We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not go again”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Las Perlas Condos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Las Perlas Condos
Ranked #154 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Espoo, Finland
2 reviews
“Would not go again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

I'm usually fine with staying at cheaper hotels, but here I'd recommend paying the extra money to stay at a better hotel. The location was okay. We could hear everything that happened in the rooms next to and above us. Kevin, the party guy; was good but the rest of the service wasn't anything special.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sara1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    172
    180
    101
    158
See reviews for
124
185
28
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Michel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2011

Our stay at imperial las perlas hotel could not have started worse; our party of five people arrived to the hotel half an hour after check-in had started and we expected to get our rooms on the spot. First of all the hotel staff had no idea that we were five instead of 4 and on top of that they told us we could get our rooms in 30 minutes. Of course we were not happy with this information and asked for our room immediately. We were told to wait for 5 minutes. After waiting that half an hour I went to the front desk and told i'd like to be taken to my room now, but all i got as a response was that we were more than free to cancel our stay and that the gentlemen next to me had been waiting for 8 hours now! After some moments we finally got our rooms, where beds had no pillow cases, floors were not clean and towels were missing. to top it all we had an open cleaning closet next to our door, which was open during our whole stay, including buckets of dirty water in front of our door, blocking the way. So that pretty much covers the cleanliness, service and rooms part. as for sleep quality; doors and windows were rather thin, there was noise, but our problem was mainly the missing bed sheets. Location-wise imperial las perlas is in the very end of the zona hotelera of cancun, so not at the centre of events, but it has a sufficient location to take ferrys from the harbours. The best qualities of this hotel are the restaurant space, which is a hut built on water; nice, and that the pools and pool area seemed to be maintained rather well.
All in all Imperial las Perlas is not worth the money by measuring in any of the scales, I'm sure you can find much better value for your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tri-Li
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cancun hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2010

Unfortunately this was our first trip to Cancun and upon arrival we pulled up to this hotel that looked like something out of an old movie. Mold in the shower. A spigot in the shower that most people have on the exterior of their house. This is truly a horrible place.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slk52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

We stayed at this hotel with my husband. It is not for people who like fancy stuff as everything is pretty basic. Two storey buildings with no elevators, the rooms are all right with small kitchenette.

Our room was on the upper floor oveelooking the pool. We basically only went in to sleep and for this purpose the room was peerfect.

Food was great however i got the runs from drinking the juice at the restaurant. So just skip the juice and youll be fine.

Drinks at the bar are also pretty bad..

The beach is small, clean and well kept though.

There is a small store right beside the hotel where you can buy great sanwiches and alcohol if you don't like the drinks at the bar.

We also shopped a lot at WallMart as they have a great selection of great tequila very very cheap.

We went on many activities, scubadiving which was nice but i personally would not go again as i got seasick by the time it was time to go under.

Snorkeling was also beautiful with amazing fish everywhere. The junge tour is nothing mentionable. The speedboats are great, but the 'jungle' is well.. Its interesting.

Be prepared that everyone will ask for a tip which i found pretty rude as people will tip if they want to, but they will shamelessly ask you to tip.

Also on our first day we were told that the next day we will get a welcome breakfast and tour after which we'll get a free pass to a dinner and show. This was suppose to be an hour in lenght.. Turned out to be a lenghty (about 3 hours if not more) of timeshare sales.. I was going crazy as the sales people are very pushy and will try every way possible to sell you a package. If there is any way try to avoid this complimentary package as it will waste half of your first day. (unless you want to buy a timeshare package, but even then just say you are not interested and they will keep offering cheaper and cheaper options)

We went to lots of restaurants in the tourist area.. Bus will take you everywhere, but the buses go FAST, so hold on!

We also rented a scooter to go the non tourist part of town. We went to a restsurant where both the food and the service was great.

Coco Bongo is amazing.. Its not like a regular club, but amazing show and must see place.

We stayed for 2 weeks and had an amazing time. While we didnt have a bad expeerience we would most likely go to a bit classier place next time.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Agnes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

My partner and I went went with my 2 sisters and mum and dad to stay in Imperial Las Perlas. We drove past all the nice hotels and ended up at this dump.

We decided to make the most of it and went in with the attitude of "we are in Mexico, we dont care where we are staying". However, seeing the same food stay out all day for all the courses without being covered, being dive bombed by bats about 6am two mornings in a row, being woken up by a large grasshopper in our room, being less than impressed by the tiny tiny seaweed covered beach and the rather rude receptionist was enough for us to only stay there for 2 nights until our rep moved us to Oasis Palm Beach for only £90 each.

Im glad we moved as our holiday wouldve been ruined. This hotel was GROSS

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stina_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

A friend and I went back in April and we were a little worried because of the reviews on here. When we first arrived we weren't that impressed, compared to all the big flash hotels you drive past it doesn't give a great impression! However, every single member of staff; cleaners, reception, bar and restaurant were amazing. We even got on well with those who didn't speak English! We spent our evenings with them learning Spanish, playing cards and getting drunk off a million different cocktails! It was perfect! They made the holiday for me. I was sad to see them go but we got hugs from all the bar staff when we left.
The food was good, not amazing but still good. There was fresh fruit
and salad everyday with different meats and fish. After 2 weeks we were a bit bored with the selection but all in all it was good.
The room was clean and basic and did the job. The bed was comfy and the room has an amazing view.
The beach is lovely for a
walk or sunbathe, but if you want a good beach for swimming you only need to get a bus into centre of hotel district (only 7.5pesos) and cut thro behind coco bongo. Here the really beautiful beach and it's only 5min bus ride from hotel.
The hotel is buget and if you're looking for a luxurious break this isn't for you. If you want perfect and friendly staff, basic food and living.. This is well worth visiting.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherinel2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuhjaeger
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights back in 08, and we enjoyed our stay. The room was spartan but comfortable enough. Our only complaint was that the window in the bathroom wasn't frosted, and therefore someone walking down the stairs could easily see into the bathroom and glimpse someone doing their biz.

The outside area is nice. The pool is small, but a great temperature, however the highlight for me was the dock on the lagoon. I have been to Cancun several times, and no matter what, as pretty as the ocean may be, the lagoon is far more interesting to look at. Sitting on the dock with a bottle of tequila at sunset was a great way to end the day.

Overall if you aren't a picky traveler, and are looking for a deal, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kuhjaeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
3.3 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
#96 of 182 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Dos Playas Beach House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#129 of 182 in Cancun
3.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
3.9 mi away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#75 of 182 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,762 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aquamarina Beach Hotel
Aquamarina Beach Hotel
#93 of 182 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Perlas Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Perlas Condos

Property: Las Perlas Condos
Address: Blvd Kukulcan, Km 2.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#79 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Las Perlas Condos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the line of the first resorts in the hotel zone of Cancun Imperial Las Perlas is a property that is located beachfront, has 6 buildings of 3 floors each, it is unique for having a restaurant on the sea from where you can appreciate the beautiful Island of Women. It is a 100% Mexican Hotel, for construction you can enjoy partial views of the sea area, pool or lagoon. Its location is perfect if you are coming for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Las Perlas Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Imperial Las Perlas
Imperial Perlas Cancun
Imperial Las Perlas Cancun Mexico
Imperial Las Perlas Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing