We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent family-owned restaurant!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calypso"s Mexican Restaurant

Calypso"s Mexican Restaurant
Kukulcan Ave. km 8.5 | accross from Fiestamericana grand Coral Beach hotel, next to Cancun Center, Cancun 77500, Mexico
9981857410
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 852 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Calypso´s restaurant, since 2001, nice little place with good seafood and mexican dishes, best price in town.
San Jose, California
1 review
“Excellent family-owned restaurant!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I visited this restaurant out of curiosity just because it was relatively small and looked like a family owned. It was everything I hoped for! I prefer local family style food everywhere I go instead of fancy super expensive (and usually very small plate or food for the money) chick restaurants.
Calypso and its owner Felipe were exactly was I was looking for in Cancun: excellent family style food, super friendly personnel and cheap too! Not everywhere you can have a big seafood soup plate with lost of lobster, whole shrimps, crab claws, fish, etc for about $12 (depending on the exchange rate) in the most touristic area of the Yucatán Peninsula!!

I wish I had discovered this place earlier. I ended up going there my last two days in Cancun. Definitely would go there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Juan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francogg, Owner at Calypso"s Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Helllloooo!!!! hey thank you very very much for a great review on tripadvisor.com
hope to see you soon and serve you again....

Felipe and the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    133
    43
    21
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galesburg, Illinois
1 review
“Excellent Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

All of the food that I had here was fantastic! The fish tacos were the best ones I have ever had and the beef burrito is superb. I went almost every day for the week that I was in Cancun. The people are very friendly. :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francogg, Manager at Calypso"s Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Heeeyyyy, that was a great review, thank you very much
and see you soon in cancun, ok?!!!
Felipe & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloy, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Nice restaurant great host Felipe also the owner. Little off the beaten path so research thru the Internet. Jim &Cris Campbell. Brasil& USA

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francogg, Manager at Calypso"s Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you thank you very much for a nice review on tripadvisor
see you next time in cancun, ok?!!!!!
Felipe & the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Definitely one of the best restaurants we ate at. I had the Fish Pescadillas and my husband had Conch Ceviche, they were both delicious! The staff was friendly and very attentive!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francogg, Manager at Calypso"s Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Hello! just want to say THANKS for your nice review on tripadvisor.com
and hope to see you soon....ok?!!!!
Felipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dix Hills, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You'd be hard pressed to find a better restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I consider my wife and myself world travelers. We’ve eaten in restaurants in Europe, Asia, Australia, and all of the Americas, and some of the best fish diners we’ve had were at the Calypso restaurant. The Calypso Sea bass is a dish that must be had by anyone fortunate enough to find, and dine at Calypso’s. By far one of the best fish dinners I’ve ever had, and lucky for me the Calypso restaurant is right across the street from the Cancun Clipper Club, which is where we stay on our frequent trips to Cancun. To top it all off Franko and Filipe (the owners) are two of the most down to earth guys you’ll ever meet.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tonbono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francogg, Owner at Calypso"s Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Hi, hey!!! that was a great review, we thank you so much for it
and will see you soon, right?... it will be a pleasure to serve you again.
Franko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calypso"s Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Calypso"s Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing