We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT HOTEL”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Oasis Sens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Oasis Sens
Ranked #81 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Brockton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT HOTEL”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Hotel is beautiful, nice pools and very nice restaurants. A few issues however were that we traveled with my parents and there were too many stairs for them. The elevators don't bring you to everywhere in the hotel. The only other issue is that this property needs outdoor hot tubs. Now for the good. Service is great, the best bartender there is Ricardo in the sunset lounge, he was the most friendliest and attentive of all the bartenders and even restaurant servers. So whoever goes this make sure that you go up to sunset bar and visit him;. The hotel is spotless, they are always going around and cleaning up everywhere. The entertainment staff is great also, especially the guy that puts his hair in a little ponytail, unfortuneatly I forgot his name. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone under the age of 60.

Room Tip: Get an Ocean view room for the small additional fee or if you get a vip room you get your own person...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your kind and positive review. We are delighted you enjoyed our calm and relax atmosphere, our rooms and our entertainment. An important part of our effort is to create unforgettable experiences and our entertainment department works hard to offer shows and activities to achieve it.
We appreciate you recommending us and we hope to see you soon again.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,700
    1,337
    770
    408
    469
See reviews for
292
2,739
149
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,052)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
None, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Terrible food, beverages made of water & ice. Damn dirty public bathrooms. Unclean beach. It must be downgraded to 2 stars, hopefully at some point their bribes would not help.

There is one bright spot though - the Kinky night club. Pretty cool gay dance shows, a bit of stippers and a charming transexual host.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenX2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion about your stay at our hotel. We regret not having met your expectations.

All your comments and observations will be fully considered in order to improve and provide the best experience possible to all our distinguished guests in the future.

Regardless of the setbacks, we are glad you were able to enjoy our nightly shows and entertainment.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in the future to enhance your experience and perception of our hotel.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cancun hotels

Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I am like many of my colleagues, a busy and overworked physician, and unfortunately, many times, did not have time for prior planning, So me and my wife booked this hotel in rush,with not much prior research just the week before christmass 2013. Overall experience was great which far surpassed our expectations, especially with the staffs working there. Every one was awesome, especially the concierge ( OASIS PLUS) members. I should name the three that mostly impressed us. Jhoselyn was like a caring and friendly angel for us,always super helpful, and accommodative to any request of us including restaurant and other facility bookings even when we were requesting changes, she personally would speak with different facility managers, and made all of our requests done. She worked with such superb professionalism and yet kindness, that every body loved her. I should also name Ebber and Edwin, two other staffs that were just great, helpful yet very friendly . The food quality at different restaurants were really good, and The hotel beach was clean and quiet (this is an adult only facility which we appreciated) and of course the weather was really helpful and we enjoyed in our one week stay a few out of resort excursions, including the Xcaret, Xplore, and the night club Congo Bongo. The whole experience was simply perfect, and it made it our best vacation ever( we usually travel at least twice annually, and have been to quite a few place in Caribbean region before) . In terms of cons, the only weak point is the that building is very old, and immediately after entering our the hotel we noticed a few spots were leaking water, and the room on first night ( the weak before our arrival was rainy weak) which was shocking to us, but at the end we were so impressed by the friendly staffs, that we already decided to come back to same hotel next year.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Al T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We were very pleased to greet you in our Hotel. Likewise, we would like to thank you for the flattering words and for sharing your experience with us on your recent visit to Cancun.
We are delighted to have met your expectations and also for choosing our hotel.
It has been a pleasure to serve you and we hope to see you again soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The overall resort was pretty nice but our rooms left a lot to be desired. We had a bad experience at the Oais Tulum so they upgraded us and moved us to the Oasis Sens resort. When we checked in they did not have the rooms we were promised, two adjoining with one King and two doubles in the other. Apparently nobody from our previous Oasis Tulum resort bothered to verify room availability prior to sending us to the Oasis Sens. The manager indicated that our rooms would have mini-bars stocked with water, soda and beer. When we got to the rooms we found that they were two levels below the lobby level in what could best be described as the basement. Most of the rooms around ours were filled with broken mini-bars, laundry and other metal storage shelving. Almost seemed like they cleaned out some storage rooms to make room for us. Air conditioning in both rooms were not working well at all. Several calls got some servicemen to come out and look at them but never really got them working properly. Never got below about 78-80 degrees at best in either room. Neither room had a mini-bar. After several trips back to front desk they got us warm water, soda and beer and an ice bucket that we had to get filled by going down to the lobby bar. We resorted to putting the bottles in the waste basket and trying to keep that filled with ice but it was hopeless unless you wanted to refill the ice bucket every two hours. They kept promising to get us a mini-bar but that never happened. The day before we left they finally told us that they had a lot of broken mini-bars and were unable to provide us with one. I would have been fine if they told us that the first day rather than keep promising they would get one to us. No excuse for not getting the air-conditioning fixed though during our stay. Talked to several others that had non-working air-conditioners also. We also complained when we arrived that the TV remote control was not working. They never sent anyone to replace or fix that. Luckily I was able to get it working on my own. Beautiful sandy beach and plenty of beach chairs. The food was fine also. The staff was friendly but never delivered what they promised. Far too many travel company folks hanging around the lobby trying to sell timeshares or vacation club memberships. They were hovering like vultures and would not leave us alone. Beautiful resort location but greatly in need of major repairs to facilities.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear guest,
We are truly sorry you had an unpleasant experience during your vacations. We appreciate you for taking the time to share your comments; this helps us know our areas of opportunity so we can provide better services in the future.
Furthermore, we would like to let you know we are very devoted with our guests, and the staff is committed to understand, help and satisfy all of your needs. Thank you for letting us know the inconveniences you had so we can enforce and improve the service, since your comfort and satisfaction is really important to us.
We reiterate once again our sincere apologies for any setbacks you experienced and hopefully you can give us another opportunity to welcome you again so we can enhance your perception of our hotel.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I've taken my sweet time to write this review because I needed some time to really think it through. This review is coming from a woman who thought she could still party but was clearly wrong LOL

If you're the type of person who cares more about where you sleep, how you sleep, fine dining and being stuck up - You won't like Oasis Sens. If you've been to the low end of Cuba and you can deal with that, then you can deal with this resort.

Let me say this first - The staff are INCREDIBLE. This goes for my boys at the Mexican restaurant, the Animation crew - Sabina and Jorge! Francisco the bell boy <3
There are a few bad apples, don't get me wrong but 90% made my trip.
There is one in particular that I have to shout out - Mi amore, my life, the one person who I miss the most - Pantra! He is the host of the Kinky nightclub - With his extravagant make up and gorgeous costumes and his unforgettable musical numbers. He's a sweetheart, don't ever let him go!!! <3 <3 <3 I wish he could read this but Pantra - You're 3 girls from Canada miss you so!!!

We got to release 500 hatched sea turtles into that ocean on our first night. It was an amazing experience!! I loved it!
We took a bus over to Oasis Viva one night to enjoy their night life, it's a really nice hotel to look at and it's closer to the downtown core.

Ask your boys at the mexican restaurant for a shot and they won't stop coming! Great start to our nights!

10 day stay - 3 girl friends - one room - one queen bed.

Why one queen bed you ask? Well, apparently the hotel thought we wanted to sleep like a can of sardines. We asked for an Ocean view and that's what we got, a BEAUTIFUL ocean view may I add but it came at a price of one queen bed and no balcony. A balcony which would have been greatly appreciated considering 2/3 of us were smokers. We had asked to switch rooms but they said that the ocean view rooms didn't have double beds (definitely something to clarify with your travel agent if that's what you're looking for) and that no balcony rooms were available. They offered us a cot which we had rotated each night. It was do able at first but then our backs were getting the worst of it.
We had then spoken to the manager (3 days in) and he said that he doesn't have any rooms available because they were expecting more guests the next day but he did offer us free wifi for the remainder of our stay. There internet was down due to some weather issues so he wasn't able to offer it that day but we didn't get it until our 5th day and that was only because we had to remind the front desk of it.

Then we were graced with the presence of Playboy playmates. Now, every man would love this but all they did was take up the pool and beach doing photo shoots. Good ol social media linked me to a playmates Twitter account where she tweeted a photo of her room. She had one of their big suites with the walk out balcony and mini swimming pool and TWO BEDS...FOR ONE PERSON! So, I took my complaint to Facebook considering the manager wasn't doing anything for us. We stayed at the beach, came up to our room and the next thing we knew - there was an extra double bed. So, another good tip - if the manager doesn't help, go to Facebook!

There is a tinge of a mold smell in the room, but it's not that easy to catch but the drain in the bathroom as a bit of a weird smell.

We had a few nights of bad storms and our sliding window didn't close properly so water would get in and we would have to use our towels to soak it up until they were replaced.
Due to those storms, we had a day where the power kept going in and out. Some people were stuck in their elevators (which were super small but very colorful) and worst of all - I couldn't get my Superman drink!!! Not the alcohol!!!!! but that lead to a very quiet pool considering that it was off season (before and after playmates of course)

The food... the food is meh... The buffet at the Mexican restaurant is your best bet. It really depends on the day and I guess who was making your food when it came to the other restaurants. They need a bit more of a selection on their menus. We had one day of delicious food and the next day, it was like I was eating a rock or a ball of grease.

It's 20 minutes from downtown core (clubs & tourist area) and 45 minutes from Walmart/Flee market. You can take the bus (which is a ride and a half - crazy drivers!!) and it's completely safe!

It is in no way handicap accessible. There are LOTS of stairs and only one has a ramp.
It's a great work out though after eating all that food.

Overall, it's an alright resort. The staff are what make it great though. With a couple tweeks, this resort could be a real 5 star.

You NEED an open mind for this resort. Don't be a prude and enjoy.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms on the top floor (8th) are gorgeous but apparently only have one queen or king bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Psequeira2887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have taken to share such detailed comments about your experience, this helps us know our areas of opportunity so we can provide better services to all of our guests.

We are glad we had the opportunity to solve all the inconveniences you encountered during your stay, this way we were able to enhance your experience and change your perception of our service.

It is great to know you were able to participate on environmental activities such as turtle release, since we are extremely proud to participate and contribute to the preservation of this incredible species.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future, best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This was my second trip to cancun and my first time at Oasis Sens. I was extremely happy with the hotel and will definitely go back there again. The food was great, the hotel was clean and organized and most importantly the staff were very friendly! Especially Eber david hernandez romero! Eber was very friendly and helped me out with the best of his abilities when I needed assitance. Keep up yje good work Eber!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amigo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are pleased to greet you at the same time thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit to Cancun. Likewise express our appreciation for the flattering words we received from your stay with us.
It is a pleasure to serve you and make your stay with us an unforgettable experience.
Hope to see you again soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We first booked Oasis Sens and when we arrived we saw how many stairs there were to get around. There are four flights of stairs to beach and pool area, several flights of stairs to restaurants, no ramps so I could not stay here due to knees. We had to stay one night and the staff working were very non attentive, poor service, very bad food, blahhhhhh. They are not handicap accessible so they moved us to the Oasis Viva. Much better place at Oasis Viva.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slipaway2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate you have taken the time to share your experience, this helps us know our strengths and weaknesses so we can provide a better service day by day.
We hope we can see you once again in the future so you can enjoy the new concept and services we offer.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
7.5 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#44 of 182 in Cancun
580 reviews
6.2 mi away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#50 of 182 in Cancun
3,145 reviews
0.4 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#25 of 182 in Cancun
3,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun
1.7 mi away
Grand Oasis Cancun
Grand Oasis Cancun
#88 of 182 in Cancun
6,356 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Solaris Cancun
Royal Solaris Cancun
#35 of 182 in Cancun
4,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Oasis Sens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Oasis Sens

Property: Grand Oasis Sens
Address: Ave Kukulcan Km 19.5 Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Sens Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Cancun
#40 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#51 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#53 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#62 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Oasis Sens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Oh yes - I'm sexy, sensuous... And adults-only resort that's romantic, relaxing and a little risque. Warm and inviting. Follow your bliss and learn my secrets -from my foodie-friendly gourmet dining experience to my exclusive Sian Ka'an preserve, a true Shangri-La, a lost paradise on earth". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Oasis Sens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sens Del Mar Hotel Cancun
Oasis Playa Cancun
Cancun Oasis Playa
Grand Oasis Playa Cancun Mexico
Oasis Playa Hotel In Cancun
Grand Oasis Playa Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing