We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't book here; bait and switch- your reservation is not gauranteed”
Review of Grand Oasis Sens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Oasis Sens
Ranked #85 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed February 22, 2014

My g/f and I carefully reviewed all the options for a vacation to Cancun and chose the Oasis Sens over the others because of the expectation of an all inclusive, adult only, professional services experience. We got none of what we expected. Instead upon arrival we were told that our reservation although in their system was not going to be honored. It turns out this is the Oasis' scheme. They lure you to book at the more expensive Sens knowing that they don't have enought rooms and then when you arrive they shift your reservation to one of their other properties. After two hours of haggling with their "management" they admitted they never had enough rooms, "this is an annual issues which has been going on for over 7 years". They bait you with the luxury adults only and switch you to a lesser $ room and offer no payment of the difference of money. The staff at the Sens has this routine down solid. Every representative from Elizabeth and Judy at the front desk to Jonatan the "head concierge" know the scheme. They all blame "central reservations" and they have no control and no actual money to issue refunds. And yet as we and several other disrespected guests sat and awaited a solution, we watched dozens of airline employees check in with no problem. It seems the Sens is all more about screwing the customer than about luxury service. Do NOT BOOK Here, you will not get your room!

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Sr. Harman,

Our hotel’s general management would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you encountered.

We did an investigation regarding your incident and contacted the corresponding departments and staff members you mentioned to verify the information. We would like for you to contact us at info@oasishoteles.com to do a proper follow up of the situation.

Furthermore, we would like to thoroughly review your observations, which we fully respect, however we believe we can clarify certain comments you mentioned.

We reiterate once again our sincere apologies and we are at your full disposal, best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,691 - 2,697 of 5,259 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014

This was my surprise from my husband on our 1st anniversary. Perfect beach view from our top floor balcony!
The good:
1. gorgeous view of the sunrise and moonrise daily.
2. Comfy bed with romantic sheer curtains and cool colored lighting to use if you want.
3. Huge towels and a nice shower setup with a half glass wall instead of a door or curtain
4. Air conditioning
5. Security lock box
6. Decent USD-peso exchange rate at front desk
7. Good diverse buffet
8. Beach has whit sand, turquoise water, and a nice waist-deep walk out for several meters in the middle of the hotel's beach strip
9. Muerdeme mucho (the Mexican restaurant) was pretty good
10. Al Sur (a Mediterranean style restaurant) was awesome. You get served about 10 courses, almost everything on the men up, and it was all good. Many different tastes!
11. Service at Muerdeme mucho, the buffet, and Al sur was great!
12. Gorgeous pools
13. Several places to lounge with different views and atmospheres, including indoor and outdoor sunset views.
14. Staff all spoke Spanish to us primarily, then went to English if we didn't understand (would have been cool to brush up on my Spanish before visiting, but like I said, it was a surprise)
15. Surprise outdoor "native" drums and dancing show at 9pm two of the nights we stayed. Very cool!
The bad:
1. Our toilet flusher broke on our second to last day and we were told someone was being sent up "right away" but it never happened. We took the lid off the tank and had to reach in to lift the flapper. It was rusted out and gross in there, probably needs to be replaced.
2. Shower water temperature got hot, but was a bit difficult to control for a nice hot, but not scalding shower.
3. Food at the Italian restaurant. We had the pizza the first day and dinner our last night, and it was all awful, unfortunately. And it was difficult to get drinks (water) or refills all night.
4. Buffet not open for lunch
5. If you get a panini from mr wimps, ask for no cheese. I generally like all cheese, whether real or fake, but this stuff was so gross. The sandwich would have been fine without the nasty cheese. Oh and it took forever to get food there.
6. Ice cream is in small not-so-good cones, and I'm pretty sure it's soft serve frozen yogurt, not ice cream. I got strawberry one day, but was then told there was only chocolate another day. Lots of cool topping options though. And nice service from the woman working there.
7. Salespeople making us talk to them, taking our time away from enjoying the resort.
8. Finally figured out how to check our messages after 3 different sets of directions from the front desk staff. But then did not know the secret pass code needed to access our messages. We're never given one nor did we ever set one up. No one could tell us how to figure this out. I imagine there are several messages from past guests on the phone still. Haha.
9. The bell hop at the front greeted us fine, but took our bags and held them for delivery to our room. Seemingly fine, as we had things to accomplish before changing, etc. but we didn't have our bags 45 minutes later, even though someone was delivering bags to our neighbors on our floor. I went down to investigate, as all I really wanted for traveling all day was to change and go to the pool or beach. Our bags were the only two sitting out front. So we just took them up ourselves, which we could have in the first place anyway.
10. They kept running out of towels at the kiosk by the pool. We got two only once the whole time! They do give you two in your hotel room, but we had already dirtied ours on a previous excursion.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Kristin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Kristin,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience; this helps us recognize our areas of opportunity so we can provide a better service in the future.

It is a pleasure to know you enjoyed the restaurants, facilities and entertainment. Our staff is always working hard to satisfy our guests so they can have an amazing experience.

We are sorry for the inconveniences you encountered, we will be paying special attention to the maintenance of our facilities to avoid any issues in the future.

We hope you can give us the opportunity to welcome you again, warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Oasis Sens from Feb 10th-17th. We were travelling with 2 other couples, none of us experienced any long waits, our rooms were ready upon arrival. After checking in at VIP we decided to go back and get our luggage, we didn't want the hassle or long wait for the cases to be delivered to our room.
We had room 196, if you are lucky enough to get in this area, the room view is amazing, and that's about as amazing as it gets, room AC was not even on when we got to our room so we entered into a hot muggy room, the AC did not work well our entire stay, there was a very distinct sewage smell coming from our washroom/shower, the fridge was not on and did not work, we requested at VIP and someone did come and take a look, worked better after that, we did have WiFi included, so all you VIP bookers make sure all your dealings are with VIP NOT the front desk, the front desk told us that WiFi was not included that we would have to pay daily to have it, what a load of BS, went to VIP, they gave us an access code and we were on our way.

The food was mediocre, we ate at the Italian, Mexican, Buffet we experienced the "box" be prepared to leave hungry and every glass or bottle of wine you have will cost you money, plus an expected tip!
Breakfast was always good, Martha did a fantastic job preparing eggs anyway you want them every morning, the fruit and juices were wonderful
We ate at Mr Whimpys, that was good, Happy Chicken was also not too bad, but a very long wait to be seated most of the time.

The entertainment was ok, they put on several shows the week we were there, mostly in the lobby, they did a show by the pool, they were better than any other resort I have been to.

Tony that did the volley ball and water entertainment was a really nice guy, fun to be around, someone who certainly enjoyed his job and it showed!!

Drinks were not the best, everybody gets the same choice of booze, VIP's have nothing special, there is no top shelf booze here, if you request a certain type of alcohol other than the low grade stuff they serve, they will charge you! $14 grey goose vodka..1oz..not a joke!!!

Be prepared to set your alarm clock if you want any type of a lounger at the pool or on the beach. People do get up at 5 am to reserve with towels and books. Not exaggerating!!!!

There are steps everywhere on this resort, lighting at night is very poor, you really do have to be careful, we saw several people throughout our stay take a tumble.

All in all. We had an ok vacation, had it not been for that fact that we had one of the best views ever, it could have been very disappointing, we made the most of it, tried to overlook all the little annoyances, enjoyed the pools, the beach, the people, we were fortunate to meet some great couples, what it comes down to is if you let the little things bother you, it will spoil your holiday.

I will be back to Cancun, however I will not be staying anywhere near Cancun, I will for sure be taking the 45 min bus ride to Playa Del Carmen area, in my opinion this area can't be beat!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CNDchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, your comments are very important to us since they are our main tool for improvement.

We are truly sorry for the inconvenience regarding the air conditioning, we had a minor problem with it but we informed our maintenance department right away to fix the issue.

We wanted to let you know that we have a policy that specifies that our guests cannot reserve a lounger at the pool or the beach for more than an hour without being used, we are working on enforcing this policy to avoid any inconveniences.

It is a pleasure to know you enjoyed our entertainment. An important part of our effort is to create unforgettable experiences and our entertainment department works hard to offer shows and activities to achieve it.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in the future, best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Oasis Sens with 3 friends from February 13-17. My husband and I had been to Cancun twice before and stayed at other resorts, one was great, one was okay. Two of our friends joined us on the trip to the okay resort a year ago and the was the first trip to Cancun for our third friend.

Rooms: My husband and I chose to stay in one of the Sian Ka'an rooms, while our friends each stayed in a regular room. We were all happy with our rooms for the most part, though they were on the smaller side and the toilets had flushing issues. Our Sian Ka'an room had a balcony with two lounge chairs and a plunge pool big enough for 6 people easy. However, the water in the plunge pool with very cold. We actually did not utilize it at all. I was able to utilize the lounge chairs for a good nap one late afternoon.

Housekeeping: They were great, though they did come late in the day (like 5pm) and that happened to be the time we preferred to rest before the evening activities. One of our friends had a couple pills (prescribed medication) in their room that went missing on the 2nd day.

Pools: The pools were a bit chilly, but not too cold. We enjoyed the swim up bar although it was difficult to get to because there is a wall around it. People would have to jump up on the wall on their belly (picture Shamu) to get from one pool to the other without getting out of the water.

Drinks: The drinks were great and we loved the bartenders. We treated them well and tipped when we had $ on us.

Concierge: We had the VIP concierge because of the room we got, but this was a total joke. One person having to multitask between 15 things at once. One day I went there for some assistance and waited for an hour before I gave up. This was in the middle of the day.

VIP vs Regular: As VIP you "get" access to the coffee bar and a free meal at the Benezuza Restaurant (if you are lucky enough to get a reservation). The coffee bar was awesome, but does not open until 9am. Really?! We were never able to get a reservation to Benezuza (needed one for both breakfast and dinner) but we got lucky when we asked the Host and someone did not show up for their reservation. Other than that, VIP is nothing special. I don't think I would pay the extra $ to do that again.

Food: Breakfast at Benezuza was amazing. A long, relaxing, delicious meal and great hospitality. Keep in mind that you have to make reservations and it is nearly impossible to get in. Al Sur (which is actually called something else) was delicious as well, though a lot of the dishes have curry in them so stay away if you are sensitive to curry. Muerdeme Mucho was awesome! Great hospitality, food, and drinks. We went there twice we loved it so much. If you want ceviche, go for lunch as they do not have it on their dinner menu. The guacamole is delicious. Happy Chicken was also good. Get the crispy chicken, wings, or rotisserie and stay away from the fried (meh). I did not try the sushi place, but 2 of our friends did. They said it was ok, but nothing special. Moonlight was 50/50. The tuna fillet was the best tuna I ever had and their salad bar was good. Two of us got the pizza and it was awful. Just get the tuna. Trust me. The buffet was good for both breakfast and dinner. The Box was the worst of the worst. Poor service, you get one glass of wine only, they food was disappointing, and it took forever to get served. The desserts were good though.

I think the biggest complaint that we had was that Benezuza, Al Sur, and The Box (and also the Black Hole but we did not go there) all required reservations which were difficult to get. Once we got to each of the restaurants, there were many open tables and plenty of room for even more tables. We thought and thought about why reservations were necessary if there was so much space available and then it came to us: They don't want to serve you the "good" food so they make reservations difficult to get. That is pretty crappy for an all inclusive.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. The entertainment was amazing. The wi-fi sucked and they don't have other computers/internet available for free. Not sure if I would go there again.

Room Tip: Don't waste your time and $ on a Sian Ka'an room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MickiNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing such detailed comments with TripAdvisor’s readers, we are glad that you stay was pleasant overall.

One of our policies is to require reservation at some of our restaurants to ensure consumer satisfaction, specialized service and comfort. We also offer several different restaurants you can enjoy without any reservation all throughout the hotel; each one with high quality food and a unique concept. We are working on developing a new system to make the reservations process easier and fair to all guests.

It is a pleasure to know you enjoyed our facilities and entertainment. An important part of our effort is to create unforgettable experiences and our entertainment department works hard to offer shows and activities to achieve it.

We hope you can give us the opportunity to welcome you again, warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Great resort, very friendly and helpful people!!! It was our first time going to an all inclusive resort and it was everything we expected and more!! Staff were always happy and smiling. The only thing they could fix would be better air conditioning in the rooms and better lighting in the rooms!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bondgirl027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments, it is a pleasure to know that we exceeded your expectations and that you had a pleasant stay.

We will surely congratulate our staff for always being attentive, smiling, and making you feel at home.

We greatly appreciate all the suggestions you mentioned, they certainly help us improve in order to satisfy the expectations of our future guests the best way possible.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again on your next vacation, best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

After reading many reviews prior to booking, we were pleasantly surprised by the amazing staff and willingness to go above and beyond. We had booked an upper level, ocean view room with balcony and received exactly that. House keeping did a splendid job daily, though they do their work later in the day than one would expect, typically arriving anywhere between 1pm and 6pm.

The pros:
• resort was a clean, beautifully maintained and gorgeously designed property
• in-room safe worked and was easy to use
• we always had hot water for a shower
• food was amazing

The cons:
• the buffet dining area was very stuffy and could benefit from some ceiling fans
• one elevator did not work for a couple of days and for a brief window we had no working elevator but it didn't bother me.
• our A/C was sketchy, very humid in our room at all times
• many non-english speaking visitors, much older crowd than we had anticipated

We booked our trip with Sunwing, most of my issues were with their service. Their VIP check-in is kind of a joke and was often very lined up. We waited about half an hour while the girl dealt with ONE COUPLE ahead of us so I can't imagine if you arrived at the same time as a larger group. I feel they could have made it better by at least situating us at the bar, which was right beside us. I would not ever again book excursions through them. I would really like to hear from someone else who felt mislead by their presentation which touts groups of 12-15. We booked two of their four feature excursions and in both cases we were in huge groups PLUS we paid quite a premium booking through them. We also booked their nightclub deal which we ended up getting our money back for (though they made it VERY difficult). We booked it through them because we wanted to go with the Sunwing group and be escorted for the VIP service. We went to the meeting place a half hour in advance and waited and were told that no one was coming that night.... long story, big fight to get our money back, just a heads up to anyone wanting to check out the clubs. They will tell you that it's $80 per person cover charge, I would do some research on that before you book with them. Sunwing quoted us $15 per day for wi-fi, we found out on our last day the hotel charges just $11. Sunwing told us $79 per person to dine at Benazuza (which we had thought was included); other couples we met throughout the week dined there for anywhere from $20 to $60 per person. Just didn't seem like Sunwing had our best interest at heart.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyPM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Amy,

We appreciate the time you have taken to share such nice and detailed comments about our Hotel. We are extremely happy you enjoyed our resort and facilities.

It is a pleasure to know you received a great service. We are proud to say we have a staff always ready to give their best at all times and create positive experiences for our guests.

We are truly sorry for the inconveniences you had with your agency but glad you got a refund for one of your excursions.

We wanted to take this opportunity to let you know that the price of our Wi-Fi may vary depending on the exchange rate of the day. Likewise, the rates for our molecular restaurant varies depending on the category you have at the hotel, if they are guests from one of our sister resorts or public in general.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you once again in the future, best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Our trip to oasis sens was wonderful! We travel every year and the oasis sens did not disappoint. my husband and I booked through a travel agent, which could be why we didn't get "bumped" due to overbooking problems.... my advice to you is to not book online yourself to save a few dollars, expect everything to go smooth, and then complain when things dont.
The food was good. The weather was perfect and the service was unbelievable. be friendly to them and they'll treat you well back.
We did not have any problems with out AC as some others have pointed our and our ocean front 7th floor room was praiseworthy.

I'd like to give a big shout out and thank you to Ricardo up in the sunset bar....you were fantastic ! ....Tony for your water aerobics and afternoon entertainment ! ....and Pablo at Al Sur... you gave us THE VERY BEST SERVICE in the entire resort. Thank you everyone that made our vacation incredible!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollytot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Holly,

We are glad you enjoyed your vacations in our hotel and that you received such excellent service.

We greatly appreciate the special mention of those members of our team who helped make your stay more pleasant. We will surely congratulate them for their amazing job.

We look forward on welcoming you once again; please feel free to contact us prior to your arrival if we can assist you with anything to make your next stay a unique experience.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
7.6 mi away
Grand Oasis Cancun
Grand Oasis Cancun
#93 of 176 in Cancun
7,347 reviews
6.2 mi away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#48 of 176 in Cancun
3,596 reviews
2.8 mi away
Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Royal Caribbean
The Royal Caribbean
#37 of 176 in Cancun
2,185 reviews
0.1 mi away
GR Solaris Cancun
GR Solaris Cancun
#36 of 176 in Cancun
4,779 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Pyramid at Grand Oasis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Oasis Sens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Oasis Sens

Address: Ave Kukulcan Km 19.5 Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Sens Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Cancun
#39 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#52 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#53 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#63 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $179 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Oasis Sens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Oh yes - I'm sexy, sensuous... And adults-only resort that's romantic, relaxing and a little risque. Warm and inviting. Follow your bliss and learn my secrets -from my foodie-friendly gourmet dining experience to my exclusive Sian Ka'an preserve, a true Shangri-La, a lost paradise on earth". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Oasis Sens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sens Del Mar Hotel Cancun
Oasis Playa Cancun
Cancun Oasis Playa
Grand Oasis Playa Cancun Mexico
Oasis Playa Hotel In Cancun
Grand Oasis Playa Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing