We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Carlos (Mexican Resturant)”
Review of Grand Oasis Sens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Oasis Sens
Ranked #85 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We had a wonderful time here. We had mexican food almost everynight! Thanks to the restaurant manager, Carlos, and his staff for making it a great vacation for us.

The rooms were adequately nice, and the view of the ocean was amazing! The food and the staff overall at the hotel were great. Very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nana124d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. It gives us great pleasure to know that you had such a great time during your stay with us, it was an honor having you as a guest. We will of course congratulate our staff for their outstanding service.

We go to great lengths to provide our guests with a variety of food and drink options to satisfy their every palate.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future, best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,567 - 2,573 of 5,259 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2014

Let me say that the staff at this resort are wonderful in every way and work very hard. I had no problems whatsoever with the front desk staff who were more than happy to help in any way - especially the smiling Elizabeth. It is true that the AC is not the greatest but you must remember that the hotel is not air tight so no system can compete with the heat outside. My only complaint this year was the constant barrage of cigarette smoke in the outside common areas and hundreds of butts that people simply leave on the beach. These things are NOT biodegradable. Pick them up and put them in the ashtrays people. The staff should not be expected to clean up after your filthy habit. I would not hesitate to go back yet again and would look forward to it! Still LOVE the Italian restaurant!

Room Tip: The AC does work better in the rooms without a balcony if you keep your window closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jacmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate the special mention of those members of our team who helped make your stay an enjoyable one. We will of course congratulate them for their great work. Our staff work hard to create a great holiday experience for our guests to remember.

We are delighted you enjoyed our calm and relaxing atmosphere, and are very happy that you had such a pleasant vacation, kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Went to Oasis sens 3/17/14-3/22/14. We found a good deal on Bookit which included airfare and the all-inclusive for $1100pp from Los Angeles. We are medical students in our twenties and found this place to be perfect for our budget. The beach was great, the pools were lovely and the room was pretty nice. We had a beautiful ocean view. The only problem was there was a broken light fixture making the room a little dark and some mold on the ceiling. But these were not deal breakers for us since we didn't spend that much time in the room anyways. Make sure you tip the bartenders and maids. We had read beforehand that this was very important to get any future service and it was true even though tips were supposed to be included in the all-inclusive. I tipped the maid the first day we wanted service and got our room cleaned as we would've expected. However, the next day we had run out of singles and didn't leave a tip, so the maid didn't replace any of the used shampoos/soaps. We ran out of singles really quick with all the tipping you have to do, so come prepared with at least $15/d worth of singles for a couple. It's hard to get someone to give you change. The restaurants were great, although it would've been nice if something was open late night for those munchies. The Box was by far my favorite with a ton of delicious courses. Al Sur was also very nice and had a romantic atmosphere. Make reservations early. We were not able to try the other dinner restaurants that required reservations. The people who work there are great (especially if you tip) so no complaints there. Also, we got up early one day (6am) and reserved one of the beach beds on the beach and had that for most of the day. This was very nice and someone came around to bring us drinks. Our favorite bar was probably the sunset bar. They had great live music, nice outside patio area, delicious drinks and a wonderful bartender (and the best hours)! The resort itself was pretty quiet, especially at night which was nice. It's mostly an older crowd and less spring breakers. Overall, I would recommend Oasis Sens for the price.
Additional pro tip: Make sure you bring your own sunscreen! We couldn't find sunscreen in all of Cancun for less than US$30! They know the tourists need this stuff and so many guests were bright red by the time they left. It's sad that they're making so much money on something that prevents skin cancer! This is not unique to Oasis Sens.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Katie,

It gives us great pleasure that you enjoyed our restaurants and drink options; we take great care in providing variety and quality in all of our establishments.

In regards to tipping, this is completely left to the guests’ discretion. Our staff is trained to provide all guests with the same outstanding service

Thank you again for recommending us and we hope to welcome you back in the future, best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We arrived Apr 16 after purchased the stay through a Groupon. Yes LGBT friendly which accounted for about ½ of the guest during our stay. Really made no difference in our stay. Being off season the longest wait we had we had anywhere was the Happy Chicken for lunch which was about 10 mins. We are not foodies, just like good tasting food which was Oasis Sens delivered. If you are looking for 5 star food go else ware. We thought the whole stay was well worth the money that we paid.

Check In:

Arrive and luggage is tag and you are given a receipt which you give to the concierge and luggage will be delivery later after check in to your room. Before check-in you are given a short tour but it’s really just trying to get you to go to a time share presentation. Our guy tried to pressure us by saving he makes $100 US if we go. Just said no thank you and walked back to the concierge to finish check in where your color band is attached. Went immediately to make reservation at Benazuza then to our room. Did cancel later as we couldn’t justify the extra expense when we were happy with the other restaurants.

Room:

Had booked an ocean view room and requested room on 8th floor with a balcony. Room was on the 7th floor, #765 with balcony. Although we couldn’t see the sun rise since it rose to the left and the hotel block it, it worked out for the best. The sun didn’t get a chance to heat up the room. A/C has already been addressed in other reviews. Needs lots of work. King bed no real issues except no fitted sheets so sheets come loose. Shower nice and big but be prepared that the glass used instead of a shower curtain isn’t sealed on the bottom so shower water runs under it onto the floor when the glass is sprayed. Water in both shower and sink came out brown (rusty) at first. Just let it run for a while (about 5 mins in our case) and then clear for the rest of the stay. Mini bar came with 2 reg cokes, 2 other types of sodas, 2 cans of SOL and 2 waters. Two waters also in place on the vanity. Had them replace all sodas with coke light the following day since I was in the room when he came by to restock. If you want extras there is a mini bar mini with prices.

Housekeeping: Arrived to clean 3 pm, 11 am, and 11am. Changed sheets and towels each day and swept. Different housekeeper each day.

Mini bar restocker: Assume different person each time. Told first day only want coke light. Second day only 2 sodas left none of them coke or coke light. Went to front desk and ask how I could make sure we only received coke light. Told they would take care of it and in the future just contact room service with the request but they would make sure it happened today. Well it didn’t happen.

Room Service. Ordered once for breakfast. Most items no charge but a 156 peso delivery charge. So order everything on the menu. Arrived at the scheduled time they quoted – 30 mins.

Coba: (Buffet) 0630 – 10:30 and 18:30 -22:30
Breakfast – If you go away hungry it’s your own fault. Lots of variety and good quality of food. Eggs to order line was normally max of 8 people max but I was usually there at opening. Omelets up to nine ingredients but not open every day. But I was always there around opening. Opened late every morning and not fully ready for business. Coffee station not set up, chairs still being move and sometimes egg to order station not ready. Not really a big deal except for folks catching excursions that had to eat fast and run.

Muerdeme Mucho (Mexican) 12:30 – 16:00 and 18:30 – 22:30
You can eat inside or out. Dinner off the menu. We both though the food was good.
Guacamole and salsa with chips. Very good but chips seemed to be cut from corn tortillas – very thick. Trouble with the grill so entree was a little slow in coming the first night.

Happy Chicken: 12:00 – 16:30
1st lunch: Rotisserie chicken is great along with the French fries. You can get fries or a salad or both. Only alcohol here is beer. Ate 1 pm -10 min wait.
2nd lunch: Arrive when opened – no waiting. Order rotisserie chicken and serve wings. Told rotisserie chicken wouldn’t be done for 20 mins. So ate the wigs.
3rd lunch: Great lunch. If you want white meat ask otherwise you get a thigh and leg.

Moonlight: (Italian) 13:00 – 16:00 and 18:00 – 22:00. Pizzas 16:00 -18:00
Ate here twice. Arrived once at 7 pm and at opening - seated immediately both times.
Pizza was just okay.

Bars: As already mentioned - no blended trips in the lounge bar. As else ware each bar tender makes drinks differently. So stick with the one that makes them the way you want. Bring your own large insulated mug/glass from home. Less trips to the bar and more importantly – drinks stay cold lots longer.

Service was good everywhere.
Tip jars where everywhere. Never seen this at an AI. Always been discrete tripping not so obvious.
Pool (upper and lower level) and beach very nice.

Only real issue is the reserving of deck chairs. I look out my window at 6 am and see people walking around placing towels, shoes, book, etc. on deck chairs and then assuming going back to bed since I wouldn’t see anyone in the chair till after well after 9 am.

Would I stay here again? Yes but at the Groupon price, not the full price listed on their website.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cobradiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you have taken to share such detailed comments about your experience. We go to great lengths to provide our guests with a variety of food and drink options to satisfy their every need.

We wanted to let you know that we have a policy that specifies that our guests cannot reserve a lounger at the pool or the beach for more than an hour without being used, we are working on reinforcing this policy to avoid any inconveniences.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back, please feel free to contact us if you need assistance with anything to make your next stay a unique experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Traveled with another couple. Had a great time. Beautiful view. Our room was on the lagoon side but I'd recommend upgrading to Oceanside. We booked our hotel through Apple Vacations. Had VIP treatment.
Plenty of beach chairs, great pools. Poolside and beach side service was nice. Adults only hotel made this experience great. Not that I don't love kids, but when I leave my kids at home...I don't want to deal with other peoples kiddos..

The Sushi was to die for! Cobo is the buffet where Luis the host was fabulous. Roberto, was our waiter and took great care of us the entire time. The staff overall was friendly and very helpful. Great selection from the various restaurants.

The entertainment was a lot of fun. Loved Mi Amor, the host at Kinky's was super sexy and put on a great show. Drunk Russian guest was a major pest all over the resort and showed up at Kinky's each night interrupting the show. Mi Amor, was very patient with drunk Russian guy, (who is a regular at resort). Dancers were awesome. Each night a different theme.

Internet sucked! I have Sprint, so not sure if it was my service provider or the internet at resort.

THE ROOMS were decent. Not such a big deal for me. They were super clean which is really all i care about. The air conditioning was ok. I've never been in a tropical place where the rooms had adequate cooling, so I expected that.

Had a great time and would recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: Ocean side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cbeckDenver_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are glad you liked the variety of restaurants available; the hotel provides several different concepts to cater for the needs of our guests, from Mexican and Italian options to sushi and fast food.

Our entertainment team works hard to put on activities and shows for our guests so we are delighted that you enjoyed these.

We appreciate you recommending us and we hope to see you again soon, kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

my partner and I were at the sens 04-19 to 04-25. we enjoyed the hotel, beach, pools, bars, food, and especially "kinky" the night club, The staff was very amiable, the entertainment top notch, the accomadations were good, (little warm in the room but tolerable),
a lot of LGBT people on the staff.

Drinks were good and the food was excellent.
there was so much to do.. we didn't get to visit all the bars or restaurants. --you will eat and drink more than you plan ..good thing there is a Gym, which incidentally, includes indoor and outdoor equipment.

the quick bus trip to town, was safe, convenient, and cheap , the busses run every few minuets for 10 pesos
yes , I am gushing . but I assure you this is being written by an actual guest, not a plant.

I read all the negative reviews and was suffering remorse before we even left but we had paid for the package, I am glad we went anyway. One of, if not, the BEST vacation of our lives. :)
David and Rick

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear David,

We are pleased your stay with us has motivated you to share such a great review about our hotel. Thank you for highlighting the qualities that made your stay unforgettable.

We are glad you enjoyed the restaurants, facilities, personalized service and entertainment we offer. We aim to create unforgettable experiences and our entertainment department works hard to offer shows and activities to help achieve this.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you once again in the near future, best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Sens for 5 nights.we had a great time the resort is very clean the food was goodhad no problem with the AC in our room.Check-in was a little slow.The staff was very friendly.the only recommendation for travelers is to be prepared for the strong sales pitch of the vacation sellers who hound you to go to an presentation. Wasn't really any entertainment to just dance at night and bars closed early.Good value for Groupon.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank charlester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had such a great time during your stay with us, it was an honor having you as a guest. We greatly appreciate your comments and will take these into account when making adjustments to our resort.

We will of course congratulate our staff for their outstanding service.

We wanted to let you know that our concept is an adult’s only hotel with a relaxed and serene environment. Despite this, we still offer various indoor and outdoor shows and activities to entertain our guests on a daily basis.

We look forward on welcoming you again soon, kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
7.6 mi away
Grand Oasis Cancun
Grand Oasis Cancun
#93 of 176 in Cancun
7,347 reviews
6.2 mi away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#48 of 176 in Cancun
3,596 reviews
2.8 mi away
Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Royal Caribbean
The Royal Caribbean
#37 of 176 in Cancun
2,185 reviews
0.1 mi away
GR Solaris Cancun
GR Solaris Cancun
#36 of 176 in Cancun
4,779 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Pyramid at Grand Oasis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Oasis Sens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Oasis Sens

Address: Ave Kukulcan Km 19.5 Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Sens Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Cancun
#39 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#52 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#53 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#63 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $179 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Oasis Sens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Oh yes - I'm sexy, sensuous... And adults-only resort that's romantic, relaxing and a little risque. Warm and inviting. Follow your bliss and learn my secrets -from my foodie-friendly gourmet dining experience to my exclusive Sian Ka'an preserve, a true Shangri-La, a lost paradise on earth". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Oasis Sens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sens Del Mar Hotel Cancun
Oasis Playa Cancun
Cancun Oasis Playa
Grand Oasis Playa Cancun Mexico
Oasis Playa Hotel In Cancun
Grand Oasis Playa Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing