restaurant with my fiancee and got convinced that this should be good sea food restaurant. When we got there we were suspicious and when we left we were disappointed. The place was not clean, plastic plates and cups, it took time to get our order in because waitress was busy doing something else.
We ordered the seafood plate for two people, this was referred by the waitress when we ordered as "excellent choice". There was lot of different dishes from the ocean but the food had no taste.
Also the view across to another cheap looking restaurant was not nice.
Not nearly the best Cancun can offer, you won't enjoy your holiday here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Esa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francogg, Owner at Calypso"s Mexican Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thanks.......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We found this place because of TripAdvisor. Thank you to those who took the time to write reviews, we were not disappointed. Calypso is a small restaurant in the party zone. It was a tiny bit hard to find because it's tucked in a small courtyard in-between the two major streets.

The food was excellent and the staff friendly. We had a great time talking with Franco the owner. He also shared a special Tequila shot he invented with us. It had a small amount of Kahlua in it and was chased with an orange slice sprinkled with cinnamon. Great food and a very good time overall. Thanks Franco!

1  Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francogg, Owner at Calypso"s Mexican Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thank you, thank you very much for your great review about us, hope to serve again soon....
Felipe and the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calypso"s Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Calypso"s Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing