We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Calypso"s Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #84 of 946 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Calypso´s restaurant, since 2001, nice little place with good seafood and mexican dishes, best price in town.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We ate at all the popular restaurant, Calypso had the best food hands down, the prices were really reasonable in comparison to the popular named restaurants, but most important the quality, flavor and atmosphere was fantastic. We strongly recommend that you try Calypso. It was the best we are at !!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 3dinc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francogg, Owner at Calypso"s Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
hello..!! thank you very much for an excellent review for us
hope to serve again pretty son.
See you

Felipe and the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    140
    50
    21
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minsk, Belarus
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome family restaurant!”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We have spotted Calypso from the window of our hotel and decided to go for a Mexican dinner. We absolutely loved Calypso! Felipe, the owner of the place, is very friendly, food is reasonably priced and very tasty! We came second time for the lunch and were greeted heartfully and with couple of tequila shots. Felipe made special plate for us that was not in menu and combined some finest mexico quisine foods! Highly recommend to anyone looking for decent Mexican food and atmosphere!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Serhiy_Kalinovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francogg, Owner at Calypso"s Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
thank you very much for a nice review on tripadvisor.com
we hope to serve you again pretty son.
thanks again
Felipe and the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, great drinks.”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Small, open air restaurant serving delicious shrimp tacos, guacamole and strong margaritas. Felipe also served 4 free shots of tequila. Food was fresh, delicious and inexpensive. Skip the overpriced restaurants and check out Calypso's.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mindy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francogg, Owner at Calypso"s Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you very much for a greeat review on tripadvisor.com, hope to see you soon
and have more tequilas and some good food too ok...?!!!
see you

Felipe and the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisport, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"TOMAS ESPECIAL"”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

You are only a stranger at Calypsos if you Don't come in Felipe is a warm , fun host that will make you welcome . My first visit Felipe prepared my deep sea catch "Amber jack" -- Ceviche and Grilled in courses W Guacamole , Pico de Gallo , two hand made pepper sauces {to be administered W a fork!!! } INDESCRIBABLY GOOD ! -- So on my return I ask about Lobster --- was served grilled 2 med tails w hot butter a 1/2 lb snapper fillet grilled , the trimmings , steamed veg , sopa -- several libations { variety} was under $50 I then stopped by for lunch and was asking the meanings of the seafoods on the board and Felipe told me what they were and I ask him about conch chowder , he said " you like soup ? I fix you some soup! if you want the nectar of the ocean ask for the "TOMAS ESPECIAL "its not on the menu -- its made of 6 - 8 local varietys with the shells for identification { SO EAT IT SL-O-W-L-Y} and if you take time the Mariachies will pass thru to play for you --- Don't miss tis place!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francogg, Owner at Calypso"s Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
HELLO TOMAS:!!! how are you? we know you are good, we just want to thank you for your
visits to our restaurant and missing you already my friend hope that you will be back soon
so we can have some more fun and enjoy our meals, see you soon

Felipe - Marco - Favian and Franco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kinks in services”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

At first it was fun. The food was decent and the atmosphere was good. Then we felt as if we were being taken advantage of and pressured into purchasing more beers. The beers would disappear one by one. We had everything from a former inmate taking our beer to the owner taking a beer. Really wanted to like this place since it was our last day in cancun. Maybe next time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasonchan89284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francogg, Owner at Calypso"s Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
hello we want to thank you for your great review on tripadvisor.com and want to asure you
that if you ever come back here like you say in the review. Felipe would not accept a beer
from you any more even if you want him to drink one with you.
he doesn´t need to take beers from no one, he can drink as many he wants from our refrigerator.
You can be sure of that and we will take care of you again with free Tequilas for you.
thanks again

Franco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calypso"s Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Calypso"s Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing