We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week in Cancun”
Review of Grand Oasis Sens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Oasis Sens
Ranked #84 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Week in Cancun”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We had great weather, and the hotel was just as nice. We loved checking out all of the bars, especially the Sunset Bar. Ricardo was great- super friendly and fun! We also enjoyed all of the daily activities by the pool. Our room never really got cool, but we didn't spend much time in it. The Box restaurant was very good, a cool experience. We're already planning our next visit!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kwelker642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased to know you had a great time at our hotel and we are delighted to have met your expectations.

We are glad you enjoyed our facilities, bars, restaurants and entertainment. An important part of our effort is to create unforgettable experiences and our entertainment department works hard to offer shows and activities to achieve it.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again on your next visit to Cancun.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,769
    1,397
    819
    445
    540
See reviews for
306
2,908
160
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The only outstanding things about this hotel were relatively clean beach, wonderful clear ocean water, one good Coba restaurant with very good selection of food for breakfast and dinner, with lovely service/waiters/restaurant manager Luis and Sports Entertainment/Activities leaded by Antonio, a wonderful, friendly and polite person, who tried to speak our Russian language as much as he can. Invited us to Merengie group dancing, Zumba, Yoga streching, which we have enjoyed very much. Thank you guys, Luis and Antonio, you have made our stay much more pleasant.

Room Tip: I don't know what to recommend, be happy with what they gave you, i guess, since many people wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Mina,

We greatly appreciate the special mention of those members of our team who helped make your stay more pleasant. We will surely congratulate them for their amazing job.

We are glad you enjoyed our daily shows and activities since our entertainment department works hard to keep our guests entertained and make sure they have an amazing time with us.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you once again in the future, best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The hotel seemed lovely when we first arrived but they put us in a gross dark mouldy smelling room facing a wall. We had booked a sunset view room and we got the worst room I have ever stayed at in a hotel. Ever. When we asked to be moved we were told they were booked full (not true). The next day we were moved to a better room but then the cement balcony crumbled and fell onto the balcony below us. And they wouldn't move us after that! This was super dangerous and alarming. Spoiled our trip. Ocean and beautiful pools were nice. Restaurants were okay. Blackhole dining was fun. Vip area was nice. Staff were okay but service improved dramatically with tips. Take lots of dollar bills.

Room Tip: Do not stay on first or second floors. Insist on higher floor and do not believe them when they say...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dan dan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Dan,

We are truly sorry you had an unpleasant experience during your vacations. We appreciate you for taking the time to share your comments; we will be paying special attention to the maintenance of our facilities to avoid any issues in the future.

Despite the setbacks, we are glad you were able to experience one of our most outstanding restaurants. We will congratulate our entire team for their exceptional creations; every dish that leaves the kitchen is a true delight and an authentic culinary experience.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in the future to enhance your experience and perception.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cancun hotels

Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I have been to Cancun 6 times and this was the worst experience I have ever had. The Food wast awful when it was actually available and only the house liquor was free. One day we received no towels and no maid service. The sheet didn't fit the bed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ginger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Ginger,

We are truly sorry that we were not able meet your expectations, all your comments and opinions are considered in order to improve our range of services and facilities.

We have seven different restaurants all throughout the hotel and we offer a unique concept and high quality food in each one. We just opened a new restaurant and plan to extend the schedules for our guests to have more options to enjoy.

Likewise, our hotel is audited and certified by a company that measures and ensures the high quality and hygiene of our ingredients. This way we make sure that every dish that leaves our kitchen meets our guests’ standards.

We offer various national liquor brands for our guests to enjoy and only some Premium liquors have an extra charge as stated on the beverages menu.

Thank you for letting us know the inconveniences you encountered so we can report them to our housekeeping department. We will take immediate actions and make sure a deep cleaning of all rooms is executed on a daily basis.

We reiterate once again our sincere apologies for any setbacks you experienced and hopefully you can give us another opportunity to welcome you again so we can enhance your perception of our hotel.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Very nice hotel and place, but be careful about robbery!!400 $ were stolen from safe.
In another ways Hotel was very nice...
Best place for dinner is an Italian restaurant! Great guys work there. Thank you!
Good wishes for our Brazilian and Canadian friends;) it was cool to meet you there)
Hotel orients for LGBT community but it is very comfortable for all people.
Sea was good but waves were too much.. We saw how life guards safe people twice. Be careful!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnetFil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us; we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay.

We wanted to let you know that our safe deposit boxes are secure devices, our guests enters a code and that is what opens the safe. In case you forget the code, the only way to open is by removing the safety box and using a special electronic device that only the head of the security department is allowed to use it. To do this, we have to have the authorization of our security supervisor and our guests have to sign the report stating that they give authorization to open the safe in their presence.

We would like for you to contact us at info@oasishoteles.com to do a proper follow up of the situation, since we tried to contact you on several occasions and we have not heard back from you.

Despite the setbacks, we are glad you enjoyed our facilities and restaurants. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to enhance your experience.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howell, mi
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

First I will say a thank you to this resort for putting us up and 15 other couples who had their flight home cancelled. But I can say I know why they had rooms available. This place is very gross. Of the 15 couple who had to stay here for the night, not one had anything good to say.

We stayed in a room on the first floor, with a bathtub size pool outside, at least I think that it what it was but it was filthy dirty so I am not too sure.

We had roaches in our room, big ones.. very gross.

Mold on the ceiling, stains on the floor that looked like a murder scene (I think it was mold from the ceiling dripping) everything we owned stunk horribly after we got home. We literally had to leave things outside until we could wash them, and we were only there for less than 24 hours.

I cannot tell you about the food we only ate breakfast in the buffet, it seemed fine. There appeared to be very limited food choices and long lines at them anyway.

Pools were nice, ocean was pretty, seemed to be plenty of chairs at both.

Our A/C did not work, it was hot, humid and stinky in our room and I went to the front desk and the manager would not even come over to talk to me, and I was being nice at this point. He finally did and said they would bring us a fan.. what?? A fan, how about get the a/c fixed. They said they had no rooms left at all to be moved to, then when I pushed said they had rooms but they did not have any a/c either. Some of the people in our group said they slept outside it was so hot.

Not a nice place at all, it appeared it was very nice back in the day, open foyer area, marble floors, but sleeping in a room with roaches does not appeal to me at all.

Would never suggest this place to anyone...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redwingschick2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are truly sorry you had an unpleasant experience during your vacations. We appreciate you for taking the time to share your comments; this helps us know our areas of opportunity so we can provide better services.

Thank you for letting us know the inconveniences you encountered so we can report them to our housekeeping and cleaning department to make sure our hotel is clean at all times and avoid any discomforts in the future.

We reiterate once again our sincere apologies for any setbacks you experienced and hopefully you can give us another opportunity to welcome you again so we can improve your perception and enhace your experience.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2014

It was memorable alright. We had high expectations based on reviews and were terribly disappointed. Upgrading to the Sian Ka'an Club is definitely NOT worth the extra money. None of the extras that were promised were "available" and the "private" concierge was useless. There were so many things promised that didn't materialize the list is to long to report here. Tipping is highly recommended if you expect to get any decent service at all anywhere on the property. The room was incredibly hot and the so called upgraded mini bar was worthless. Take a standard room, have low expectations and you'll love this and all the other Oasis properties. Make sure you lock up anything of value or it will disappear from your room and you'll be treated like a criminal when you report it. Do not pay extra for anything on this property a standard room is all you need because there is absolutely nothing special about the "Sian Ka'an Club" rooms.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for any room! Not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Frank,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion about your experience. We regret not having met your expectations and please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences during your stay.

We have safe deposit box in each room for our guests to store their personal belongings, since the hotel is not responsible for objects outside of it.

Our staff is prohibited from demanding tips from our guests and everyone receives the same service.

We reiterate once again our sincere apologies for any setbacks you experienced and hopefully you can give us another opportunity to welcome you again so we can enhance your perception of our hotel.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
12.7 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
7.5 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#41 of 175 in Cancun
668 reviews
6.2 mi away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#49 of 175 in Cancun
3,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun
2.7 mi away
Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Resort
0.4 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#25 of 175 in Cancun
3,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Oasis Sens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Oasis Sens

Property: Grand Oasis Sens
Address: Ave Kukulcan Km 19.5 Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Sens Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Cancun
#40 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#52 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#54 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#63 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Oasis Sens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Oh yes - I'm sexy, sensuous... And adults-only resort that's romantic, relaxing and a little risque. Warm and inviting. Follow your bliss and learn my secrets -from my foodie-friendly gourmet dining experience to my exclusive Sian Ka'an preserve, a true Shangri-La, a lost paradise on earth". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Oasis Sens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sens Del Mar Hotel Cancun
Oasis Playa Cancun
Cancun Oasis Playa
Grand Oasis Playa Cancun Mexico
Oasis Playa Hotel In Cancun
Grand Oasis Playa Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing